uefa nations league.

greenockraver

Anyone know what division we start in?

I would have preferred qualification to stay like it is just now for euro 2020 but the flipside is that there is a wildcard there if we dont make it.

Its a bit arse backwards though as qualifying from your division gets easier as you move down the leagues because of the quality of teams.

Is this the international version of what Platini done with the champions league ? (Ie. the champions route ensuring one diddy team per group.)

Anyone know what division we start in?

I would have preferred qualification to stay like it is just now for euro 2020 but the flipside is that there is a wildcard there if we dont make it.

Its a bit arse backwards though as qualifying from your division gets easier as you move down the leagues because of the quality of teams.

Is this the international version of what Platini done with the champions league ? (Ie. the champions route ensuring one diddy team per group.)

What is the qualification system again? Pretty complicated IIRC, but looked like it opened the door for at least one team at each 'level' to make it to a tourney.

I'll do what I usually do in these situations - look to Football Manager. At least until HibeeJibee comes in and corrects it.

I imagine we'll start in Group C (3rd tier) but a good World Cup campaign could see us rise to Group B I imagine. We'd probably be better being in C, as we'll be facing worse teams, and a better chance of finishing top of the group and getting a wildcard playoff spot.

I think I read that the draw will be made at the end of the WC2018 qualifiers, which will mean November 2017. In otherwords not including results from Russia 2018 itself.

There will be 4 divisions. Each division will contain between 12 and 16 teams; these teams will be divided into 4 groups within each division. They play each other home-and-away, in the autumn of 2018. Group winners are promoted; bottom place are relegated; winners of the top division groups play a Finals Tournament in June 2019.

In addition each division has 1 slot at Euro 2020. There will be playoffs in March 2020 (single-leg SFs & Final at neutral venues), involving the highest-placed team from each group which hasn't already qualified via Euro 2020 qualifying (10 groups of 5/6 ran throughout 2019).

Guest DAVIDB69

So we will be playing teams at our level to qualify for this rather than teams we can't beat .

We are going down to the 50s in the rankings though

It'll be seeded by UEFA Coefficient (competitive games only), not FIFA World Ranking.

We cannot look at the UNL route as anything but a back-up. It's played before the Euro 2020 qualifiers, with the playoffs following after, and we'd need to win our group then 2 single-leg knockout playoffs (SF & Final).

EDIT: For clarity, we'd need to win our group to guarantee participation. Otherwise we'd be relying on whoever finished above us having qualified regularly.

It'll be seeded by UEFA Coefficient (competitive games only), not FIFA World Ranking.

We cannot look at the UNL route as anything but a back-up. It's played before the Euro 2020 qualifiers, with the playoffs following after, and we'd need to win our group then 2 single-leg knockout playoffs (SF & Final).

EDIT: For clarity, we'd need to win our group to guarantee participation. Otherwise we'd be relying on whoever finished above us having qualified regularly.

And also important to note that to make room for these extra qualifiers, the playoff spot for the Euro Qualifying disappears. So it'll just be the top two going through from each group. Not a huge change, just removing the "half" spot. Still, it will be interesting to see how it affects the real qualifying stage. Given that once you start, if you've won your group then you're either in this Nations League Playoff or you're qualifying automatically, will that affect how some nations approach their games? I think having the 2.5 spots this time around led to certain teams giving more than they would usually, would be a shame to lose that.

We should do our utmost to decimate our co-efficient in the coming years. We probably won't qualify for the World Cup and by the time 2020 qualification comes round we will be in the bottom pool of the Nations League and will have a clear route to the finals against the minnows.

We will then be ranked third in the world for a month.

Passing up friendlies during the international dates should certainly help....

It won't help at all, given that friendlies don't count towards the UEFA coefficient.

Honestly didnt realise that.....is there a reason why? Fifa certainly dont ignore friendlies in their rankings.....i would have thought friendlies should at least be part of the calculation. I get that playing non eufa nations shouldnt be considered but given the relatively few matches played at international level the co efficient needs as much data as possible to be as accurate as it can....

They only include matches that matter, rather than daft wee kickarounds. That's likely to make things more accurate rather than less accurate.

Spose....given how few euro matches our clubs tho makes it very difficult to improve our coefficient....guess that explains why Wales have a freakishly high fifa ranking and a pish eufa coefficient.....we're destined to get stuck with Georgiaagain aren't we

It won't help at all, given that friendlies don't count towards the UEFA coefficient.

^ Works for the SFA....

Our ranking affects our WC seedings doesnt it? And our rankings affected by friendly results?

Personally id rather we qualify for a WC more than an EC, so we should take friendlies seriously.

Friendlies count towards world rankings, and world rankings are used for seeding in World Cup qualifiers.

That's not relevant to the point made above, which was a (presumably tongue in cheek) suggestion that Scotland should tank the World Cup qualifiers to put ourselves in the bottom pot for the first Nations League. The poster above claimed that the SFA not playing friendlies would help in that respect, but it wouldn't.

Theres a very strange logic in this