Tranent vs Talbot

TFW

Very impressed with the set up at Tranent yesterday, and a changed ground from the last time we played there. Everything very well organised, and the team looks like they're on the up. Great to see a well kitted out home support resplendent in their scarves. First time in a while I reckon we've been second best in terms of numbers at this stage of the competition. Havng read the programme (in about 30 seconds flat) it appears very much that the club were on the verge of going out of business a short while back. Great to see the club on the move again and think they'll be a hard team to beat this season and think they'll be a shooey in for promotiuon.

Well done to all concerned. Great banter with the keeper yesterday!

• Replies 102

Really surprised to read Tranent had more fans there, can only imagine the Talbot fans felt they were a shoe in to progress so did`nt bother to travel.

Any idea what the actual crowd was?

Talbot had a very good support, but as should really be the case but seldom is, the locals turned out in big numbers, great to see. I had the feeling that Tranent are a real community club and the locals are buying into it. So much different to the artificial LL club set ups that Talbot have experienced recently. Anyone who can't understand the Juniors reluctance to the LL set up should have been at Tranent yesterday to witness what Junior football is all about. I wish Teanent all the best in the future, would love to meet them in the final some time.

Let's not get too carried away here though .

Hearts were away to Partick and hibs were playing today hence the probable local interest .

Tranent will probably have a hundred or so at their next game .

No doubt the Hibs/Hearts thing is relevent. Don't know what Tranent's average league attendance is, but what I will say is that yesterday did not look like the support who tuned up were there on a one off. As for the Pollok guy's estimate, ach just can't see that as being even close to the home crowd never mind the whole attendance. It was just refreshing to see a club with potential to pull more than a man and a dug.

We played them a couple of weeks back and the c.120 in attendance was apparently their biggest this season at that point.

Having seen the 'Bot home and away for the 25 years now reckon I can estimate to a reasonable degree what the crowd is. If there was less than 700 I'd be very surprised.

Talbot mainly stood opposite the enclosure, and there would have been approximately 200 there. Nothing behind one of the goals as fans weren't allowed in there.

150 probably behind the other goal no problem. 400-500 in the stand side no bother at all. Turnstiles were still clicking over at both ends 10 minutes into the game.

750-800 in all probability - and this isn't Isabel bullshitting the crowds here, we were easily outnumbered by the locals. That's great to see.

You werent missed ☺

Sook ma plums............. clitoris.

Just tae add Kats I was hearing I was the lucky wan, heard Talbot wur minging again and can count themselves lucky tae have won, the man that told me, said Talbot wull nae get much further no unless they improve big time in the next wee while, and tbh wit I have witnessed this season he has a point.

We played them a couple of weeks back and the c.120 in attendance was apparently their biggest this season at that point.

It's probably comparable to St mirren and rangers playing on a Sunday and teams like Arthurlie / renfrew / Johnstone burgh/ St Anthony's/ benburb playing a big scottish cup tie and securing the senior fans catchment area for a day only .

Tranent are a cracking outfit. Loved the banter the goalie got and gave to some of our fans and well played to him for shaking some of the fans hands at the end.

Pie was a bit cold and don't start me on the bovril . Apart from that a great day and wish Tranent the best of luck over the season.

There's been a steady rise in attendances since the community have recognised that what club is trying to achieve & isn't just pie in the sky.

The attendance, whatever it may have been was without a shadow of a doubt boosted by hibs & hearts not playing in near attendance that day, but credit to the local community for turning out in there masses & for buying into the vision the club has set for the future.

It's a marathon, not a sprint, but the place has a real buzz about it at present & the management, committee, players & helpers that are involved will not rest until the club is back on the map in the Jnr ranks once again.

There's been a steady rise in attendances since the community have recognised that what club is trying to achieve & isn't just pie in the sky.

The attendance, whatever it may have been was without a shadow of a doubt boosted by hibs & hearts not playing in near attendance that day, but credit to the local community for turning out in there masses & for buying into the vision the club has set for the future.

It's a marathon, not a sprint, but the place has a real buzz about it at present & the management, committee, players & helpers that are involved will not rest until the club is back on the map in the Jnr ranks once again.

That's really good to hear. When we came through for a game about 10 years ago the start was delayed for about 15 minutes whilst the whole pitch was scoured after they found a broken bottle embedded into the grass with the broken end facing up. If they've got the community in behind them instead of trying to kill them off with shite like that then that's a massive step forward. I know it was a while ago and last time we were there it was much better - just good to see them keeping going on the right road.

I would have guessed the crowd as somewhere between 700 & 900, very healthy for a 2nd round tie.

Talbot are still struggling for form at the moment so it was good to get the win against a lower league team on a good run. This was a potential banana skin successfully avoided