23/8/14 ... Whitehill Welfare v Gretna 2008

Rab B Nesbit

Kick off 3pm

Ferguson Park

Admission £5/3

Programme £1

Got the makings of a cracker tomorrow between 2 teams who have made good starts. Both teams have won 3 in a row and Gretna have rattled in an impressive 11 goals in their last 2.

Both sides have been to Dalbeattie and drawn 2-2 and beaten Edinburgh University and BSC Glasgow at home. Gretna have played an extra game losing at home to East Kilbride on the opening day.

I'll jinx it by finishing with the fact WW have never lost at home to Gretna in the 6 games played ...

As always, I am looking forward to my day out in Rosewell. ( I bet that sentence hasn't been written too often).

I honestly think tomorrow will be our day. So thanks Rab for putting the jinx on Welfare.

On paper it looks like a draw but I think our rejuvenated forward line will severely test the Whitehill defence.

Doh!!! Now I have put the jinx on Gretna scoring.

Cracking game of football and also thought the draw was a fair result.

If Kerr Dodds hadn't blasted the bar from aboot 4 yards out after the keeper saved tosh s shot right after half time ww couldve put the game to bed.

2-0 wouldve been big ask for a never say die Gretna side who at times looked sharper and fitter.

gretna screaming at tosh for a 1st half dive in the box yet end up wi soft penalty to equalize and ww couldve/shouldve had last minute pen.

greetna manager sent from dug oot for chasing and harrassing linesman.

Some things never change wi that guy ?

Draw prob fair result as Gretna had abundance o chances especially 1st half.

disappointed to drop 2 points at home.

If Kerr Dodds hadn't blasted the bar from aboot 4 yards out after the keeper saved tosh s shot right after half time ww couldve put the game to bed. 2-0 wouldve been big ask for a never say die Gretna side who at times looked sharper and fitter.gretna screaming at tosh for a 1st half dive in the box yet end up wi soft penalty to equalize and ww couldve/shouldve had last minute pen.greetna manager sent from dug oot for chasing and harrassing linesman.Some things never change wi that guy ?Draw prob fair result as Gretna had abundance o chances especially 1st half.disappointed to drop 2 points at home.

Agree with you about the Dodds chance Newky big moment in the game. Wayne Sproule was also very unlucky hitting the post in injury time. As you say Gretna too had an abundance of chances in a game both sides were desperate to win.

The lad Iain Anderson has given Gretna even more up front and he's not just a goal scorer but an athlete too.

Very good crowd yesterday 148 I made it.

If Kerr Dodds hadn't blasted the bar from aboot 4 yards out after the keeper saved tosh s shot right after half time ww couldve put the game to bed. 2-0 wouldve been big ask for a never say die Gretna side who at times looked sharper and fitter.gretna screaming at tosh for a 1st half dive in the box yet end up wi soft penalty to equalize and ww couldve/shouldve had last minute pen.greetna manager sent from dug oot for chasing and harrassing linesman.Some things never change wi that guy ?Draw prob fair result as Gretna had abundance o chances especially 1st half.disappointed to drop 2 points at home.

"Chasing and harrassing the linesman" ????

Really??

Great game spoiled by 2 inept officials FOR BOTH TEAMS as per

was he in or oot technical area rocky :unsure2:

Only moved out when he was sent from the dugout.

Unlike Mickey when he was protesting about the penalty.

Both sets of dugouts were venting their anger at the officials. Your post implies that it was just coming from the Gretna side.

Selective vision Newky?

Only moved out when he was sent from the dugout.

Unlike Mickey when he was protesting about the penalty.

Both sets of dugouts were venting their anger at the officials. Your post implies that it was just coming from the Gretna side.

Selective vision Newky?

mickey was nae sent off though nor was he out area and on the pitch,plenty shouts from both dug oots i will agree :ph34r:

yer very quiet aboot yer penalty though.

and aye your very neutral towards your team every week right enough :rolleyes:

mickey was nae sent off though nor was he out area and on the pitch,plenty shouts from both dug oots i will agree :ph34r:

Oh yes he was I can assure you. However I am not saying that he should have been sent off for it. He seen an injustice and was protesting on behalf of his team. Its all part of the passion of the game.

Your post implies that Stuart took off and run up the touch line haranguing the linesman, which just did not happen. He had a word a couple of minutes later and whatever he said, the linesman must have took exception to.

yer very quiet aboot yer penalty though.

and aye your very neutral towards your team every week right enough :rolleyes:

And you are very quiet about why Stuart was having a go at the linesman. A clear holding back of Toddy as he was running through on goal which the officials missed.

Penalty was on the softish side I will admit. We got what you lot were shouting for in the first half in very similar circumstances. Swings and roundabouts and all that.

Oh yes he was I can assure you. However I am not saying that he should have been sent off for it. He seen an injustice and was protesting on behalf of his team. Its all part of the passion of the game. Your post implies that Stuart took off and run up the touch line haranguing the linesman, which just did not happen. He had a word a couple of minutes later and whatever he said, the linesman must have took exception to. And you are very quiet about why Stuart was having a go at the linesman. A clear holding back of Toddy as he was running through on goal which the officials missed. Penalty was on the softish side I will admit. We got what you lot were shouting for in the first half in very similar circumstances. Swings and roundabouts and all that.

awright he didn't take off and run up the touch line ?

Maybes the wee lino felt intimidated by the size o him :D

Thought we had bigger shout for a pen in last minute as you say swings n roundabouts.

I enjoyed yesterdays game, a good game of football, First half i felt we didn't perform to the best of our abilities even though we did miss several chances 3 of which seemed to flash past the far post and i didn't think it was going to be our day. With regards to the penalty i was right in front of it and thought it was a clear pen, people saying it was soft and he could have ridden the challenge? The guy put his leg out and didnt get the ball, johnny went over, it happens at every level of football and you rarely get anyone who would not go down. A draw was definately a fair result and certainly a good point for ourselves.

I thought also that the officials ruined the game a bit though. The female official on the far side seemed to have a decent game but the one on our side was a joke, was never up with play to make a big decision and if your being critical of gretna's pen i could be critical of whitehill's goal which was borderline offside imo but the lino was as usual behind play. In regards to Rome's sending off that summed up the officials day, Stuart chasing the lino up the line? Give me a break, he never left his technical area, all i saw was him asking the linesman and i quote "what the f**k was that" It was his reputation that got him sent off for me.