Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Elgin V Sons - The Pie Shop

• (3 Pages) +

Elgin V Sons Who is making the trip and what should the team be???? Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Am Muilleach 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • Team:Elgin City
We were truly, truly awful today - only matched by a pish "referee".

A question for Dumbarton fans; Are your manager and assistant always as hyped up as that? Crikey they're heading for heart-attack city if they keep that up!
Come on City!

"..There is no real substitute
For a ball struck squarely and firmly.."

User is offline   rocksolid 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • Team:Dumbarton

View PostAm Muilleach, on Sep 9 2006, 21:45, said:

We were truly, truly awful today - only matched by a pish "referee".
A question for Dumbarton fans; Are your manager and assistant always as hyped up as that? Crikey they're heading for heart-attack city if they keep that up!

I didn't notice them getting hyped up, but they couldn't have been as hyped up as Shakehands Tom and the boys at the front of the terracing. They sang their hearts out all day.

We made hard work of it, but we got three points, can't ask for any more than that. We should really have had it won by half time, or at the latest the early stages of the second half. However, a big improvement all the same on the last two games.

This post has been edited by rocksolid: 09 September 2006 - 20:53

User is offline   FORDY 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Team:East Stirlingshire

View PostTatty Boabie, on Sep 7 2006, 23:09, said:

Have you any idea what the problems are? I remember your manager saying last week that it is fairly much the same players as finished strongly last season, and yet they are simply not doing the business this term.

Also, if I remember rightly, you started really badly last season.

Tatty you have answered your own question! Every team has improved on last season and the Elgin fans keep saying 'we are the same as last season, whats going wrong?
- thats the problem!!

It may have worked for them then but even the Shire have improved hand over fist and anyone can beat anyone in the Div IMO at the moment except Elgin who are still pinning their hopes on last seasons squad.

User is offline   THE SONS OF THE ROCK 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
what a fukcing good day out
well done to all the lads (me as well) for the singing all day my voice is well fucked
need more of this at games well done to the team played well and got a good result

gerry mccabes barmyarmy

This post has been edited by THE SONS OF THE ROCK: 09 September 2006 - 21:11

BERTIE IS A SONS FAN

Guest_Tatty Boabie_*

• Group: Surfer

View PostFORDY, on Sep 9 2006, 22:05, said:

Tatty you have answered your own question! Every team has improved on last season and the Elgin fans keep saying 'we are the same as last season, whats going wrong?
- thats the problem!!

It may have worked for them then but even the Shire have improved hand over fist and anyone can beat anyone in the Div IMO at the moment except Elgin who are still pinning their hopes on last seasons squad.

Yes, I think you're right, Elgin have stood still, and look, quite frankly, disinterested, and everybody else has improved, notably yourselves, Albion Rovers, and Montrose.

Makes for a very interesting season, and well done on your result today. I think you are going to really upset lots of people this season, and not just us.

This post has been edited by Tatty Boabie: 09 September 2006 - 21:12

View PostTHE SONS OF THE ROCK, on Sep 9 2006, 22:10, said:

what a fukcing good day out
well done to all the lads (me as well) for the singing all day my voice is well fucked
need more of this at games well done to the team played well and got a good result
gerry mccabes barmyarmy

Nananananananananananananananana SONSTEAM!!!!

User is online   cityfan 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:Rossco1893

View PostTatty Boabie, on Sep 9 2006, 22:11, said:

Yes, I think you're right, Elgin have stood still, and look, quite frankly, disinterested, and everybody else has improved, notably yourselves, Albion Rovers, and Montrose.

Makes for a very interesting season, and well done on your result today. I think you are going to really upset lots of people this season, and not just us.

We havn't even stood still, we've gone backwards. We are a hell of alot poorer than last season, we had 1 shot on target today against the nearest team above us, thats not good enough.
#sixseasonsandamovie

Guest_Tatty Boabie_*

View Postcityfan, on Sep 9 2006, 22:17, said:

We havn't even stood still, we've gone backwards. We are a hell of alot poorer than last season, we had 1 shot on target today against the nearest team above us, thats not good enough.

So what's wrong.

Surely it can't just be because Adam Nelson is missing.

I'm not being awful, but it looked like your team were just going through the motions last Sunday.

User is offline   Howlin' Wilf 

Well done to the Sonstrust for organising this. A good day out punctuated by a victory for the Sons. The game wasn't up to much and Elgin were frankly very poor. The Sons weren't terrific either but were in control of the game throughout and managed to take two of their numerous chances.

Really Elgin created nothing and the away goal was never under threat. The positional enigma continues for Sons. Although Britzo got a start at left back, Winters was again in defence and when Canning came on the expected positional switch didn't take place.

Gerry will need to get off McNaught's case. Most of the shouting and bawling was in his direction and really I don't think it helped much.

All in all a good day and a result that brings much relief to Sons but we will have to raise our game for next week.

View PostHowlin' Wilf, on Sep 9 2006, 22:26, said:

All in all a good day and a result that brings much relief to Sons but we will have to raise our game for next week.

Is that a pun, given what's happening next Saturday? ;)

User is offline   LOL @ Celtic 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:Other
A great day all round :D

'You supply my cornflakes'

'You only sing when you're crofting'

This post has been edited by IXI THE ONE IXI: 09 September 2006 - 21:57

View PostThe Real Saints, on Sep 9 2006, 18:26, said:

I see Dobbie scored today. Did he play well, or do you still all want him dropped because of his performance against Arbroath? ;)

He took his goal well, but about a minute before it, he had a chance which seemed much easier than the one he scored with. The jury is still out IMO.

User is online   cityfan 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:Rossco1893

View PostTatty Boabie, on Sep 9 2006, 22:26, said:

So what's wrong.

Surely it can't just be because Adam Nelson is missing.

I'm not being awful, but it looked like your team were just going through the motions last Sunday.

I've no idea, theres rumours about the players and thier thoughts on Irvine, but i dont deal in rumours.

dont go dismissing the fact adams missing doesnt matter, the starts are astonishing and here they are from someone on our messageboard:

League record over the last two seasons without and with Adam.

Without Adam...

Played - 19
Won - 1
Drawn - 3
Lost - 15

Points - 6

With Adam....

Played - 22
Won - 14
Drawn - 3
Lost - 5

Points - 45

This post has been edited by cityfan: 09 September 2006 - 21:36

#sixseasonsandamovie

Guest_Tatty Boabie_*

View Postcityfan, on Sep 9 2006, 22:35, said:

I've no idea, theres rumours about the players and thier thoughts on Irvine, but i dont deal in rumours.

dont go dismissing the fact adams missing doesnt matter, the starts are astonishing and here they are from someone on our messageboard:

League record over the last two seasons without and with Adam.

Without Adam...

Played - 19
Won - 1
Drawn - 3
Lost - 15

Points - 6

With Adam....

Played - 22
Won - 14
Drawn - 3
Lost - 5

Points - 45

They are frightening statistics. A club can't rely on one player that much.

User is online   Neilly 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:Stenhousemuir
Indeed, Elgin are absolutely piss poor. They can't keep relying on Adam Nelson, that just underlines what a diddy team they are.

Honestly, they have contributed f**k all to this league since they came in. Apart from a good day on the bevvy, what are Elgin good for?

Answers on a post card please.
This is my territory be on your way...

User is offline   Howlin' Wilf 

View PostIXI THE ONE IXI, on Sep 9 2006, 22:28, said:

A great day all round :D

'You supply my cornflakes'

'You only sing when you're crofting'

I thought 'You only sing when you're lambing' :lol: and 'I got a brand new combine harvester' :lol: just edged it.

Guest_The Dumb son_*

Who was this Hamilton Guy on the bench for sons and what position does he play?

User is offline   cedrick1 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip

View PostThe Dumb son, on Sep 10 2006, 08:51, said:

Who was this Hamilton Guy on the bench for sons and what position does he play?

youngster on trial from livvi-plays wide right although replaced nuggs up front yesterday
looks pacy and direct-set up second goal really well

User is online   Bring Back Paddy Flannery 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
absolutely gutted i missed the trip yesterday, had to give up my seats on the bus at the last minute :( sounds like it was a cracking day out

Guest_Super Sons Zombie Army_*

Great day out for the sons fans!

Still Feel F*cked!

Elgin don't look like a team capable of taking points off of anyone right now and dumbarton improved greatly on last weeks paul martin-era performance!

what was that referee all about though!! shambles!!

SQUEAKY SQUEAKY GEES A TUNE!!

User is offline   LOL @ Celtic 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:Other

View PostBring Back Paddy Flannery, on Sep 10 2006, 10:37, said:

absolutely gutted i missed the trip yesterday, had to give up my seats on the bus at the last minute :( sounds like it was a cracking day out

Not wanting to rub it in

But...

You missed a great away day :D

User is offline   Reina 

• Falkirk Mafia
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • Team:Scotland
There are lots of problems at Elgin, many of which are being talked about on here already, such as Adam Nelson missing, and that Elgin haven't moved forward when other teams have and despite having the same team (which isn't technically true - off the top of my head - Stuart Cumming moved to Montrose top join Paul Napier and Phil Reid who'd moved there earlier in the season - and they signed Craig Campbell from Forres Mechanics and other players that I can't remember right now) but I think the off-field antics are affecting the team. Brian Irvine must be treading thin ice at the moment, there's been rumours going about about one of the major investors going to pull out - although this has been categorically denied by the club - the supporters are, quite rightly, disillusioned, and the board is a mess. They all hate each other - pally pally on match day and when they see each other, but they all slag each other off behind their backs. It's pathetic. There's no money at Borough Briggs, yet they can't seem to be able to get strips and other merchandise for sale, which is a big part of a small club's income.

A couple of quotes from people on the Elgin City messageboard:

What im mad at, is the fact that I phoned up about 3 days per week for the past 2 weeks, and each time I phoned I was told to keep trying in 2 weeks, by a lady who answered the phone.

Now I phone back up today and was told that they had some stock in but it was sold out that day it arrived.

Now why wasnt my number took and why wasnt I informed of the stock.. infact the women seamed quite embarrassed as she recognised my voice, when I reminded her that I had phoned practically each day, and so how could I get told too keep trying in 2 weeks

I am reluctant to post this as, I don't want to be seen to be having a go at anyone however, I am another one who has been into the commercial office several times asking about merchandise. My name was taken (twice) and I was assured that I would be contacted when it became available...
... I'm still waiting

All of this will be affecting the team, and I'm sorry to say that I can't see a resolution any time soon, and the club is in for some very very dark times.
Join our Flickr group here - Find our *NEW* photography 'assignment' here

The BBC thinks that there were 462 at the game yesterday - NEVER. We had about 100 there, and Elgin had, at the very most, 200.

It does indeed seem a very strange and sad state of affairs up there right now. There was talk of you returning to the Highland League (as Shakey and his pals sang about yesterday!) - is that still a possibility? It might well be better from a crowd point of view.

User is offline   Trawler Rum & Weetabix 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View Postrocksolid, on Sep 10 2006, 13:30, said:

The BBC thinks that there were 462 at the game yesterday - NEVER. We had about 100 there, and Elgin had, at the very most, 200.

It does indeed seem a very strange and sad state of affairs up there right now. There was talk of you returning to the Highland League (as Shakey and his pals sang about yesterday!) - is that still a possibility? It might well be better from a crowd point of view.

I wonder if the Elgin fans privately wish their club had remained in the Highland League.

On a slightly related topic people keep floating the idea of this pyramid system involving the juniors and other minor grade clubs. A junior player who works with me says if say a Pollok fan was offered the choice of £4 entry to a derby with Arthurlie (or even a routine game with Shotts) or £9/10 entry to a home league game with East Fife then (in his opinion) 100% would choose the former.

League status is not necessarily all it's cracked up to be, as Elgin fans are no doubt considering, and 'those in the know' should appreciate that sometimes the instinct is to remain a big fish in a wee pool, pyramid sytem or not. <_<

User is offline   ShakehandsTom - DFC 

• Champions!
What a great day out that was. :D The bus up was fantastic, me n the lads were singing and having a great laugh. :lol:

Some of the songs me n the lads were singing at the game were a right laugh and just made the day even better! :lol:

The game was decent and we played well enough to dispose of what was a very poor Elgin side. Dobbie took his goal very well and I think we well deserved the win.

The referee was very poor (although I can't figure out why the Elgin fans are moaning, he gave you everything! :blink: )

All in all a great day, on the bus, at the game, and on the bus on the way back.

Bring on the Stenny.
R.I.P Gordon Lennon

1983 - 2009

• (3 Pages) +