RandomAttempt at righting wrongs

RandomGuy.

So, its probably time I started my yearly fail thread of me trying to manage everyones favourite team. Sadly for me the board actually have ambitions this year, so Ill have to have a decent start to my career. Thankfully we've a decent squad, and I don't think I'll actually sign anyone this Summer. Probably let a few go out on loan like Rodger and Easton if I can, might keep Brown around since hes my chairman though....

Started my Europa League campaign with games against Tromso

• Replies 1.1k

CDR3c7_M.png

So the draw for the Europa League First round was drawn, and I was lucky enough to draw Tromso of Norway, which was one of the hardest possible ties I could've gotten. Joy. One benefit is we had the Home leg first off, so I could hopefully build a lead for the difficult away tie.

Untitled75_zpsa65s1t0p.png

Pretty unfortunate in the end. We had plenty of chances but none were particularly decent. McDonald did score from the edge of the box but we just couldn't break through again. Pretty respectable result I'd say.

250px-Scottish_Premiership.svg.png

August

So the Premiership starts. I have five fixtures this month. Two home games against Celtic and Aberdeen, and three away ties to Ross County, Hamilton and Motherwell. Would happily take seven points from these games as its a pretty tough start.

Untitled75_zpssgoh61ib.png

End of month table

Untitled75_zpsgpddttvy.png

For some reason I can't screenshot the league, so you'll have to cope with this. We're sitting pretty comfy after a solid start, but another tough month awaits us, all three teams sit below us though, so two wins out of the three would be massive in our push for Europe, so thats my aim. Six points.

September

So we enter the second month of fixtures. I mentioned I was looking for six points from the next three games, so hopefully we manage it. Our games are Dundee at home, then two away days to Inverness and Dundee United. We've also got a League Cup tie at home to Falkirk this month.

Untitled75_zpsfvqjn5ik.png

End of month Table

Untitled75_zpssgcvmqw3.png

Despite picking up four points from the three games we remain in the top six. The leagues taking shape a bit now with the surprise being who sits bottom.

2cde5ow.png

League Cup Third Round

St.%20Johnstone%20v%20Falkirk_%20Overvie

Not as bad as the scoreline looks tbh, we looked the better side until a horrendous penalty decision won the game for Falkirk, we were then caught on the counter as we bombed foward.

2cde5ow.png

League Cup Third Round

StJohnstonevFalkirk_OverviewOverview_zps

Not as bad as the scoreline looks tbh, we looked the better side until a horrendous penalty decision won the game for Falkirk, we were then caught on the counter as we bombed foward.

haha you got beat by falkirk surely that's worth getting sacked for

The Steve Brown as chairman issue as flagged up as soon as the game come out. Will be on it again in January. You have inspired me to get my own saints save started and I will do a thread also .

Aye its nothing too serious tbh, and i look forward to see you doing better than me!

haha you got beat by falkirk surely that's with getting sacked for

The board did make me explain the result, but agreed the ref cost us the game

Nae luck for you. I'll be playing with saints for 2 weeks solid and we all no how ace I am. #FMmaster :P

f**k.

If you dare make the Group Stages at the first attempt...

f**k.

If you dare make the Group Stages at the first attempt...

I don't even have the game yet so don't worry. Although I did last year, I use the same tactic in Europe every game and it always seems to work assuming the players are correct. I do expect though they will be since McFadden will be at us!!

McFaddens incredible when he's actually fit, its almost never but every so often you'll look and he's fit enough to play, so you involve him and he'll set up a chance every few minutes or so from nothing. Wotherspoons pretty decent aswell.

I remember last seasons Wotherspoon was immense coming off the right wing for me. He got 10 goals and 20 assists in a season. I'm a little worried I'm gonna have to play Tan Scobbie this season. Dinnae want to have to do that, ohh and is Mannus still ridiculously underrated, I mean he was 3 stars last year he was rated lower than Samson IIRC.

Frazer Wrights still decent, and a better option than Scobbie. Durnans available for around £170k if you want to spunk your budget on him, McAuslands the one I was thinking about going after but decided against it due to the amount he'd have cost.

Wrights always so slow, so I hate playing him. Last year I had Ando and Mackay at CB for the first season with Miller at RB. Ahh well come Xmas I'm sure I'll figure it all out for myself. Anyway crack on I'll leave you to it, you're doing no bad.

October

Last month wasn't great, but we remain in the hunt for Europe and the top six. We have two home games against St Mirren and Kilmarnock, and one away game to Partick Thistle. All three sit below me, so Im really looking to get six points at the least from this, seven would be acceptable but secretly I want nine. If we get nine it'll be huge in our push for Europe.

Untitled75_zpsf8y5bd29.png

End of month Table

Untitled75_zpskfsn77bv.png

Two points from this month was a complete disaster, if we'd held the lead twice when we really should've we'd have been sitting joint second with Celtic and six points clear from seventh. As it is we somehow remain in the top six and in the hunt for Europe. Can't afford another awful month though.

Also Dundee United sacked Jackie McNamara and St Mirren have sacked Tommy Craig. No managers have been appointed yet.

Keep it up mate. I do enjoy a good Scottish FM story

Cheers, hopefully it lasts a while!

Mon 4 games in a row without a win (including a defeat to falkirk) your next couple of matches are must wins will you still do this thread if you leave st.johnstone

Yeah its turned pretty sour. Hopefully i can stay in the top six and not get sacked. And yeah, even if im sacked ill keep the thread going.

November

Last month was unforgivable, yet was far easier than this month. Home ties against Motherwell and Ross County will be tough, and an away game to Dundee will be difficult aswell. I need to get at six from this month, anything less will see my job in serious threat I reckon. Need to try and tighten up once we lead though.

We've also got a Scottish Cup tie this month, away to Annan Athletic, who sit 4th in League Two.

Untitled75_zpswfhbhaev.png

End of month Table

Untitled75_zpsycsy9ayu.png

A better month, picking up four points from three games, we also remain in the top six. Starting to be cut adrift from the top four but hopefully I can claw them back over the winter period, although I'm usually pretty poor around this time so I'll probably end up sacked!

On the managerial front Dundee United and St Mirren have hired new managers.

St Mirren hired the unemployed Tommy Wright, while Dundee United took Alan Archibald from Partick Thistle. Partick then went and hired the unemployed Derek Adams.

Bottom side Kilmarnock have sacked Allan Johnston, and Hearts manager Robbie Neilson is touted as the favourite for the job after expressing interest in the papers.