Edinburgh University vs. Preston Athletic

Cumbernauld Colts vs. Threave Rovers

Whitehill Welfare vs. Spartans

Edinburgh City vs. Dalbeattie Star

Gretna 2008 vs. BSC Glasgow

East Kilbride vs. University of Stirling

Bye: Selkirk

Quarter Final

Cumbernauld Colts or Threave Rovers vs. Edinburgh University or. Preston Athletic

East Kilbride or University of Stirling vs. Gala Fairydean Rovers or Vale of Leithen

Gretna 2008 or BSC Glasgow vs. Selkirk

Whitehill Welfare or Spartans vs. Edinburgh City or Dalbeattie Star

Semi Final

Gretna 2008 or BSC Glasgow or. Selkirk vs. Whitehill Welfare or Spartans or. Edinburgh City or Dalbeattie Star

East Kilbride or University of Stirling or Gala Fairydean Rovers or Vale of Leithen vs. Cumbernauld Colts or Threave Rovers or Edinburgh University or. Preston Athletic

Do the Champions not get left out of this cup?

That's what I heard. The dates are the same days as the playoffs- surely the Lowland league can't be asking its representatives to be playing games midweek between the playoff games?

Should be a bye for whitehill or dalbeattie then

I think they were given the option.

When would the league ask this? Surely they can't actually do it until champions are named? Did very club get an email earlier in the season asking what they wanted if they were champion? Can't imagine many would say "yes please, we would love an extra game or two between the two biggest games in our clubs history against an opponent like brora, cove or formartine. We would love a chance to get our players more fatigued, risk them getting injured and also take away another chance to train between the games".

I am not sure when it would be asked, but given its been fairly certain City would win the league, I would imagine they would have been consulted before the draw?

The league can't work like that though can it? They cannot be seen to ask specific teams without asking all the teams ( even if they only asked both city and spartans at this late stage). I just can't see any coach wanting his ( or her) team to have any extra games at this stage of the season.

I agree with you, but I can't see how they wouldn't have asked City before the draw. I am even more surprised that City are actually in it, and have obviously elected to take part!

Surely they will utilise their u20s squad though. And Spartans can use their eos side. Not an issue surely

if we utilise our u-20s you should just give Dalbeattie a bye and save them a trip! 

actually they've improved a wee bit recently... 

Calm yourselves down. On the LL website, at the bottom of the first round draw listing, it clearly alludes to the champion (as yet unknown) being exempt with their opponents getting a bye (like Selkirk).

Maybe they can stay in if they want, but even if so: given the importance of the playoff, why on earth would they?

City withdrawn. Sensible decision IMO. Although, why not hold the draw this week after the champs get the chance to make a decision?

Made sense to just get it done when they could and then clubs could start planning for the 23rd.

Taking the league champions oot kinda defects the trophy. it seems to be difficult to place in the calendar. maybes have it pre season with semi finals and final on a later date. Maybes Christmas/new year final ?

aye when the weathers better haha

Queenserse on the drink last night? It's a cup run by the League. Down south the Football League Cup has never sported sections in its entire history!

If it was preseason the champion couldn't be in it either due to the new SPFL League Cup groupstage (faint 'hurrah' from Queenserse ;)). As long as the league has to be decided - at least for the champion - by mid-April then there has to be something else played off the end of the season, otherwise everyone has to end ridiculously early? And whatever that something is, the champion can't be in it due to the playoff? Like it or not that's the way of it.