Play-off Schedule?

Anyone know what the Premiership-Championship playoff schedule is? Normally it would be easily found on SPFL website and elsewhere... but I can't seem to track them down.

Logically it would be:

Weekend... Championship ends

Midweek... 4th v 3rd

Weekend... 3rd v 4th

Midweek... QF v 2nd

Weekend... 2nd v QF... Premiership ends

Midweek... SF v 11th

Weekend... 11th v SF... Scottish Cup Final

but I notice the Championship ends 3 weekends before the Premiership, not 2 weekends before.

And of course there could well be someone like Hibs, Falkirk or QotS in the Scottish Cup Final.

• Replies 45

Freakishly they have just appeared on SPFL website :ph34r:?!?!

(Someone there monitoring P&B :lol:?).

Interesting schedule:

http://spfl.co.uk/play-offs/

Saturday 2nd May... Championship ends

Midweek... x

Saturday 9th May... 4th v 3rd

Wednesday 13th May... 3rd v 4th

Saturday 16th May... QF v 2nd

Midweek... x

Saturday 23rd May... 2nd v QF ... Premiership 'Bottom 6' ends

Thursday 27th May... SF v 11th

Saturday 30th May... Scottish Cup Final

Sunday 31st May... 11th v SF

What happens if Hibs make the Scottish Cup final and the playoff final?

Or Falkirk, Or Queen of the South, Or Raith Rovers even.

Whilst HIbs are clearly the most likely possibility, given four of the last 8 in the cup could still be in that position it's not exactly a major reach.

I think we can safely say the Scottish Cup Final will not be moved. I doubt bringing the first leg of the playoff final forward is a practical solution either. Can't see any alternative to moving both legs back a week (possibly 2nd leg could then be the Saturday not the Sunday as the main reason it's Sunday in the first place is to avoid a clash with the cup final). Nobody will be happy with it though. Team involved in both will be trying to win promotion off the back of a Cup Final whilst the opposition will be cooling their heels for an extra week and have players from both clubs cancelling holidays.

Or Falkirk, Or Queen of the South, Or Raith Rovers even.

Whilst HIbs are clearly the most likely possibility, given four of the last 8 in the cup could still be in that position it's not exactly a major reach.

I think we can safely say the Scottish Cup Final will not be moved. I doubt bringing the first leg of the playoff final forward is a practical solution either. Can't see any alternative to moving both legs back a week (possibly 2nd leg could then be the Saturday not the Sunday as the main reason it's Sunday in the first place is to avoid a clash with the cup final). Nobody will be happy with it though. Team involved in both will be trying to win promotion off the back of a Cup Final whilst the opposition will be cooling their heels for an extra week and have players from both clubs cancelling holidays.

There's also the prospect of anyone sent off in the playoffs missing the final, or vice versa.

Far from ideal planning, but fairly typical of Scotland.

There's also the prospect of anyone sent off in the playoffs missing the final, or vice versa.

Far from ideal planning, but fairly typical of Scotland.

Well that's true, but it was always the case. The games being closer together doesn't change that fact. Equally someone sent off for serious foul play or violent conduct in the final league game would miss the final too.

Getting sent off in the final then missing your team's play off final would be a sore one though, usually you'd just miss the first game of the next season.

Means teams can't rest players either, last league game of the season is often pretty meaningless.

But aye, just a small extra pain.

Getting sent off in the final then missing your team's play off final would be a sore one though, usually you'd just miss the first game of the next season.

Means teams can't rest players either, last league game of the season is often pretty meaningless.

But aye, just a small extra pain.

Well assuming they move both legs to after the Cup Final I think the player would only miss the first playoff leg as any additional suspension would be competition specific and apply to the next season's cup.

Again, I appreciate you are making a general point about the playoffs rather than a specific comment on the clash with the cup final, but the point about not resting players and games not being meaningless applied when the playoffs finished before the cup final too.

Selfishly speaking, pretty happy with that. A week break in there and no real gap between the Prem finishing and the final playoff is good for whichever team from the Championship plays the final. Could be a lot worse if it was potentially 6 games in two weeks v a team with a week or more off.

Obviously a cup final would cause problems but there's nae chance I'm allowing myself to even think about that :lol:

A lot of assumptions here but if the team from the championship also gets to the cup final then they will be playing the play-off final well into June. If they were also in the Cup final against Celtic who will probably will the premier league, does that mean that whatever the cup final result that Championship team would go into Europe and if so what dates do the preliminary rounds start. Wouldn't expect them to have much of a summer break.

Hope you get the jist of what I'm trying to get at.

A lot of assumptions here but if the team from the championship also gets to the cup final then they will be playing the play-off final well into June. If they were also in the Cup final against Celtic who will probably will the premier league, does that mean that whatever the cup final result that Championship team would go into Europe and if so what dates do the preliminary rounds start. Wouldn't expect them to have much of a summer break.Hope you get the jist of what I'm trying to get at.

No