Passionate Rock Song for Independence

Ashim

Greetings!

I'm brand new here and would like to introduce myself.

I'm a scottish musician who lives at the moment outside of the UK.

I was being asked a lot by the locals here (in germany) about my opinion on the referendum and was not really committed....until...

...that message by Mr. Bowie via Ms. Moss at the Brit Awards.

I have always loved Bowie and his music but was gutted to see him using his popularity to promote a political agenda.

Made me feel sick.

So, I wrote a song as a sort of reply to his "stay with us scotland" announcement.

Here it is. Hope you like it - if not there are plenty of others too.

Thank you.

Thats me convinced.

Usually a fan of your sarcy bass comments but give the guy a break he's went to the effort of writing a song and is sharing it here for people to see, no need! :lol:

Thanks for the song, Iron Sky by Paulo Nutini is about Indy, it's pretty good.

Better than Flower of Scotland. Can ye post the lyrics up Ashim?

Aye.

Been a long time in our history
Denied our freedom and our liberty
Gonna make a stand on that day
For self determination and sovereignty
This time, UK, we're gonna break it
I hope you can take it
Funny thing on the news today
Crying polititians because we won't stay
Ok, we say, we're gonna break it
I hope that we make it
Time to say goodbye to the rest of the UK
I hope we take it
Since...
Seventeen-o-seven-o
Seven-o
Seventeen-o-seven-o
In September on the eighteenth day
We decide if we go or stay
Bonnie Prince Charlie is coming out to play
Dissnae matter what Bowie says
Ok, UK, we're gonna take it
I hope that we break it
After 300 years of empire rule
Lets not forsake it
Seventeen-o-seven-o........................................................
I've loved you since I've known ya,
Free, free, free Caledonia.

Is it? When did Paulo say that?