Selkirk Turning Full-Time

HibeeJibee

• Replies 46

Very interesting hj,

I did kinda hint there was developments happening on the 1st transfers page. ;)

They're paying modern apprentices to support them????

Ha ha. Very good. No, the government pay the Modern Apprentices to play the football. So they don't need a crowd, although I hope more people do go. I am torn between the very wonderful Greenlaw FC who are the Selkirk FC of the Border Amateur League (except that they win things!) and Selkirk in terms of who to go and see.

My good lady's sister lives in the Borders and I've been to see Hawick, where the facilities were nearly as bad as the crowd. I'm told Selkirk are much the same. Still, it will be another ground to visit next season.

Whoever told you that Selkirk is like Hawick has not been to Selkirk for a few years. It's an excellent wee ground. Friendly hospitality, excellent soup too!

My good lady's sister lives in the Borders and I've been to see Hawick, where the facilities were nearly as bad as the crowd. I'm told Selkirk are much the same. Still, it will be another ground to visit next season.

There's a pub at the back of the stand FFS, what more do you want moon-on-a-stick boy;

"a massive pristine convenience. Brilliant gold taps, virginal white marble, a seat carved from ebony, a cistern full of Chanel no.5, and a flunky handing me pieces of raw silk toilet roll" perhaps?!

Hawick's a pwopa doon tae earth non league ground ya stuck up cunto. You can get a pint and a piss, what more do you want ?

Well done te Selkirk for this, can't knock a club for trying to better themselves.

I was an apprentice back in 1979 & I used to go to watch Man City, we were the Selkirk of our time, couldn't win f**k all.

Good luck to Selly may you do a City & rise like lions.

Great soup & City connections.

Grimbo

There's a pub at the back of the stand FFS, what more do you want moon-on-a-stick boy;

"a massive pristine convenience. Brilliant gold taps, virginal white marble, a seat carved from ebony, a cistern full of Chanel no.5, and a flunky handing me pieces of raw silk toilet roll" perhaps?!

Great rant pal.

What's wrong with expecting clubs to provide BASIC facilities if they want my money at the gate?

You'll get perfectly good facilities at Selkirk - they have to be to have a licence. Park in a car park; pay at a turnstile; take your seat in the little grandstand or if you prefer use the 'safe-standing' style terrace, or lean on the pitchside railing; visit the toilets in the pavilion; perhaps buy a drink, snack or pie in the cafe.

Hawick's a lot shabbier and needs a good 'spruce-up', but there's still turnstiles, a large bench-seated stand, toilets, and a substantial cafebar.

Great rant pal.

What's wrong with expecting clubs to provide BASIC facilities if they want my money at the gate?

Tam has a point.

Exactly why was Hawick not value for money? I'll be intrigued to know. As far as I'm concerned the facilities are a lot better than the majority of similar clubs that charge a fiver (??).

Clever plan and love their initiative .

However , this is extremely unlikely to win them anything in the near future . Hibs under 20's last year were good but wouldn't win the lowland league . I doubt Selkirk could produce the same talent.

But it's the building blocks to bigger and better things . So deserve credit .

Quite interesting.

So how much of the wages will they be paying if any? And where are the getting the money from to pay it?

Also, do they have a link up with one management company for these French players?

Tam has a point.

Exactly why was Hawick not value for money? I'll be intrigued to know. As far as I'm concerned the facilities are a lot better than the majority of similar clubs that charge a fiver (??).

I was comparing it with other junior clubs and I thought it was well down the list for facilities, although there are worse. The support was very small in number too, so I was questioning why/how they can aim for "full-time" players.