Future of EoS

• Replies 97

Is the Burntisland and Ormiston thing confirmed in any way? I've only seen the Craigroyston rumour on here previously from what appear to be people that would know what's going on.

No one at craigroyston really knows what's going on. That's why they're a mess......

With Burntisland, Craigroyston and Ormiston showing interest in going Junior (understandably) and Civil, Hawick and Coldsttream looking to move to LL where is the future for the league as don't see any teams joining.

I understand that at least one EoS side has shown strong interest in the Juniors for next season, and it could be Craigroyston. Whether Ormiston are also thinking of that route I have no idea, although they were a pretty successful Junior club before wandering off into the wilderness of the EoS in a failed merger. Personally I think they should come back.

Burntisland Shipyard are a perfect fit for Junior football on the face of it coming from the Junior heartland of Fife.

That said it’s going to come to the crunch at some point. As a feeder for the Lowland League, if they keep shedding clubs then in a short space of time it’s going to become unviable and the LL must be concerned.

Truely sick and tired of hearing about Juniors. All they do is "pinch" money from the Scottish Cup in terms of senior football, money which should go to deserving member clubs.

Nonsense. Lothian Thistle Hutchi Vale aren't licenced, Linlithgow Rose and Banks o Dee are.........

Maybe you should ask yourself why EoS clubs are leaving to join up with the Juniors, that is the point of the thread.

Truely sick and tired of hearing about Juniors. All they do is "pinch" money from the Scottish Cup in terms of senior football, money which should go to deserving member clubs.

God forbid that access to the national cup competition ever revolve around what happens on the field of play rather than association membership decisions from over a century ago.

As of the start of next season all teams ( regardless of 'grade' ) who are licensed get automatic entry. The others will have to qualify through on out h performance. History has no standing and it's what you do in the current that matters ( as it should always have been)

There are currently 15 teams in the EOS league.

Realistically they can lose 3 teams and still have a competitive 12 team single division. So next season wouldn't be a problem.

However if the following year or two they lost anymore teams and don't add any... That's when it gets to the point that it becomes almost embarrassing and there would be a serious possibility of the league folding or more likely being eaten up by another association/grade of football.

My opinion is that it will survive somehow.. Perhaps the top amateur league(s) could be feeder league into the EOS?

Never happen but just a thought...

If the SFA were serious about "the Pyramid", they would insist that the EoS opens up some level of guaranteed access to leading amateur clubs within its catchment area. The Borders Amateur setup would be a natural in that regard. Think it is far-fetched that the EoS is going to fold for lack of numbers any time soon, as long as the remaining non-licensed clubs like Eyemouth and Peebles (yes I know they were in the SJFA at one point) that lie outside traditional junior grade areas don't do a Kelso, but it's hard to see how they are going to start growing again in numbers terms again without doing that.

Nonsense. Lothian Thistle Hutchi Vale aren't licenced, Linlithgow Rose and Banks o Dee are.........

Maybe you should ask yourself why EoS clubs are leaving to join up with the Juniors, that is the point of the thread.

Is junior fitba the future like for non league fitba in this country? Playing in your own wee bubble etc,or maybe you should ask yourself blackburn man as to why you've already lost a few junior clubs already this season!!! I just wish the SFA had the baws to sort oot non league Scotland once and for all,ie no more junior/senior and a fully integrated pyramid system.

That's a question you should be asking Easthouses and probably Craigroyston as to why they see the Juniors as a better future than the EoS.

As for losing clubs, much like Kelso I guess, but the chances are Harthill will return next season and possible Crossgates. Will Kelso?

There are currently 15 teams in the EOS league.

Realistically they can lose 3 teams and still have a competitive 12 team single division. So next season wouldn't be a problem.

Totally agree with this. There surely must be decent amateur teams in Edinburgh/lothians that surely can be allowed to play at that level?

However if the following year or two they lost anymore teams and don't add any... That's when it gets to the point that it becomes almost embarrassing and there would be a serious possibility of the league folding or more likely being eaten up by another association/grade of football.

My opinion is that it will survive somehow.. Perhaps the top amateur league(s) could be feeder league into the EOS?

Never happen but just a thought...

The set up is a shambles. It's a conundrum for the top non league players we have. With two options of joining a local junior team, on front of decent crowds every week and possibly pick up a decent wage. Or go eos/lowland for the opportunity to climb the pyramid and progress to senior level.

Why can't we have both???

Can't see Coldstream ever applying for the Lowland League as playing in a public park will restrict what improvements they can make plus I heard they're only just keeping the club going in Eos.

Tbf, Coldstream's ground is now enclosed with cover, and licensed.

They were public about applying for LL one of the previous times, ditto Duns.

I think the point about Junior clubs folding is a fair one: in recent seasons it hasn't been unusual for upto half-a-dozen teams to fold / take abeyance across their 3 regions, whereas - even allowing for the Juniors have 50% more clubs - the attrition rate in the Seniors is very much lower, with clubs like Tarff Rovers or Kelso Utd folding being typically a once-in-a-decade event.

My own personal feeling is that some of the posts above are over-optimistic, and some are over-pessimistic. I had heard of 2 clubs possibly moving to the Juniors next season and there is still 1 vacancy in LL, too. That could drop the EOSL to as few as 12 clubs... 2 of which are reserve teams - a frequently transient type of member by past experiences. On the other hand you can run a league with 10 or 12 clubs, indeed 8 is probably the very minimum.

However, anyone can recognise the "trend": the EOSL had 26 members in 2012-13... then 20 members the following season... then 17 members.... now 15 members... and it would seem like the wise money might be on it falling again next season rather than increasing? In that same period not a single proper club - as opposed to reserve teams - has applied to join, IIRC.

At the current time, then, the situation is akin to that of a man slowly bleeding to death... Question is whether the wound can be dressed to stem the loss, and perhaps even a transfusion delivered to help revive the patient.

Taking a broader and longer-term view, the whole Senior/Junior and pyramid/non-pyramid divides should be resolved, IMO.

Well if there's two thinking of moving to the SJFA (HJ used to do the fixture list for the EoS league, so he probably knows what he is talking about) and one of them isn't Burntisland Shipyard, does that definitely mean Ormiston? Maybe Tynecastle or Leith Athletic would be other possibilities given Saughton Enclosure and the Meadowbank 3G would probably work OK for a junior team? Presumably LTHV would be keen to stay senior after their cup run this season.