Dropping out of the seniors

This isn't a wind up thread and I could've easily posted in the Prem forum but I felt that this thread may be best placed in here due to the number of big clubs (compared to League 1/2) and some of the positions some clubs have found themselves in.

Basically I'm looking to discuss the chance of a team having a really bad time of it and dropping quickly down through the divisions and out of the senior leagues.  Cowdenbeath are probably a good recent example but, in my opinion, they are not a big enough club for this to be a major shock (I'm sure their fans or others would disagree).

Lets take Kilmarnock for example.  If we had gone down this season we were looking at being in a bad way - both on the park and off it.  I doubt that we would've gone straight down again but you never know.  Once you are floundering in League One you can potentially end up there for a while (Ayr being an example) and a poor season could see you then dropping to the bottom league.  Ayr have been reasonably close to the bottom of League One on a couple of occasions and, I think, in the last 10 years both Morton and Dunfermline have had quite low finishing positions in League One whilst they sorted out their clubs.

So, does anyone think that a really "big" team in terms of Scottish football may well end up in a difficult position and out of the league within the next 5 or so years.  I think most clubs outwith the city teams are probably at risk of a bad season or two leading to financial issues and from there it is a vicious cycle - Livingston as a current example of a big(ish) who could drop into this position.

This isn't a wind up thread and I could've easily posted in the Prem forum but I felt that this thread may be best placed in here due to the number of big clubs (compared to League 1/2) and some of the positions some clubs have found themselves in.

Basically I'm looking to discuss the chance of a team having a really bad time of it and dropping quickly down through the divisions and out of the senior leagues. Cowdenbeath are probably a good recent example but, in my opinion, they are not a big enough club for this to be a major shock (I'm sure their fans or others would disagree).

Lets take Kilmarnock for example. If we had gone down this season we were looking at being in a bad way - both on the park and off it. I doubt that we would've gone straight down again but you never know. Once you are floundering in League One you can potentially end up there for a while (Ayr being an example) and a poor season could see you then dropping to the bottom league. Ayr have been reasonably close to the bottom of League One on a couple of occasions and, I think, in the last 10 years both Morton and Dunfermline have had quite low finishing positions in League One whilst they sorted out their clubs.

So, does anyone think that a really "big" team in terms of Scottish football may well end up in a difficult position and out of the league within the next 5 or so years. I think most clubs outwith the city teams are probably at risk of a bad season or two leading to financial issues and from there it is a vicious cycle - Livingston as a current example of a big(ish) who could drop into this position.

No.

Basically I'm looking to discuss the chance of a team having a really bad time of it and dropping quickly down through the divisions and out of the senior leagues. Cowdenbeath are probably a good recent example but, in my opinion, they are not a big enough club for this to be a major shock (I'm sure their fans or others would disagree).

Lets take Kilmarnock for example. If we had gone down this season we were looking at being in a bad way - both on the park and off it. I doubt that we would've gone straight down again but you never know. Once you are floundering in League One you can potentially end up there for a while (Ayr being an example) and a poor season could see you then dropping to the bottom league. Ayr have been reasonably close to the bottom of League One on a couple of occasions and, I think, in the last 10 years both Morton and Dunfermline have had quite low finishing positions in League One whilst they sorted out their clubs.

So, does anyone think that a really "big" team in terms of Scottish football may well end up in a difficult position and out of the league within the next 5 or so years. I think most clubs outwith the city teams are probably at risk of a bad season or two leading to financial issues and from there it is a vicious cycle - Livingston as a current example of a big(ish) who could drop into this position.

^^^ doesn't know you can't be relegated from senior to junior football. Has no idea that the two are completely separate entities.

I'm pretty sure you knew what I meant.  Although you could of course be thick.

Scottish football looks after the big clubs. It's only the Gretna types that can drop like a stone.

If wee teams from the seaside leagues were the ones constantly taking the pish and using administration for fun then the rules would've been tightened and punishment more severe.

Clyde would seem kind of vulnerable to me if moving home has affected their fanbase - I don't know though.

I don't think it's too wild a point but the trapdoor is really wee and the get out of jail card of a playoff makes it quite hard to go down. The biggest risk to clubs is promoted teams settling/growing into the league and a case being made for increasing it.

So no, not really.

the only way a biggish club could fall so low would be due to severe financial problems hitting their ability to attract or maintain players. as my club, Falkirk, deliberately made sure it paid off all creditors 100% when we went into voluntary administration I suppose we could be vunerable to this. as was said at the time by one of our new directors, our creditors are mostly small, local businesses who have supported the club for years, we couldn't let them down. most other big teams however will just stick it up their creditors paying 5p in the pound or similar or shaft their under contract players so I can't see this affecting other big clubs like Dundee, Dunfermline, motherwell or rangers for example!

OP seems fucking gutted hat Killie weren't relegated tbh.

Enjoy limbo for another season and coming down into a much more boring league  :)

I said this on another thread but I was a little bit gutted we weren't relegated - whilst at the same time being happy we stayed up.  It was a strange feeling.

I'm fed up watching my team get humped every week so hopefully next season will see some improvement.

You can be relegated out of the senior league system though, which is clearly what he was attesting to.