Match of the Day 23rd August

Grim O'Grady

Top of the table clash

Lowland League Champions vs The unbeaten Kilbies

Spartans are rightfully back on top of the pile just suffering slightly less goal difs than the Kilbies.

You've got to admire the way the Kilbies have started this season no defeats with no goals scored against them.

Well the clean sheet will come to an end after 3pm.

The brand new erected Grimbo TV Towers will be in use for the 1st time. Expect wicked footage.

I watched us in friendly over at Leith meadowbank pitch as we strolled out 7-2 winners.

Mikey Bruce bagged a brace (before 1/2 time) & I expect he'll bang in a few more (hopefully against Kilby) no doubt.

I don't need to say owt about our strike force, you all know how capable we are of scoring now, Errol banged in a few for fun on Tuesday night too. Big Willie Bremner is just getting better & better & no slouch when it comes to cracking them in.

I know Grinchy excels in the midfield but as a wingback he's out of this world with Hovie on the opposite flank, it must be a nightmare for the oppo's defenders?

Loco, Granrty & Moose will make mincemeat in midfield, even Beezer is starting to get stiuck in, I'm sure I counted 3 headers he won at Threave.

Swainy is looking for another clean sheet & I can see that being no problem, he might not have a lot to do but when called in to action what a stopper.

Jack Beacher showed some subliminal touches on Tuesday night & it won't be long before he's back to full fitness, just needs a few more matches under his belt.

This is going to be a cracker, get down to Ainslie Park.

& smile you'll be on candid camera.

Grimbo

Can't believe I beat ttb to this, but does a top of the table clash not have to involve the two teams at the top? ;-)

Goal difference can decide the league destination as it did in eos a few years ago. So it's actually a 1st v 3rd clash.....

Mon the kilby!

Can't believe I beat ttb to this, but does a top of the table clash not have to involve the two teams at the top? ;-)

Goal difference can decide the league destination as it did in eos a few years ago. So it's actually a 1st v 3rd clash.....

Mon the kilby!

When I start letting simple facts get in the way that's the time I hang up my pipe & slippers! :thumsup2

So if results go our way like after we win (by +2 goals) & e-City either draw or lose, then will you be happy, Surely Not?

Grimbo

I've jjust been round the Park to check out our new Grimbo TV Tower. Crikey it's higher than I had expected. The weather looks good from up there but it won't matter if it rains it's got a canopy cover.

I'm thinking about some new deckies though as it's awfy plain inside, any budding Colin & Justin's out there who can think of some suitable interior design?

I might be wearing a Man City shirt but I won't be doing a Balotelli bathroom display, actually, no no H+S would have me baws fae garters eh?

Rightio, send your grand designs to me & the best 1 wins a prize.

Grimbo

As much as I hate to say this but this thread should be re-named Ref of the day. Unbelievable decisions for both teams.but some particularly gauling ones from my point of view (which was very good, up in Grim Tower).

The good. 2 goals against the best defence in our league (scorer Loco) & a 3rd from Gazza that got chalked off.

The bad was an own goal & a 2nd goal after we'd had just had a goal disallowed.

The ugly was the injury to Herdy who looked solid & had won everything up to his injury.

Swainy saves a pen, he's looking awesome, ok I can hear you say but he let 2 in, aye only after we lost Herdy at right back, who was immense up to being badly injured,

The ref books Willie Bremner early doors for an innocuous shoulder barge, it could have been described almost namby-pamby in our day but oh no the ref is the master & he's taking Willie's number, 1st challenge & he's yellowed. Willie is a terrific player, I'd have give him motm he never stopped.

Kilby are a good team, I can't see many other teams banging 3 or 2 goals past them.

Sammy had to make some changes to our team & formation today & he got our lads to fight out a draw, when on another day/ref we could have had the 3 points secured. Swings & roundabouts, I'm sure that ref will be back to do other teams games.

Finishing off on a positive note, young Brad who came on when Herdy got injured was a wee diamond, let's hope he continues to develop & make it up the grade to the 1st team.

Grimbo

Grim. You mentioned the ref but the only thing you are mumping about is willie bremner getting a yellow card. PS the ref can give you a straight red in your first challenge if demmed bad enough. What else was that bad regarding the ref??

The score line does not in any way reflect how the game panned out. EK were by far the better team and particularly in second half played Spartans off the park with their impressive possession and passing game. Yes the ref had a few howlers , but over the piece , these evened themselves out, as is usually the case. To be fair the talk in the Clubhouse after the game was that EK deserved more than the draw and the missed chances, including the late penalty , were crucial. The feeling in the EK camp was one of genuine disappointment and that in itself speaks volumes. Great day out, usual warm welcome, good banter and just hope lad carried off is not out for long.

EK I never claimed the ref wasn't equally unusual in his decisions, that said the sending off of Donal for trying to get the ball back for the freekick the ref had awarded us was rather unfair wouldn't you agree? We were 2-1 down at the time & ended being a man down. He had not been on the field long either, so we lost a fresh pair of legs too.

You were better in midfield in 2nd 1/2 but I've no idea why Gazzza's fantastic goal got scratched, the lino gave it but the ref then went over to the lino & decided it wasn't a goal. Had Swainey not saved your penalty then it would have been game over but despite being acgoal & a man down we kept on battling & got our equalizer against the "better" side in the 2nd 1/2.

Oh & your deflected 1st goal Swainy was right in line wirh it until the deflecrion.

I still stand by the ref spoilt what could have been a potential game of the season.

But the thing that sticks most in my craw is we've both got to lput up with the bleating of Mr Bam, arrrgh. Now I come to think of it that ref did look somewhat familiar to our resident e-City urinalist poster?

Grimbo

As much as I hate to say this but this thread should be re-named Ref of the day. Unbelievable decisions for both teams.but some particularly gauling ones from my point of view (which was very good, up in Grim Tower).

The good. 2 goals against the best defence in our league (scorer Loco) & a 3rd from Gazza that got chalked off.

The bad was an own goal & a 2nd goal after we'd had just had a goal disallowed.

The ugly was the injury to Herdy who looked solid & had won everything up to his injury.

Swainy saves a pen, he's looking awesome, ok I can hear you say but he let 2 in, aye only after we lost Herdy at right back, who was immense up to being badly injured,

The ref books Willie Bremner early doors for an innocuous shoulder barge, it could have been described almost namby-pamby in our day but oh no the ref is the master & he's taking Willie's number, 1st challenge & he's yellowed. Willie is a terrific player, I'd have give him motm he never stopped.

Kilby are a good team, I can't see many other teams banging 3 or 2 goals past them.

Sammy had to make some changes to our team & formation today & he got our lads to fight out a draw, when on another day/ref we could have had the 3 points secured. Swings & roundabouts, I'm sure that ref will be back to do other teams games.

Finishing off on a positive note, young Brad who came on when Herdy got injured was a wee diamond, let's hope he continues to develop & make it up the grade to the 1st team.

Grimbo

Just remember Grimbo you've got the open top bus already booked ...

Check out this video on YouTube:

Thought Kilby were superb in the 2nd half, with a better attacking line you'd have won by a few. We had a few key players missing, mostly from midfield too which is why I think you had so much of the ball.

The ref was woeful though. he lost the plot. I've never seen a referee lose the head like he did. There were some ridiculous calls all through. The one which made us laugh the most was the Kilby keeper launching the ball down the field and out into the stand, and EK getting awarded the throw in. Flabbergastingly amateur stuff.

Agree sending off a bit harsh, but he just shoved over the player in full view of ref, not wise. Funnily the decision seemed to galvanise Spartans , due credit for pushing for equaliser, but if EK score a stonewall penalty ( ref did not see but lino did) game over at 3-1. Although not always decisive, the possession stats would show EK miles ahead and that bodes well for future. Last word, what goes around, comes around. Same fixture last season EK ground out a point in 0-0 draw, which in truth was more than was deserved. Yesterday other way round, see you at K Park for next instalment .

Thought Kilby were superb in the 2nd half, with a better attacking line you'd have won by a few. We had a few key players missing, mostly from midfield too which is why I think you had so much of the ball.

The ref was woeful though. he lost the plot. I've never seen a referee lose the head like he did. There were some ridiculous calls all through. The one which made us laugh the most was the Kilby keeper launching the ball down the field and out into the stand, and EK getting awarded the throw in. Flabbergastingly amateur stuff.

flabbergastingly you would think thats what linos were for :unsure2:

no refs = no game you lot used to be the 1st to point that oot :rolleyes: