Muirkirk Juniors 16/17

bigbuff

Lets hope the progress shown at the end of last season grows this season. Easily the best season in a number of years for the club and if I know George (and I think I do) there will be a few surprise signings this season.

A full pre-season, a few signings, fitter squad as no youth football to contend with Top 5 finish for me this season I.M.O.

For the first time in 25 years having retired from youth football I can relax and watch from the side-lines hopefully see the boys flourish and the club go from strength to strength. 2nd year Junior for some of these boys if they thought first year was tough then this one is tougher as expectation levels  are higher but I know these boys inside and out and I think the supporters will be pleasantly surprised.

All the best for the season!

Boab

• Replies 81

Lets hope the progress shown at the end of last season grows this season. Easily the best season in a number of years for the club and if I know George (and I think I do) there will be a few surprise signings this season.

A full pre-season, a few signings, fitter squad as no youth football to contend with Top 5 finish for me this season I.M.O.

For the first time in 25 years having retired from youth football I can relax and watch from the side-lines hopefully see the boys flourish and the club go from strength to strength. 2nd year Junior for some of these boys if they thought first year was tough then this one is tougher as expectation levels  are higher but I know these boys inside and out and I think the supporters will be pleasantly surprised.

Boab

Spoke with the manager recently and was very impressed with his vision for next season.

There is a full pre-season schedule in place, and games arranged, but formal announcements

will come from the manager.

Good luck to everyone involved.

I know i have been quiet on this thread however that does not mean the management team have been quiet they have been going about their business in the correct way and any announcement of signings/releases will be done through the proper channels when all the T's are crossed and the i's dotted. Then and only then will i post the relevant updates.

ur obviously loaded sir

Darvel Legend your not starting your pish this early are you? what's your predictions for your team this year? Winners? Promotion? I mean you've got to come on to our wee clubs forum to belittle a guy for having the balls to say a wee flutter on Muirkirk for promotion is possible, yet cant accept it when most decent intelligent junior fans laugh at the end of every season when once again you bottle it. The Colin Montgomery's of the ADL. For the record I'm not predicting a promotion place for Muirkirk but I am confident that we will finish top half. You see that's a realistic target one which your team continually hit.

Also for the record, I hope you're right about the progress of Muirkirk. I was impressed with the fact that they won some matches last year and had a run in the Scottish. Long overdue success for a club which just seems to battle away.

I hope they do get into the top half but predict that there will be a hiatus in your season. The manager will apply for every other job going and due to his good work last season, he may be successful. 

Hope I'm wrong but based on past record I doubt it.

Whatever, all the best for the upcoming season, Muirkirk!

Boab

Has there been any word on new signing from the club? I think G.G. had the squad back in for

pre-season training last Saturday.

Has there been any word on new signing from the club? I think G.G. had the squad back in for

pre-season training last Saturday.

An announcement will be made in due course as soon as pen to paper has been completed. Yes pre-season started last Saturday with a healthy turn out.

Also for the record, I hope you're right about the progress of Muirkirk. I was impressed with the fact that they won some matches last year and had a run in the Scottish. Long overdue success for a club which just seems to battle away.

I hope they do get into the top half but predict that there will be a hiatus in your season. The manager will apply for every other job going and due to his good work last season, he may be successful. 

Hope I'm wrong but based on past record I doubt it.

Whatever, all the best for the upcoming season, Muirkirk!

Whilst I appreciate your candid compliments you just can't help yourself with digs at the manager have a bit of class for a change sir!

An announcement will be made in due course as soon as pen to paper has been completed. Yes pre-season started last Saturday with a healthy turn out.

Three signings confirmed by the manager tonight prior to latest session. I am obliged to Mr

Grierson for the following:  Right full back Craig Peck, Central defender Darren McIntyre,

and midfielder Gary Russell.

Whilst I appreciate your candid compliments you just can't help yourself with digs at the manager have a bit of class for a change sir!

Watch your lip or I'll start having digs at you!

Calm yourself doon. I was stating my opinion based on what I've observed over the last few seasons.

Oh, and if it's class you're looking for read your post to the Darvel fella on here where you were commenting on his team. Then sit down and have a think as to what class, or in that case lack of it, really is.......sir.

Watch your lip or I'll start having digs at you!

Calm yourself doon. I was stating my opinion based on what I've observed over the last few seasons.

Oh, and if it's class you're looking for read your post to the Darvel fella on here where you were commenting on his team. Then sit down and have a think as to what class, or in that case lack of it, really is.......sir.

Dig away. The Darvel fellow is Darvel Legend a well known stirrer who had a dig at Muirkirk which I defended as is my right. Generally opinions are based on hearsay and rumours in my opinion and given that the manager took on a team that had nothing to offer and rebuilt it and showed progress with no preseason last year says a lot about his character to be honest. Good managers like good players will always attract interest that's football and I for one would never hold it against a manager or a player if he wanted to progress as long as it was progression. He committed last season and has committed this season and I'm sure a club like Muirkirk are better for it. There is a buzz about the place and I know people laugh and say a buzz about possibly finishing mid table but what they have to appreciate is for years this club has not finished outside the bottom 2 so for loyal followers there is a buzz. I take exception to the continued dig about the managers loyalty because some people just cant let go and move on.

I don't disagree with anything you have said. Your manager will tell you I have also praised him on here. The fact remains he has itchy feet and I will stand by my prediction. It wasn't a dig if you read it properly. It was my opinion.

Now continue talking up your team. I for one will not shout you down as I think they have made great steps forward. However you really should chill out and refrain from taking the role of defender of truth and justice for Muirkirk Juniors FC. They did fine for a long time before you arrived.