Gretna 2008 v Queen's Park 1867

Hampden Diehard

Important stuff first - Is the wee bar in the ground still open and, if it is, when and how can we get in? No problem with away fans being in there?

Looking forward to returning to a venue that we didn't do too well at when Gretna were in the League....although we will be having a minute's applause for the trombonist who "fell" at Gretna a few years back. Sorely missed.

We're looking better every week, so hopeful that this will be the start of a wee Cup run.

• Replies 127

Important stuff first - Is the wee bar in the ground still open and, if it is, when and how can we get in? No problem with away fans being in there?

Looking forward to returning to a venue that we didn't do too well at when Gretna were in the League....although we will be having a minute's applause for the trombonist who "fell" at Gretna a few years back. Sorely missed.

We're looking better every week, so hopeful that this will be the start of a wee Cup run.

The 'Wee Bar' is inside the ground, next to the main stand. You can't really miss it and you will all be more than welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you to Raydale in what will be the biggest game in our short history (unlike certain other recently formed clubs and to WTM chagrin, we make no claim to the history of the previous incumbents of our stadium).

Glad to here your getting better each week, it will give us a good game in the continuation of our cup run, ^_^

The 'Wee Bar' is inside the ground, next to the main stand. You can't really miss it and you will all be more than welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you to Raydale in what will be the biggest game in our short history (unlike certain other recently formed clubs and to WTM chagrin, we make no claim to the history of the previous incumbents of our stadium).

Glad to here your getting better each week, it will give us a good game in the continuation of our cup run, ^_^

From "Gretna2008"'s own website:

pic12.jpg

A picture of the Gretna strip during their season in the SPL. Location?

http://www.gretnafc2008.co.uk/art/pic12.jpg

Only the link to the club shop!

:whistle

Gretna 1946 = Gretna 2008 & nowt's ever going to change that. Said before, & will keep saying it, time the Anvils stopped trying to spare the sensitivities of the Teddys WIthout The Train Fare up the road, who remarkably stopped all their "you're not the same club" talk the second their big team went Gemma Atkinson up.

Spiders fans will understand, from all the years watching their old derby rivals the Hi His umpteen attempts at reformation (the current one looking the likeliest to succeed now Cathkin's no longer under the GCC morons' direct control).

Am going to this game as am oot of wife browny points for a massive overnighter at cove Rangers

Am looking forward to having a few pints with the gretna lads " Aldo and dave white, Scott Williamson

Nikki White and wee Tommy graham

Can't imagine why anyone would actually care about Gretna new & old - it's Gretna as far as almost everyone else in Scotland is concerned, I'd imagine. Life's too short to be too bothered about it.

Anyway, as long as we tan the erse off you, you're more than welcome to score a consolation goal.

Should continue all the way up to about ten to five on Saturday. Or is that 1650? :rolleyes:

Just going by the fact that you made hard work against Preston last year. You can't be that strong despite your improvement this year.

Just to say that we were delighted with the draw. A definite winnable tie for us.

The Spiders cannot go into many matches thinking they are going win. Perhaps, almost like last year, your downfall.

Just going by the fact that you made hard work against Preston last year. You can't be that strong despite your improvement this year. Just to say that we were delighted with the draw. A definite winnable tie for us. The Spiders cannot go into many matches thinking they are going win. Perhaps, almost like last year, your downfall.

Have to bear in mind that the side that beat Preston was one of the worst Queen's sides in history. Having said that, we've had enough losses and near misses against non league sides to take anything for granted and certainly won't be thinking that all we have to do is turn up. We've started to put together some results and we should win the game if we play to our potential. Looking forward to it.

Another quality draw for off the park social purposes (the third such tie in a row, got to love the Scottish Cup) and a decent one on the park too.

Queen's this year are a much improved outfit to the one that stank out the division last season. The fact we struggled to see off Preston at this stage last year should have little or no bearing on the game at all, Sean Burns the only player likely to feature on Saturday who played in the Pans last season.

No idea what to expect of Gretna of course but if we play to the standard we have set ourselves in recent weeks I fancy we'll have enough in the tank to win the match and progress.

The Spiders cannot go into many matches thinking they are going win. Perhaps, almost like last year, your downfall.

No, our downfall was we were rubbish. I didn't go into one match last season thinking we were definitely going to win.

Looking forward to returning to a venue that we didn't do too well at when Gretna were in the League....although we will be having a minute's applause for the trombonist who "fell" at Gretna a few years back.

.. celebrating a late ( and very rare ) Davie McCallum right foot winner. I also remember a 1-0 win when Stef Reilly scored a great header. Overall record down there is 2 wins, 2 draws, and 2 defeats so it's actually quite decent.

Depends how you set your standards......but your stats, as always, defeat my hazy memory of what I thought were a poorer set of results than is the fact. I honestly wouldn't have thought that we did so well. Too much bevvy probably.

Aye must be that. I hardly touch the stuff myself...

Your memory is probably clouded by the fact they totally pumped us on our last 2 visits but that was the season they romped the league with a squad of players far superior to that level

Aye must be that. I hardly touch the stuff myself...

Your memory is probably clouded by the fact they totally pumped us on our last 2 visits but that was the season they romped the league with a squad of players far superior to that level

I recall an admirable win at Hampden though just after Billy Stark had been appointed. Same year?

Aye. 3-2. Kettlewell volley to win it. Also 1-1 at the other home game - Ketts again with a header

http://gretnafc2008.blogspot.co.uk/

"The club is currently the only fully amateur club in the Scottish Professional Football League"

then

"One hundred and forty one year’s separate the two clubs with Queens Park, the oldest club side in Scotland having been formed in 1867. Since then the Hampden Park outfit, for long a bastion of amateurism in the game, have steadily slipped downwards and abandoned the amateur creed in 1998"
Make yer mind up
"They have continued to struggle this season"
No we haven't
"Although a league apart, this season’s Lowland League winners could be playing Queens Park for a place in Division 2"
Well, that's the team talk done

http://gretnafc2008.blogspot.co.uk/

"The club is currently the only fully amateur club in the Scottish Professional Football League"

then

"One hundred and forty one year’s separate the two clubs with Queens Park, the oldest club side in Scotland having been formed in 1867. Since then the Hampden Park outfit, for long a bastion of amateurism in the game, have steadily slipped downwards and abandoned the amateur creed in 1998"

Make yer mind up

"They have continued to struggle this season"

No we haven't

"Although a league apart, this season’s Lowland League winners could be playing Queens Park for a place in Division 2"

Well, that's the team talk done

I woulda been happy just beating them. Now I want them pumped.

Any QP fans on here who normally get on the QP bus in the city centre...there are weans and auld duffers running about the town tomorrow, and much as it might be great fun to steam right through them, we won't be picking up at High Street. Last pick up is at Hampden.