Mickey Lawson the Golden One

Grim O'Grady

If it wasn't for Mickey I wouldn't be here now (on this forum) or involved in my own sweet capacity as a Spartans stalwart. So now you know who to blame.

I was a lost soul in Scottish football, until I discovered Spartans & Mickey was at the helm along with Sam. I'd never been or even dreamt of going to see a "non-league" game, until that fateful Saturday, although I missed the 1st 1/2 hour (wasn't aware of 2.30 ko's) I saw enough in that hour of football to relight my fire & next step was a season ticket.

We won the League that season, in fact 3 seasons on the trot, and our Cup tally overfloweth.

Met loads of great folk & a few tosses along the way. I've even had the pleasure of Mickey's company over a beer or two & been regaled with some of his footballing escapades & hopefully I will enjoy more of both in the future.

It will be a sad day if he does hang up his managers jacket, I can't imagine there's many managers that can come close to his success.

I've got a lot of time & respect for Mickey.

Grimbo

So WW now become the second team to sack the most successful manager in EOS history.

Aye but he's not in the EoS anymore. Plenty prem teams sack guys who did well for them in the championship.

LL is much more competitive than eos was and the mistake I think he made trying to stick with the squad that was successful in winning the eos.

Do you think he might fancy moving down to Dalbeattie and taking over the Star next season?

Tonight's evening news says he doesn't see himself going back into management but for the right offer he might still be persuaded!

Although to be fair if he's gonna manage a team away from the lothians it's likely to be in Mallorca......

I wonder if there will be a closing chapter in the blog?....

No reason why the blog won't go on, it was never solely about WW and I'm sure Mickey will have opinions on the local football scene and all other things in life.

#keeptheblog

I once sent the Golden One the wrong way from the penalty spot in the Meadowbank Thistle u16s penalty kick competition- he was the celebrity goalie for the competition... ah, happy memories! :lol:

... the wee bugger saved about 3 of me other 5 attempts though... :(

No reason why the blog won't go on, it was never solely about WW and I'm sure Mickey will have opinions on the local football scene and all other things in life.

#keeptheblog

Spot on.

MIckey is one of the most passionate ambassadors for our grade of football. I loved reading his blog as it gave us a real insight into the game at our level. I hope he continues his blog and comments on the matches that he goes to.

Off the field he is one of the most genuine guys that you could meet. Good luck Mickey in your next venture.

mikey if you are reading this, can you maybe join twitter and start your on blog as there are hundreds of people that miss your blog.

whitehill have scored a big own goal with the sacking, for once in almost 10 years whitehill had a manager that actually controlled the players but looks like it was too much

grant cairnie will basically be a old pals act .

I can definitely see guys like Somerville leaving next season.

mikey if you are reading this, can you maybe join twitter and start your on blog as there are hundreds of people that miss your blog.

whitehill have scored a big own goal with the sacking, for once in almost 10 years whitehill had a manager that actually controlled the players but looks like it was too much

grant cairnie will basically be a old pals act .

I can definitely see guys like Somerville leaving next season.

Can ye now ?

An awfy lot of folk concerned for the welfare of the Welfare. :P

If ye were a blog regular you'd know that oor Mick wasn't familiar with social media but would be happy if someone showed him how it works ?

Just out of interest how many players did Mickey actually go oot and sign for WW during his 3 years ?

Very best of luck to him by the way but WW survived before and after his 1st 2 spells in charge and that was after ripping the heart oot our team (lot of folk short memories) and will do so again this time.

Hopefully he's not lost to the game altogether would be interesting to see him at a less successful non league club

Mon the welfarrrrrrre!!!

Good few points there newky. Especially the one about players micky brought in. It's a general outlook that micky is a decent,liked guy and I won't argue with that but in football terms there have been some issues. Apart from the keeper I don't think there have been too many signings that have set the heather on fire in the last couple off years in fact a good few have been distinctly average imo. I was 50/50 regarding his exit but I don't put the time,effort and sacrafices the committee do at whitehill,and as u say we will continue as we have done for decades being a small club run by a few for a few with the same football ethos.....