Talbot v Bonnyrigg

Absolute cracking cup tie in Spring like conditions in front of a healthy crowd on what has to be the best playing surface in the country. Rose impressed me, especially the first twenty, tried to play football from the back and went into a deserved lead. After that Talbot slowly asserted themselves and started to dominate and got a deserved equaliser. Both teams hit the post in what was an even first half. Second half was Talbot's for me and should really have won the game. Rose resorted to long ball which proved they were struggling, but had a good spell near the end forcing a number of corners. Thought Talbot had enough to win it second half but both teams played well. Rose had a number of very good players, number 7 caught the eye, should have been booked though for a number of late challenges. Looking forward to next week, very tricky tie now for Talbot having to negotiate the slope and a very capable Bonnyrigg side.

Agree with you Isa,good cup tie,thought you were prone to lumping long ball as well,I'd have took that result before the game,as for 7 he gives as good as he gets and maybe the ref sees it that way,as I said before home advantage for me counts for nothing in replay playing a side like Talbot,had to laugh at the zoomer who stays in the house at the away end watching the game fae his garden,when you scored he's giving it WATP and calling me specky and he's standing there with his glasses on,haha,he wisny 16,must have been 35-40,prob never payed in to see Talbot in his life,the glue he was on must have been good stuff,I got a lift home from A.M after the game and both agreed it was a fair result.

Aye, saw that guy in discussion with you guys, you wurnae wan owe they ballootered youngsters wingnut, were ye? Suppose your right regarding the long ball, just thought Rose had set their stall out to build from the back, but just couldn't as the second half wore on. Long ball was effective with your lone striker causing problems, Hyslop number 9? Good display from you guys although hanging on at times with a number of stramashes in your goal mouth. Liked your big number 5 and the left back, in fact there were a number of good players, just can't understand why your struggling in the league a bit on that performance. Did you raise your game against the might of Talbot in darkest Ayrshire?

Don't know why we struggle either Isa tbh but that's fitbaw for you,Hissy up front done well on his todd and there was a good team performance all round yesterday,naw I wisny wan ay the young mob haha,what's the latest on the boy who was hit outside the ground,don't want that shit but you only need one cabbage to kick off and doesn't help when you've got a replay to come,take it your 4000 will be there next week haha.

Exactly the type of game that makes the Scottish Junior Cup the most sought after piece of silverware in our grade. Both teams showing a desire to win straight from the kick off until the final whistle. Lashings of decent football and skills keeping both goalies busy,and both sets of fans very well entertained and,no doubt,a wee bit dissapointed not to be already in the quarters. If there's a better way to spend a fiver,then I'd love to hear about it.

Doubt we'll manage the 4000 mark mate, but be assured there will be a good support through. Loads of accusations about the young Rose fans kicking off and the inevitable repercussions, in truth don't know what happened or who started it. Not blaming anyone but if you have a group of teenagers all tanked up and confrontational then something is likely to happen. Must admit, I'll be a bit aware next week, although why anyone would bother wi a auld pisher like me I'll never know. But stranger things have happened. Here's for a great game like yesterday, trouble free, and may the best team go through!

Agree with you androbot, passion and desire of a good old fashioned Junior cup tie, but played in a good ground, modern day Junior football at its best, more people should try it on a Sat instead of sitting watching over paid premadonnas on Sky in the pub. £5 is the best value for money around.

I'm becoming accustomed to hearing all the complimentary testimonies from visitors to Beechwood,especially the playing surface,but I shall never take it for granted,particularly when you realise the droves of folk that have grafted to help make it happen. I walked up past the wee bit of strife in the Main St. just as the attendant police officers were sorting things out,cheeky local very young teen was set about by four overly oiled,late teen,early twenty something's,one of whom was a female that seemed to be more than a wee bit brassed of with her boyfriend for getting involved,noses are bled,bruises are blue...happy Valentines. Boy on bus,"Yer team got beat",cheeky wee local,"Eh?",Boy on bus,"Yer team got beat", cheeky wee local,"Twice?" Boys off the bus,banter turns to bedlam. I don't know whether the Police went on the bus,or not,but judging by the state of the young fella's face,assault charges would not be out of order.

Just goes to show you all it takes to kick off a fight when they're full ay the diesel is a silly wee comment like that,must have been well oiled when he thinks his team's won rather than drew,just got to hope there's no shit next week.

What's talbots record like in ties where they've drawn the home leg? I'd guess they have a cracking record in away replays in say the last 10 years.

I think its only happened twice in the last ten years. In season 06/07 we drew 3-3 with Lochee Utd at home and lost the replay on penalties. In season 08/09 we drew 1-1 at home to Arthurlie and won the replay 3-1

In 91 Talbot drew 0-0 with Hill of Beath at home in a quarter final tie, Talbot were down to 10 men but HOB were happy to settle for a draw such was their record at home. We all went through there with some trepidation, and when we saw the pitch and how tight it was our angst increased. Score, HOB 0 Talbot 5!

Hugely enjoyable game in the Ayrshire sunshine and a great advert for Junior football. It must be thirty years since I was at Beechwood and the ground and pitch looked in great condition.

Bonnyrigg started well and despite missing a couple of chances got their noses in front. However they were soon pegged back by Talbot. As the first half wore on the Talbot came more and more into the game. They moved the ball quickly from back to front and Gormley always looked dangerous.

In the second half Talbot continued to threaten. Their giant centre half Campbell won everything in the air. He created opportunities from all the set plays but Talbot were unable to capitalise. Bonnyrigg had a couple of good chances in the second half - a lob just going over the bar and a shot blocked in the six yard box.

All in all a draw was probably a fair result. I suspect Talbot will remain favourites to go through. They are a team with a great deal of experience and Scottish Cup know-how and that may be critical come the replay next Saturday.

I, for one, am looking forward to it.