Montrose vs Annan

Any die hard Galabankies gan up to this?

Expecting a tough game with Montrose getting a great first day win. Surely this Annan team has to click sometime but the signs haven't been great.

Looks like Swinglehurst could miss the game and Watson's suspended so a but bare at the back. On the plus side could Mackay make a comeback? We'll see.

Am gan on a scouting mission abroad for a couple of full backs a center back twa mids and 3 forwards...that might sort us oot

Can`t see you finding any decent players in the bars of Kalamaki.

You could have saved youreself money and had a look in the Bars of Annan (The Shed, Bluebell, Comercial, Auberge)

Can`t see you finding any decent players in the bars of Kalamaki.

You could have saved youreself money and had a look in the Bars of Annan (The Shed, Bluebell, Comercial, Auberge)

More chance of finding them in Laganas tho

Yes very quiet and very nervous. It was the 2001/2 season since we last won our first two league games and as you know Annan are a bit of a bogey side especially at Links Park. Oddly I was reasonably confident today but dare not say so. I knew Annan were struggling and were likely to have both centre backs out and had injury problems up front but in recent seasons the Mo have lacked confidence so anything was possible. So in the end it was a very welcome 3 points as I'm sure Annan will come good before long.

Bring on the Smokies next week - not in a nasty way at all in fact good to see they've had a good start as well. A long time since the two played each other and were both unbeaten - probably the last time was when we played each other in thr very first game!

Decent enough first half, a non event of a second half. A very professional performance from Montrose- been a while since anyone has said that.

Montrose started the game at a good pace and within the first minute Gary Wood had forced a sprawling save from the Annan keeper, after being played through by a ball over the top of the Annan defence.

After that opening, the game was a bit cagey for 15-20 minutes. It was quite a midfield battle and Annan's keeper was the busier of the two, making stops from Gary Wood in particular, who was unlucky not to score today.

The opener came after great link up play saw Paul Harkins receive the ball on the left hand corner of the penalty box. Running across the Annan defence who stood off him, rather mystifiyingly, he created enough space for himself to fire a powerful right foot shot across the Annan keeper and into the bottom left hand corner. It was a good piece of strength and skill and Harkins had a lot of work to do to create the goal, but did it very well.

Seven minutes later it was 2-0 after a free kick was awarded on the edge of the Annan box and Paul Watson, my man of the match, looped a perfect free kick over the Annan wall and beyond the keeper's grasp, the ball again ending up in the bottom left hand corner.

There were a few chances for either side in the second half and Montrose probably should have had a couple more, only for a bit of bad luck to intervene at the decisive moment; Day and Deasley the unlucky players. Annan offered very, very little, and other than a shot from distance from their no. 8 straight at McKenzie, and a few hopeful punts into the box, they never really looked like scoring.

Montrose look sharp, fit and motivated and long may that continue. George Shields is having a great time getting it right up his many pre-season doubters in the home support, and it is great to be proven wrong so far. The team have a bit more confidence defensively, have a combative midfield and Wood put in a great, selfless shift today in the no. 9 shirt. Harkins, Day are nippy players and O'Neill slotted in seamlessly in place of the suspended McCord.

I know Annan have injury / suspension problems at present, but that's easily the poorest Annan side I've seen since they joined the league. The goalkeeper made a few decent stops, they had one or two tidy players in midfield, but all the bite and meance of a tootless chihuahua up front. Presumably it will be a different story when the missing players return, otherwise I would put money on Jim "my way or the highway" Chapman being given his jotters before too long.

Another confidence-building performance going into the derby next week for Montrose. Pleasing.

As Ivo says Annan were really poor today and after our second goal the game was over.

The only negative about our position in the league is that we've played two very poor teams and have yet to be tested. George Shields is successfully building a team but it is very much a job in progress. However, the players must be feeling good about the league wins and the supporters are aware of positive vibes from the player's efforts on the pitch.

Interesting to note that Smokie Chairman Christison was at the game (standing behind the goal at one point) rather than attend his team's game at wherever QP are playing this season.

Still can't believe the result. Reading Ivo,s comments it sounds like Shields might well be the manager we have long been looking for.

Feel sorry for any travelling Annan fans it's a long road to travel after a loss. Done it before fae Galabank.

Mon the Mo!

Enjoyable. Both the result and faith that GS could motivate and organise the lads. Well, so far.

Big game next week. If we can get a point or 3 out of it, its 7pts or 9pts on the board at a time when we usually have 1pt. That 6 points are so can make a huge difference in this league.

Alan Campbell injury serious?

Fair summing up already been done on here. First half was entertaining, second half was not.

O'Neill did look good today, but he was given an incredible amount of space to just run at players, especially in the first half. I lost count of how many times Scotty or Masson simply walked past the Annan number 2. He was slow.

A lot of good performances today, all over the park. For a fairly new-look back 4, I really felt we look very comfortable in possession of the ball and were able to play from the back with relative ease.

Very encouraging signs, yet we have played against 2 pretty awful sides, so I'm certainly not shouting about it yet. I'm pretty sure Ivo used to refer to todays opponents as Annan Agricultural...they were certainly that today - aimless high clearances and punts up the field to no-one at all or out of play.

Good point about the fact that we are already a good 4 or 5 points better off than we usually are at the beginning of the season. Would be genuinely happy with a draw away next weekend to keep up the unbeaten run. Including last season, we are 4 wins from 4 in the league...admittedly all against Annan and E.S.

Montrose fans quiet, how confident are they after their terrific start in the first game?

Aye the rose are all full of it now - shittin theirself before the game I bet.

"I know Annan have injury / suspension problems at present, but that's easily the poorest Annan side I've seen since they joined the league. Presumably it will be a different story when the missing players return" we'll be so lucky !

Best laugh of the day though has to be Jim Chapman losing the plot in the tunnel at half time at the injustice of Stuart McKenzie getting only a yellow card when it was a red all day long. The best question being how much of a bung have you been paid Barry to keep him on the field. FUD

As Ivo has said a professional performance and a welcome 3 points. Still worry we don't have an out & out striker however if the midfield keep creating things are looking up.

That didn't lose us the game but it could've made a massive impact

Sorry NO. Loosing a player would have made no difference to the game. Could - as in theoretically - is a possible. Could - as in how poor Annan were yesterday - Impossible. Mo could have played with 10 men and still walked yesterday's game. Even with positive spin (from Annan's point of view) the game was a dawdle for Mo.