Local Rivals

Loughal

In the East the rivalry between Bo'ness and Rose is as well known as the wests Cumnock v Talbot. But what are the other games between local neighbours that raise the hackels a bit.

Does any real hatred survive today, or at least a distinct dislike in those derby games.

W"hat are the main antagonists in Fife, Tayside and North region?

• Replies 56

Bonnyrigg v Newtongrange only a mile or so away fae each other but as far as I've seen no to the point where they want to kill each other,banter does me tbh

It's not really rivalry though is it? Star never finish above Bonnyrigg and rarely beat us. If you're using Nitten as a marker then you could say Arniston, Dalkeith & Penicuik are rivals too.

I know the banjos see it as really important, but it's more Hibs v Spartans than Hibs v Hearts.

Biggest games for me are Bonnyrigg v Lithgae and Bo'ness. The Bo'ness crowd are often as noisy as the Nitten one, but with more fingers.

Cambuslang Rangers v Rutherglen Glencairn is always a fixture that is looked forward to, and there is an extra wee bit of spice in it this year with four ex Cambuslang players now in the Glencairn squad, and an ex Glens player as co-manager of 'Lang.

There was a fair bit of bad feeling between the clubs a few years ago when Willie Patterson and Alan Wardlaw had a square up through the media, "lower than a snake's belly" was the phrase that sticks in my head, lol. But in recent years the clubs have had a good relationship, although we still love to beat each other.

'Lang won last year's derby match 3-0 at Rutherglen, ironically with Thomas "Deco" Kilmartin scoring twice, and Mark Bishop and Del Hewitt in the team, all of whom are now at Glencairn. There was no sign at that point last season of what was about to happen at Cambuslang, they looked like they were going to have a right good season when I saw them that night.

Our derby match at Somervell Park on 16th August will be an interesting match.

Cant beat the auld govan derby between the BENS v ST. ANTS ... There just magic

Is this derby got its old firm rivalry or is it just the close proximity of both teams,don't think in the East we have any of that,it's no slight on the rivalry,just asking.

Bathgate & Armadale usually has a bit of spice to the game. Decent banter between the 2 as well.

unfortunattly we have to get by with the kenny carruthers trophy these days with bathgate still in the premier ..see ya at the volley in a couple o weeks bathgate fiat127army ...lol ..get well soon

Wintons closest rivals are obviously saltcoas, but the team that gets ma hackles up that I really want to beat is the buffs. Bad winners, shite losers and constant references to when they were "great". See above. Hahahaha

What was the reason for the lower than a snakes belly comment

To be honest, I can't remember whether that was Patterson talking about Wardlaw or the other way around, it was a few years ago now. I just remember having a laugh with both of them about it because I'm friendly with both.

Wintons closest rivals are obviously saltcoas, but the team that gets ma hackles up that I really want to beat is the buffs. Bad winners, shite losers and constant references to when they were "great". See above. Hahahaha

think also with strain snr squaring up to strain jnr in the dugouts this season's ardagh cup tie could be spicier than a vindaloo fae the spicy hut.

the 3 towns derbies are somewhat friendly these days with folk like ricky ryland at saltcoats and cookie at ardeer, all good people, would say in this area the only grudge matches involve kilwinning