Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Elgin V Sons - The Pie Shop

• (3 Pages) +

Elgin V Sons Who is making the trip and what should the team be???? Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   cityfan 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Elgin City
  • Gamertag:Rossco1893

View PostTrawler Rum & Weetabix, on Sep 10 2006, 18:13, said:

I wonder if the Elgin fans privately wish their club had remained in the Highland League.

On a slightly related topic people keep floating the idea of this pyramid system involving the juniors and other minor grade clubs. A junior player who works with me says if say a Pollok fan was offered the choice of £4 entry to a derby with Arthurlie (or even a routine game with Shotts) or £9/10 entry to a home league game with East Fife then (in his opinion) 100% would choose the former.

League status is not necessarily all it's cracked up to be, as Elgin fans are no doubt considering, and 'those in the know' should appreciate that sometimes the instinct is to remain a big fish in a wee pool, pyramid sytem or not. <_<

Its not as easy as just returning to the highland league, i doubt we'd be very welcome.
#sixseasonsandamovie

User is offline   ShakehandsTom - DFC 

• Champions!
  • Team:Dumbarton
I think you're probably right Cityfan, as after you've been away you're unlikely to be welcomed with open arms after, what other Highland League teams maybe consider 'going after the money' or just 'leaving the HL for self-interest.'
R.I.P Gordon Lennon

1983 - 2009

User is offline   Kylesons 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:kylemcintyre1
Fantastic day out. The bus was excellent and i also got to know some people which was great B)
I just hope we have a bus going to away games more often now as this was top class. i would also like to say thanks to the people who organised the day. :D
R.I.P Gordon Lennon..Dumbarton Captain..Dumbarton Legend!!!

User is offline   Howlin' Wilf 

• Third Division Apprentice

View PostTrawler Rum & Weetabix, on Sep 10 2006, 18:13, said:

I wonder if the Elgin fans privately wish their club had remained in the Highland League.

On a slightly related topic people keep floating the idea of this pyramid system involving the juniors and other minor grade clubs. A junior player who works with me says if say a Pollok fan was offered the choice of £4 entry to a derby with Arthurlie (or even a routine game with Shotts) or £9/10 entry to a home league game with East Fife then (in his opinion) 100% would choose the former.

League status is not necessarily all it's cracked up to be, as Elgin fans are no doubt considering, and 'those in the know' should appreciate that sometimes the instinct is to remain a big fish in a wee pool, pyramid sytem or not. <_<

Elgin really are an enigma. Certainly they were on a par with Peterhead and Ross County when they were in the Highland League. You have a point though TRW. The Elgin fans (and board) must wonder if an average 250 mile (at least) round trip for away games is worth it for bottom of division three and a crowd of 400. That said, I thoroughly enjoyed the trip to Elgin (lovely place) and their rather nice, tidy wee ground. There is potential there and like many clubs (not least ours) if the right investment and direction came along who knows?

This post has been edited by Howlin' Wilf: 10 September 2006 - 19:16

User is offline   Reina 

• Falkirk Mafia
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • Team:Scotland

View PostHowlin' Wilf, on Sep 10 2006, 20:03, said:

Elgin really are an enigma. Certainly they were on a par with Peterhead and Ross County when they were in the Highland League. You have a point though TRW. The Elgin fans (and board) must wonder if an average 250 mile (at least) round trip for away games is worth it for bottom of division three and a crowd of 400. That said, I thoroughly enjoyed the trip to Elgin (lovely place) and their rather nice, tidy wee ground. There is potential there and like many clubs (not least ours) if the right investment and direction came along who knows?

Indeed :rolleyes:
Join our Flickr group here - Find our *NEW* photography 'assignment' here

User is offline   ShakehandsTom - DFC 

• Champions!
Brian Irvine, no?

:rolleyes:
R.I.P Gordon Lennon

1983 - 2009

User is offline   Fudge 

• MOGEN DAVID
  • Team:Stenhousemuir
Do Elgin fans think that Irvne is a good manager, or was the upturn in fortunes after he took over last season soley because if the players trying to impress a new gaffer?

User is offline   Neefie Noodle 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Elgin City
The buck stops at the board. No investment No cominication with the fans. IMHO - the owners are quite happy to sit there and wait fo the club to go out of existinance so they can get the land to build property. I've tried to rouse up the supporters to get the Supporter's Trust up and running, but no one wants anything to do with it.
If your looking at my signature your gay.

User is offline   Ladyfan 

• Third Division Regular
  • Team:East Fife

View PostNeefie Noodle, on Sep 10 2006, 21:04, said:

The buck stops at the board. No investment No cominication with the fans. IMHO - the owners are quite happy to sit there and wait fo the club to go out of existinance so they can get the land to build property. I've tried to rouse up the supporters to get the Supporter's Trust up and running, but no one wants anything to do with it.

That indeed is very sad. The way forward for the modern game and supporter is a Trust. Many Trusts in Britain have helped turn their club around and many have saved their club from extinction. When we set up ours, there was no crisis but when things took a downward slide then the supporters rallied. Alot of Trusts' initial formation is due to a club crisis and done out of love from the fans of THEIR club.

If your club is heading toward a crisis and no-one can be take the bull by the horns to get a Trust up and running then that is very very worrying. Best of luck.
PROGRAMMES, GET YER OFFISHAL MATCHDAY PROGRAMMES HEEE-YER!!

User is offline   rocksolid 

View PostNeefie Noodle, on Sep 10 2006, 21:04, said:

I've tried to rouse up the supporters to get the Supporter's Trust up and running, but no one wants anything to do with it.

Keep trying. Our trust wasn't exactly heaving with interest when it got off the ground, and look at it now! We've got a director on the board, and Raise the Rock day coming up this Saturday - all done by the trust.

As Ladyfan says, good luck.

User is offline   supersons 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Great day out.

Did not travel on Bus but certainly enjoyed my trip, and so did my father.

Thanks to all sons and elgin fans who helped us with the wheelchair on route to the away end.

And also thanks to the bookie who gave us 7/1 on Stephen Dobbie to score first :D :D :D

Also got in for nowt which was doubly nice of the guy on the gate.

Elgin looked very poor which surprises me due to the catchment area they are in.

How many players from the Aberdeen, morayshire area play for Elgin? and how many from Glasgow play for them, must be an expensive business ferrying players about, everygame would be an away game for most players I would imagine.

Anyway Dumbarton totally dominated the game and were never out of first gear, Ref was poor and made some howlers, Dobbie skins keeper and keeper pulls him down, foul given against sons player.

Elgin player floors Dumbarton trialist just after the Elgin red card, only a yellow card pulled out, very poor imo.

Credit to shakey and his singing section best laugh I have had for a while.
RIP GUIDO 1983-2009

User is offline   fanny paddery 

• First Division Superstar
  • Gamertag:mccaughey87
Maybe the brilliant day out that evryone had will encourage the Sons trust to run the bus again !!!!
And somewhere in the distance, the gambler he broke even !!

Guest_SuperSon_*

• Group: Surfer
Big thanks to the sons trust for organising a great trip all the way up to the highlands! Game was poor but we got the result in the end. Lets hope we get a larger than average attendance on Saturday and wel keep the songs going! As for the bookie giving 7/1 on Dobbie you paid my Saturday and Sunday nights out big thanks to you also. COME ON YE SONS!! oh and nananananananananananana SONS TEAM SONS TEAM sonnns teeeem! SQWEAK SQWEAK SQWEAK

Guest_Blackandwhiteminstrel_*

• Group: Surfer
Congratulations to the Sons fans on the only entertainment that I saw on saturday.
Life at Borough Briggs just now is as low as I can remember. I believe we've got a decent squad when everybody is fit but it just ain't happening.
I noticed somebody saying that the Sons bench was heading for heart attacks, there ain't much chance of that on our bench as cardboard cut outs could do the job.
It looks to me that the manager has lost the dressing room and doesn't have the ability to lift it. I hope i'm wrong.
FOREVER BLACK AND WHITE

User is offline   LOL @ Celtic 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:Other
I was still smiling today thinking of some of those chants on saturday :D

Didn't even hear one chant or song from the Elgin fans

Ironically, we made more noise away than we usually do at home

I wish we could stand at the home games :(

User is offline   Fudge 

• MOGEN DAVID

View PostIXI THE ONE IXI, on Sep 11 2006, 17:25, said:

They don't let you stand at The Rock?

User is offline   Neilly 

• Golden Shoe Winner
If they don't let us stand on Saturday then I fear at least 25 ejections from the ground.
This is my territory be on your way...

User is offline   LOL @ Celtic 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:Other
I can't really see the away fans from where I am sat, but usually the stewards are on you pretty quick for standing.

A load of pish I know, but it is the 'rules' :rolleyes:

User is offline   Reina 

• Falkirk Mafia
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • Team:Scotland

The same thing can be said about every team in the SFL.
Join our Flickr group here - Find our *NEW* photography 'assignment' here

User is offline   THE SONS OF THE ROCK 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

I was still smiling today thinking of some of those chants on saturday :D

Didn't even hear one chant or song from the Elgin fans

ive still got a sore throat for all the singing we did (im sure sqweak still has a smile on his face made his day singing for him) keep it up boys on sat cos i will :)

Attached File(s)

BERTIE IS A SONS FAN

User is offline   Bring Back Paddy Flannery 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
i canny believe big jimmy (honey monster) actually taught me at school!

User is offline   O'Kelly Isley III 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostBring Back Paddy Flannery, on Sep 11 2006, 22:43, said:

That would explain a great deal...and to think that young folk like yourself are my pension :o :o :o
Ah don't dae Facebook or Twitter, ah jist burn wid.....

View PostNeilly, on Sep 11 2006, 17:29, said:

If they don't let us stand on Saturday then I fear at least 25 ejections from the ground.

What is wrong with them that they can't sit down for the duration of a football match? are they hyper-active infants or something?
:lol: :lol:

View PostBring Back Paddy Flannery, on Sep 11 2006, 22:43, said:

A fine figure of a man, demonstrated in the above photo. Who would think that his half-century beckons?

User is offline   Fudge 

• MOGEN DAVID

View PostHowlin' Wilf, on Sep 12 2006, 09:32, said:

What is wrong with them that they can't sit down for the duration of a football match? are they hyper-active infants or something?
:lol: :lol:

If you are forced to sit at a football, ground, the atmosphere is always much worse.

Even at our own ground, although there is rarely singing, there is about 15-20 of us that stand in the back two rows. We just prefer it I suppose.

• (3 Pages) +