Tartan Army - Good Guys or Wanks?

Tartan Army  

254 members have voted

Simple question. Are your kilt-clad, beer swigging, doe-a-deer traditional 'tartan army' members good guys or wanks?

Do you look at them in Eastern European town squares and Soviet-era crumbling stadiums and beam with pride? Or do you think of them as sycophantic arseholes that think they're bigger than the national team and whose opinion is more important than anyone else because they happened to be in Tbilisi in '07 against Government advice?

Good guys.

You could go to a Scotland game abroad on your own and come back with 100 new pals. In my experience about 9 out of 10 are brand new. You get the odd arsehole but they are normally put in their place.

You often find it is mostly diddy team fans that go to the away games, probably because we don't get European adventures every season. You get OF fans too but I tend to find more Thistle, Accies, Motherwell, Accies, United, Aberdeen, Falkirk.

I don't like the flashing your arse at the locals but I've had people ( men and woman, some even mixed but Brussels is probably best left for another thread) come over and ask to see whats under the kilt ect even when I was 12/13. It's really odd.

I don't know if the Scots are the best fans in the world, I really like the Dutch. Also self praise is no praise.

The majority of Scotland fans are absolutely fine. However the ones that call themselves the "Tartan Army" tend to be a bunch of arseholes.

So "wanks" then.

I agree with what you said about the majority of Scotland fans though. The one away Scotland game I've been too I found a lot of the folk you meet away from the main square/meeting point were fine, but those who referred to themselves as the Tartan Army were generally acting like arseholes and using the "but we're the famous tartan army so it's awright" as some kind of excuse.

They cheer on the national team, so fine by me. If some of them want to adopt a superior attitude for whatever reason, then fine - they are only football supporters so it's no harm on me.

Create an atmosphere and make the Rangers fans seethe, good guys in my books

Most of them are Rangers and Celtic fans anyway,always has been always will be Glasgow is the real football capital of this nation any bhow

So "wanks" then.

I agree with what you said about the majority of Scotland fans though. The one away Scotland game I've been too I found a lot of the folk you meet away from the main square/meeting point were fine, but those who referred to themselves as the Tartan Army were generally acting like arseholes and using the "but we're the famous tartan army so it's awright" as some kind of excuse.

Its their attitude towards following the national team that makes them good guys in my book.

In the 70s and 80s the England away support generally tried to create as much mayhem as possible - revelling in their c**t-ish behaviour. Scottish away fans took the opposite stance and tried to make friends and earn respect.

I like that.

Edited to add that I'm very aware that Scottish football fans had been acting like knobs as well - it clearly wasn't just the Inngurrland brigade.

Edited by pandarilla

Guest honestrae95

I have no real opinion on them either way, but they do raise a decent amount for charity every year and very rarely get into any bother at all. Yes there are some wanks, but there are wanks in every support.

Overall, good guys (just).

Good guys.

You could go to a Scotland game abroad on your own and come back with 100 new pals. In my experience about 9 out of 10 are brand new. You get the odd arsehole but they are normally put in their place.

You often find it is mostly diddy team fans that go to the away games, probably because we don't get European adventures every season. You get OF fans too but I tend to find more Thistle, Accies, Motherwell, Accies, United, Aberdeen, Falkirk.

I don't like the flashing your arse at the locals but I've had people ( men and woman, some even mixed but Brussels is probably best left for another thread) come over and ask to see whats under the kilt ect even when I was 12/13. It's really odd.

I don't know if the Scots are the best fans in the world, I really like the Dutch. Also self praise is no praise.

I go on trips and everytime I go I always have a great laugh, everybodys pished and there are NO TROUBLEMAKERS. You do get the odd fud who can be annoying but you get that anywhere, whether in your work or at the fitba. Genuinely have such a great laugh on Scotland trips, everybody is there purely for having a laugh, drink and watching the team. Its great going upto the bar and waiting on yer pint and in the space of a few minutes becoming good pals with some random c**t from Peterhead or whatever.

Love Scotland trips and 99 percent of the people are good lads who are up for a laugh. If you are voting 'wanks' then youve no been to a Scotland game or you are a w**k yourself which is why you never enjoyed it. :whistle:P

Most of them are Rangers and Celtic fans anyway,always has been always will be Glasgow is the real football capital of this nation any bhow

Most Rangers fans I know and have spoke to hate the TA now, not denying they make up a big number of the TA though

As a Scotland fan who attends home and away matches regularly, I will always be positive in my appraisal. In any support, no matter how big or small, you'll find numpties. And although I've seen fans be act in an obnoxious manner by being loud and in your face, its been a very small number. For the numbers that travel, our support on the whole is excellent. I also find I bump into a lot of folk who support the 'diddies' but it doesn't really matter. The atmosphere is usually great and I love visiting a different city and meeting the people. In Germany before the game my group were chatting with a German family and the two youngsters had a great time singing and partying with the Scotland fans. That's what sums it up for me.

It doesn't matter who wears what or anything like that, it's about showing your hosts respect and on the whole Scotland fans do that. There's also the Tartan Army Children's Charity who pay visits to local kids charities to make donations in every city we play. Little things like that give Scotland fans the reputation that they have.