Spartans European Cup Final

Grim O'Grady

Spartans set off for the Ronnie Swan Cup Final on Saturday.

This season it is being played in Europe. Or Blyth to be precise.

Sammy is taking a skills mix of something old, something new, something borrowed & who knows maybe we'll play in Blue.

Looking forward to our Euro sojourn, I've got my passport, sun cream & my English currency.

We've arranged for an interpreter to meet us down there, the one & only Newky Broon Spartan. So everything will run smoothly.

The Spartan Army is ready to March (yes Rab all 17).

Engerland here we come.

Ko 3pm

Grimbo

Hope you've got your vaccinations up to date.

Getting my croup jag at 2.30 today.

I'll return with souvenirs aplenty & if the website is still secure possibly the pox.

Grimbo

Sammy is taking a skills mix of something old, something new, something borrowed & who knows maybe we'll play in Blue.

Looking forward to our Euro sojourn, I've got my passport, sun cream & my English currency.

We've arranged for an interpreter to meet us down there, the one & only Newky Broon Spartan. So everything will run smoothly.

Engerland here we come.

Ko 3pm

Grimbo

I'm sure you will enjoy your trip to Blyth. Smashing club who will look after you guys. Clubhouse is 30 seconds from the ground and well worth a visit.

Could be a transitional season for Blyth as a few of last season's F.A Cup run side have got moves to the full time game.

I'm sure you will enjoy your trip to Blyth. Smashing club who will look after you guys. Clubhouse is 30 seconds from the ground and well worth a visit.Could be a transitional season for Blyth as a few of last season's F.A Cup run side have got moves to the full time game.

I think the opposite bud, one lad went to Carlisle, got released will play for the "Heed " this season.

Only other lad I can think of is now at Blackpool (hence friendly wi them last week).

I think they'll be up there challenging wi the nucleus of last year's squad.

They've also a "banterous" trip to Darlo to look forward to :D

Engerland here we come.

Ko 3pm

Grimbo

These European trophies are so watered down nowadays with folk outwith the top three places qualifying....

I think the opposite bud, one lad went to Carlisle, got released will play for the "Heed " this season. Only other lad I can think of is now at Blackpool (hence friendly wi them last week). I think they'll be up there challenging wi the nucleus of last year's squad. They've also a "banterous" trip to Darlo to look forward to :D

But last season's goal machine Danny Maguire has left for Halifax in the Conference and that's a massive hole to fill.

A few others have left for Northern League clubs too. Pool isn't as strong as last season's - hopefully a play off place can be achieved.

But last season's goal machine Danny Maguire has left for Halifax in the Conference and that's a massive hole to fill.A few others have left for Northern League clubs too. Pool isn't as strong as last season's - hopefully a play off place can be achieved.

Aye forgot boot him very pacey.

Likewise play offs would be an achievement,for all their big cup run last season can't help thinking it was a distraction and they left themselves with far too much to do in the league.

Now where have I heard that one before :D

Or give ye a loan of a goal :D

I assume you are referring to the penalty?

Jinky Horribine may well have been heading away from goal but if he's brought down in the box what could the referee do but point to the spot. A soft penalty is still a penalty.

Also whilst the seethe is still I me. Aaron still had to put the pen away, so gift or no gift the pen wasn't the deciding factor but the goal was.

Talking of gifts. I can hardly wait to include the footage of you cheering on the Spartans at our next derby . ;)

Grimbo