Lowland league or juniors

justasking

hmmm. .... knocked the Junior Cup Winners and the West Superleague Winners out of the Scottish Cup in recent seasons and pumped the East Region Winners in a pre-season friendly last summer.

Its obvious: the Juniors have the better standard.

Haven't really watched Lowland league since it began though did follow when it was EOS,looks a very competitive league,having watched Juniors for last 4-5 years I'd have to plump for the Juniors but there's not a big difference especially between the top teams but better crowds in Juniors,bit unfair Colin to say long ball tactics as I've seen some great football games in the Juniors but more physical imo.

I usually watch LL and it is a match for most of the superleague games I have seen. The juniors was more physical and lacking in pace IMHO.

The lower league junior games were like WWF wrestling. Competitive but hoofball.

LL looks to be boosted by a few clubs I've never seen and by all accounts made it far more competitive,Edin City also going well,looks like Spartans and WW have a harder task than years gone by when they were more or less arguably expected to win the league.

The lowland league will just be starting its 3rd season this summer. The juniors have been in existence for 100 or so years.

Given time it will progress. Also the LL clubs have to spend money on ground facility's which could be spent on playing staff which the juniors don't

give the LL teams time to progress then make a fair comparison.

Just on the subject of teams being more physical, that doesn't apply at my club. I'd say we are anything but. The Highland League is populated with hammer throwers if our league is seen as physical.

Top 3 or 4 teams in LL would be fine in a top junior league. I think the others would struggle. Obviously more clubs means more depth but the ratio feels about right. If you were building a 16 team LL embracing all non league clubs I would not quibble with 6 West Juniors and 5 from East Juniors along with 5 from the current LL.

Just on the subject of teams being more physical, that doesn't apply at my club. I'd say we are anything but. The Highland League is populated with hammer throwers if our league is seen as physical.

Top 3 or 4 teams in LL would be fine in a top junior league. I think the others would struggle. Obviously more clubs means more depth but the ratio feels about right. If you were building a 16 team LL embracing all non league clubs I would not quibble with 6 West Juniors and 5 from East Juniors along with 5 from the current LL.

Who's yer 5 from LL then ?

I think your underestimating the LL.

Who's the 5 then ?

When the east super league was designed for the juniors it was as simple as the top sides in the three relevant areas (lothian, Fife and tayside) based on the league positions at the end of the season. That would put the 16 teams as :

Talbot, hurlford, meadow, glenafton,petershill, beith.

Kelty, nitten, Bo'ness, lithgae, sauchie.

City, EK, gretna, dalbeattie and spartans.

Decent wee league that, although the winners would obviously be whoever has the biggest support....

Actually, go five from each then have the sixth placed team from all three play off. So beith, whitehill and Penicuik playing off for the 16th slot.

Still some decent teams missing think you'd need a LL div 2 ?

Edit and Clydebank still would nae be in it :D

Still some decent teams missing think you'd need a LL div 2 ?

Edit and Clydebank still would nae be in it :D

Probably. But went purely on playing performance this season. If there was a LL 2 we'd be in danger of creating a pyramid......

When the east super league was designed for the juniors it was as simple as the top sides in the three relevant areas (lothian, Fife and tayside) based on the league positions at the end of the season. That would put the 16 teams as :

Talbot, hurlford, meadow, glenafton,petershill, beith.

Kelty, nitten, Bo'ness, lithgae, sauchie.

City, EK, gretna, dalbeattie and spartans.

Decent wee league that, although the winners would obviously be whoever has the biggest support....

Would agree that is the way the Lowland League should have been set up rather than teams being invited to apply. SFA should have just dictated to teams as they were never going to get a consensus as there were to many people on both sides with their own agendas.

Sadly I do think the chance of an all encompassing non league set up has been lost and we will now continue with the leagues as they are with maybe the odd team crossing over between the senior and junior set ups.

Even assuming the SFA had the determination and will to impose who joined the Lowland League, it would never have been possible to take the top X clubs from each of the EOS League, SOS League, East Juniors and West Juniors due to the application of licensing. If you had taken the clubs on the basis of 5, 3, 5 and 5 (and that breakdown would have been sorely disputed in itself) the membership would have been:

Whitehill, Stirling(*?), Spartans, Gretna, Edinburgh City

Dalbeattie, St Cuthbert*, Wigtown*

Linlithgow, Bonnyrigg*, Camelon*, Bo'ness*, Kelty*

Auchinleck*, Petershill*, Clydebank*, Glenafton*, Irvine Meadow*

Of those the clubs marked with an * have not obtained a club licence by now. Infact only Linlithgow Rose and Coldstream (as far as is known) have, of clubs outwith the Lowland League as actually constituted, with a couple of others such as Auchinleck apparently being interested... Some listed will be years away. Also, practically-speaking, very few would have had floodlights - barely over 1/3 of the membership. Of the clubs actually licenced in spring 2013 only 1 of the 3 would have been included, Threave and Preston both finishing just outside the qualifying positions, and they could rightfully have argued that they'd suffered for investing in their grounds first over their squads.

It would've been a strong league in quality but with wildly varying facilities. For that reason it couldn't have happened - or been accepted by SFL clubs. They would not have countenanced relegation to venues like Holm Park or Trammonford.

It could have been done as a precursor to an integrated pyramid with teams given the time to sort themselves out and get the licence or face demotion - same as is happening in current LL. If it had been dictated rather than this application approach then we'd have had a unified structure pulled together through strong leadership.

Who's yer 5 from LL then ?

I think your underestimating the LL.

I'm definitely not underestimating the LL. There isn't a depth of quality. We beat Dalbeattie quite comfortably in the Scottish cup this season.

It could have been done as a precursor to an integrated pyramid with teams given the time to sort themselves out and get the licence or face demotion - same as is happening in current LL. If it had been dictated rather than this application approach then we'd have had a unified structure pulled together through strong leadership.

I suspect you might as easily have had a league filled with clubs who felt they didn't want to be there and had been forced into it, with others outside of it feeling they should have been there instead. If you are talking the same 2 years lead-in as was actually used, then lots of the clubs would have failed to get licensed in time I'd imagine (also what if some of them simply didn't want/couldn't afford to), so you would have had lots of them being demoted. Alternatively, if you would have had a longer lead-in time then you would have delayed promotion/relegation by the however many years you extended it by, which wouldn't satisfy clubs who want to go up. Everyone unhappy.

Personally I would love to see an integrated pyramid system in Scottish football - and were it not for the factional elements of the different grades and the various quirks of history, it would not actually be that hard to achieve. However, I don't think this suggestion of simply taking the top clubs from each league and forcing them into LL would ever have worked. It's a nice idea but a purely fantastical one. You'd have needed to force SFL, levels underneath, everything, to such a degree it'd clearly never have worked. Of course SFA is fairly weak so the forcing wouldn't have happened anyway.