LL Head-to-Head Wins / Losses

HibeeJibee

Cicero and Surelynot! were asking on another thread for stats on "how long it's been since a given club defeated a given opponent in the league" - for example, Gretna beat Stirling yesterday, and this proved to be the first time they'd ever beaten the students in a league game.

Anyway, I figured-out how to upload the data into an Excel grid - and there are some quite surprising outcomes, worth a thread of its own.

With any luck it should appear below - remember that it pops-up bigger when you click on it.

post-11024-0-32681800-1439142047_thumb.j

If you take a row that will tell you the last season the club you have picked beat everyone else - for example if we pick the Edinburgh City row we find that they actually beat everyone last season.

If you take a column that will tell you the last team the club you have picked lost to everyone else - for example if we pick the Threave column we find that the only club they didn't lose to last season was Vale of Leithen.

As they've spent most of recent times in different leagues, I've put Dalbeattie, Threave, EK and BSCG at the extreme ends. I have also turned off the highlighting of 'Never' for clubs that have only met in the Lowland League era - it isn't that surprising that a club may not have beaten another if they've only had 2 or 4 opportunities.

I will post a few interesting observations in a minute.

For starters it's worth saying that 3 fairly long-standing records have already fallen in the first week of this new season:

* Threave beat Whitehill for the first time in over a decade

* Selkirk beat Edinburgh University for the first time in 15 years. Especially surprising given they've spent all of it bar 1 season in the same league.

* Gretna beat Stirling University for the first time in history.

Some interesting observations...

Firstly some positive ones. Edinburgh City beat everyone else in the league at some point last season, and of course they have already beaten new entrants Cumbernauld Colts this season too. Whitehll Welfare also has an enviable record, having beaten everyone either last season or failing that the season before, and again they beat Cumbernauld midweek. In only 2 seasons EK managed to rackup at least one win over everyone except for a redoubtable Dalbeattie. Stirling have still got unbeaten records against 2 different clubs from their EOSL days.

Then some negative ones. Threave and Selkirk haven't managed to avoid defeat to anyone since the Lowland League began. Preston and Threave lost to every club except one last season.

That is all a bit dry, though: what is probably most interesting is how long it's been since a few of the clubs have beaten the others - you know, what makes the newspaper headlines like "Club X have beaten Club Y for the first time in Z years".

Some fairly big surprises in there:

* Gretna have never beaten Whitehill - I wouldn't have guessed that.

* Edinburgh Uni have never beaten their academic rivals Stirling Uni.

* Gala haven't beaten Spartans in 18 years.

* it's been half a decade since Threave won a derby match against Dalbeattie, and the same length of time since Preston beat Whitehill

and most surprisingly of all...

* Selkirk haven't beaten Spartans since records began. I didn't believe that myself but I've checked it manually. It's true, it's been at least 30 years.

Shout-out anything else.

Until tonight :o.

Sensation!!!!

No really I've said it before aboot WW and possibly Spartans now to an extent.

People got to realise it's a NATIONAL LL not just eos anymore and WW and Spartans ? are not the big fish in the water anymore.

Fantastic start to season for the souters by the way and good luck to them.

Canny see anywhere else to put this and don't want to hijack thread but well done the BSC lads tonight.

Could someone start a new thread afore the accusations of taking over threads begin :D

No really I've said it before aboot WW and possibly Spartans now to an extent.

People got to realise it's a NATIONAL LL not just eos anymore and WW and Spartans ? are not the big fish in the water anymore.

You know what I'm saying NB. If you've been playing in the same league as someone but haven't beaten them in a league game for at least 30yrs, I'm filing that somewhere between "Remarkable!!" and "Extraordinary!!!!", and that drawer is called "Sensation!!!" 8):P.

Incidentally I still have no idea when Selkirk did previously beat Spartans before last night, could be 40yrs for all I know.

Wee stat, btw - in addition to smashing 2 long-standing opposition hoodoos, Selkirk have clocked double the amount of points in the first 12 days of this season as they took in the entirety of season 2013-14.

You know what I'm saying NB. If you've been playing in the same league as someone but haven't beaten them in a league game for at least 30yrs, I'm filing that somewhere between "Remarkable!!" and "Extraordinary!!!!", and that drawer is called "Sensation!!!" 8):P.

Incidentally I still have no idea when Selkirk did previously beat Spartans before last night, could be 40yrs for all I know.

Wee stat, btw - in addition to smashing 2 long-standing opposition hoodoos, Selkirk have clocked double the amount of points in the first 12 days of this season as they took in the entirety of season 2013-14.

If I'm not mistaken though they had ten points after four games last year? Hope they can continue as they fell away dramatically form there considering the next 22 games only saw them pick up 13 more. Like seeing different teams challenging at the top.

Unfortunately 2 of the top 3 will be steadily breaking clear of the chasing pack.

Nae disrespect to selkirk but don't think there be any other teams get close.

Hopefully I'm proved wrong.