Newtongrange Star V Arniston Rangers Tues 16/12/14

ARFC Exile

Aye it was called off at the last minute with the referee (probably rightly) deciding that an area of the pitch in front of the enclosure was too hard for the players safety. We were happy to offer Arniston training facilities on our astro pitch whilst the Star trained on the softer part of the pitch.

Not having a dig here.but it amazes me when folk go on about summer football.what would happen if we had a right hot summer.would refs turn up and say,game off.the pitch is to hard due to being baked.

hard pitches in summer can be watered- it's a bit difficult to unfreeze a hard pitch in Scotland in December if you don't have undersoil.heating..

I did have a genius idea the other day: there must be a few pitches built next to old, flooded coal mines. I believe it got quite hot down coal mines so why not drill a pipe down the old shafts and draw the heated water up as free undersoil heating?

Ive heard it all now.

A friendly called of by a ref. Players safety !! What a skinned knee ?

They could have started the game and allowed the players to decide if unplayable.

hard pitches in summer can be watered- it's a bit difficult to unfreeze a hard pitch in Scotland in December if you don't have undersoil.heating..

I did have a genius idea the other day: there must be a few pitches built next to old, flooded coal mines. I believe it got quite hot down coal mines so why not drill a pipe down the old shafts and draw the heated water up as free undersoil heating?

Sorry,but about watering pitches in a real hot summer.pish

Also Cannae mind watering our local ash park ????