Future Goalie?

Senor Bairn

Reading the Centre Half thread about the predicament that we have with not many good centre backs coming through, another problem I think we have is at Goalie? Our Three Main keepers Marshall (30) McGregor (33) and Gordon (32) are all in the latter stages of their career. I know keepers can play until their 40 but do we really want to be relying on that? We may not have a choice as by the looks of it there are many potential number 1s coming through

Only Guys I think that look like they have the potential are

Scott Bain (Dundee)

Jordan Archer (ex Spurs believe he's signed for Millwall)

Can't think of anyone else? Are there any uncapped players eligible to play for us?

Wouldn't say a keeper at 30-33 is in the latter end of their career, if anything that's their prime!

6 years minimum we have left from our current batch of keepers and even then, Marshall would still only be 36!

But aye, hopefully Bain will develop enough, there's certainly promise there.

Agreed, the shelf life of keepers is generally longer. Just look at Van der sar and Brad Friedel among others. Played at top level into their 40s. Buffon is 37 and still 1st choice for italy.

Would nonetheless like to see a young guy come through sooner rather than later.

Reading the Centre Half thread about the predicament that we have with not many good centre backs coming through, another problem I think we have is at Goalie? Our Three Main keepers Marshall (30) McGregor (33) and Gordon (32) are all in the latter stages of their career. I know keepers can play until their 40 but do we really want to be relying on that? We may not have a choice as by the looks of it there are many potential number 1s coming through

Only Guys I think that look like they have the potential are

Scott Bain (Dundee)

Jordan Archer (ex Spurs believe he's signed for Millwall)

Can't think of anyone else? Are there any uncapped players eligible to play for us?

I know he had a shocker in the Glasgow cup but Robbie McCrorie is an excellent prospect, as is Hamilton at hearts.

I'm having this problem in FM the now. Well into the 2018 WC qualifying campaign with the 3 main keepers all in their mid 30s and stats rapidly decreasing. Next best is Marc McCallum at Dundee Utd. No idea what hes done in real life of note, if anything

Spent the 2nd half of the season with us. Looks a good prospect.

Won 11 in a row and 3 Europa leagues with him :lol:

Wonder why he didn't get a shot at Scotland u21 level? Maybe he's really pish.

ETA: Utd fans - what're the chances of him playing now Czerniak is gone? I see Utd have another young Polish guy but I don't know what the pecking order is.

Wonder why he didn't get a shot at Scotland u21 level? Maybe he's really pish.

ETA: Utd fans - what're the chances of him playing now Czerniak is gone? I see Utd have another young Polish guy but I don't know what the pecking order is.

Couldn't be the fact he's 17 could it?

He's fucking brilliant in FM. Always turns out to be a bit of a star.

Angus Gunn always ends up getting really good for Scotland in my games. Though considering he's already played quite a bit for England at youth level I doubt he'll be in a Scotland shirt in the future...

Our choices from the EPL and Championship sides last season, their age, if capped and at what level!!!

Ryan Crump - 19 (u17) - Blackburn Rovers

Matt Gilks - 33 (Full) - Burnley

David Marshall - 30 (Full) - Cardiff City

Chris Kettings - 22 (u21) - Crystal Palace

Allan McGregor - 33 (Full) - Hull City

Cameron Yates - 16 (u15) Leicester City

Ryan Fulton - 19 (u19) - Liverpool

Angus Gunn - 19 (Uncapped) - Manchester City

Jonathan Henly - 21 (u21) - Reading

Jordan Archer - 22 (u21) - Tottenham Hotspur