Ross County v Linlithgow Rose

Auld Heid

• Replies 284

It's a bit of a shite draw for the Rose. Another long journey, probably get pumped and with all respect to Ross County, it's not exactly the money spinner you might have hoped for in the last 16. That said, I bet the Staggies are pretty happy with a home draw against a pub team.......

This will be the first time Ross County have played Junior opposition and the sixth time we've played non league opposition as a senior club.

We've played Buckie, Whitehill Welfare, Cove Rangers, Deveronvale and Inverurie Locos previously. Winning all five scoring at least four in every game apart from a 2-1 win over Buckie.

Hopefully will be a good game, certainly with the space County leave between midfield and defence Linlithgow will certainly get chances.

It's a bit of a shite draw for the Rose. Another long journey, probably get pumped and with all respect to Ross County, it's not exactly the money spinner you might have hoped for in the last 16. That said, I bet the Staggies are pretty happy with a home draw against a pub team.......

Even getting here is a money spinner. It'll be worth about £30k to us when you put that into context our average home gate brings in about £2-£3k.

I know zilch about football in the Juniors. I barely get the concept tbh.

Graham Weir! He scored a few goals for Raith Rovers up front in the Second Division, but didn't really cut the mustard in the First. Is he playing centre-mid for you? I saw his last appearance in the senior game, when he came on as a sub for Stirling when they lost 3-4 to Morton - it looked like he had piled on the pounds.

I was at Clach vs Linlithgow earlier in the cup. It was very easy for Linlithgow, but Clach are the absolute pits. As Loki pointed out, we have never had any issues against non-league teams in the cup and I expect this to be a fairly comfortable win for us.

Graham Weir! He scored a few goals for Raith Rovers up front in the Second Division, but didn't really cut the mustard in the First. Is he playing centre-mid for you? I saw his last appearance in the senior game, when he came on as a sub for Stirling when they lost 3-4 to Morton - it looked like he had piled on the pounds.

He had put on a lot of weight and when he turned out for us in pre season I there were 2 of him in that top. He's still stocky and I don't think he'll lose that now but he's much fitter and has no difficulty getting up and down the pitch for 90 minutes. He's been great for us and a genuinely pleasant surprise after that first game. We've got a lot of guys who've played at the lower end of SPFL and Ruari Maclennan might still be playing at championship level had it not been for injury. Shouldn't be enough to get anywhere near Ross County but we'll give it a whirl and see what happens. We at least have experience of what full time football gives you - in the case of QotS more than we could deal with and in the case of Raith Rovers, not much.

It's like the Highland League without the Cheucters. Sake man. It's no that long ago you were diddies too.