Voting Habits

Mortar Bored

We have all met people who vote a certain way because that was the way their family voted.

Areas where a monkey in a red/blue/gold/yellow rosette would be elected despite their ability.

I'd like to think that with the advent of the internet and demise of MSM that people, especially the younger generation are more aware and make more informed decisions on who gets their vote.

I'd be interested to know others views on whether this seems to be a mainly Scottish phenomenon or if all we are seeing is a groundswell towards backing the winner?

• Replies 59

Certainly before the advent of social media there was a feeling that anyone with a red rosette would win an election in most parts of Scotland.

My Dad voted Labour and his Dad before him.

We now live in an age where any assertion put forward by a politician can be fact checked in seconds and spread throughout social media if it is found wanting. Slab have been unable to withstand this shift and have no answer to it.

There are still those who will vote without taking any interest in politics/ policies, but I feel these are a dying breed. If there's one thing to come off the back of the referendum, it's that Scottish people are amongst the most politically aware folks anywhere.

I don't know anyone under 50 who has a party.

Even as an active member of the SNP it's conditional.

My missus's mum is labour through and through because she is working class and if you are working class you vote labour. My grandad is a Tory because they are not Labour.

This irony is never lost on me as both my mother and father have voted SNP all their days, neither however ever talked about politics and I made my own mind up . That said everything else in life I did the exact opposite of what my father told me to do. I'm the only one though as my siblings all vote Tory.

Personally I think there are few capable politicians. And until they are elected you will not know if they are capable.

SLAB right up to 1997. the family was ILP in the 1930s

Moved to the Scottish Socialist Party as SLAB went right wing.

When they went tits up, i moved to the SNP,

If SLAB was serious about real constitutional change say Federalism i'd possibly think about.

For about 5 seconds, then laugh.

SLAB in the rest of my voting life, naw thanks

I'm still not sure many people give much of a f**k about day to day yah boo sucks political stuff .

Ask 20 people in the street and I doubt the could name you a Labour policy or an SNP one other than Independence.

Labour are effed then with 1p tax scheme.

I highly doubt that people are more politically aware or better informed these days. They just get their views shaped from different sources than before. At least there is some semblance of regulation and information behind those who write in mainstream media- the same can not be said of bloggers.

You talk some amount of shite

....There are still those who will vote without taking any interest in politics/ policies, but I feel these are a dying breed. If there's one thing to come off the back of the referendum, it's that Scottish people are amongst the most politically aware folks anywhere.

I'm one of those.

I turned 18 in 1963 1961 and in every election since whether local or national I have voted SNP.

I didnae need to see their manifesto as all I wanted was Independence.

After Indy I would then vote for a left wing party.

Looks like it will still be SNP.

Edit: I cannae koont.

I'm one of those.

I turned 18 in 1963 and in every election since whether local or national I have voted SNP.

I didnae need to see their manifesto as all I wanted was Independence.

After Indy I would then vote for a left wing party.

Looks like it will still be SNP.

I notice the first time the SNP had a candidate in every one of the 72 Scottish seats at a general election was October 1974.

And that was when Douglas Crawford became the first SNP MP for Perth & East Perthshire.

Before that there were a lot of also-rans.

I didn't take much notice of politics prior to the referendum. I just slavishly voted Labour because they weren't the Tories. Will never vote for them again, having opened my eyes to them. But apparently it's NOW that I'm brainwashed...

My in-laws are out and out Labour. They read the Daily Record, they joined Better Together, they went out to see Jim Murphy on tour.

My in-laws complain that 'The Tories' are cutting their money. They don;t like me saying that this is their fault because they voted No.

family were strong labour supporters so I voted labour until last year for westminster, for holyrood it was labour at 1st then snp 1st vote and SSP 2nd, last time round it was snp x2 and will be the same this time. Only got active in politics just before indy ref when i campaigned for yes, now a office bearer in my local snp branch and part of the campaign team. SNP all the way for me as labour have lost the plot, still got a lot of friends in Solidarity

My in-laws are out and out Labour. They read the Daily Record, they joined Better Together, they went out to see Jim Murphy on tour.

My in-laws complain that 'The Tories' are cutting their money. They don;t like me saying that this is their fault because they voted No.

:lol::thumsup2

family were strong labour supporters so I voted labour until last year for westminster, for holyrood it was labour at 1st then snp 1st vote and SSP 2nd, last time round it was snp x2 and will be the same this time. Only got active in politics just before indy ref when i campaigned for yes, now a office bearer in my local snp branch and part of the campaign team. SNP all the way for me as labour have lost the plot, still got a lot of friends in Solidarity

Well said and well done. :thumsup2

When I were a lad the Labour party was perceived tae be the workers party - a socialist party for the people and run by the people.

They would have been my party but my priority was Independence hence the SNP.

Now if you’re a labour voter you can help the likes o' Baron Michael Martin or Lord Jack McConnel tae sit in the Hoose o’ Lords wi’ their hands oot collecting tax-payers money with a job for life.

Guid socialists a’.

Ask your in-laws/family if they are happy tae hae Scottish Labour Lords.