The Hibernian FC European Tour 2013

Lyle Lanley

A nice wee trip to somewhere like Poland, Cyprus or Austria would be class.

If we win the Scottish Cup. We will enter the 3rd round.

If we finish as Runners Up. We will enter the 2nd Round

• Replies 1.1k

As I said yesterday before the forum went tits up, it is indeed ridiculous that Hibs could potentially finish 11th and runners-up in the Scottish Cup final, yet they will be representing Scotland in the Europa League next season. Hopefully Hibs don't take another pasting from the likes of Dnipro and Maribor.

Out of interest, will a Europa League place be given to Wigan if they finish runners-up in the FA Cup final and Manchester City (as expected) finish in a Champions League spot? Or will it be reallocated to the EPL?

Was gutted I couldn't make it out to Maribor last time round so glad to have the chance of going to a European away game so soon :)

As I said yesterday before the forum went tits up, it is indeed ridiculous that Hibs could potentially finish 11th and runners-up in the Scottish Cup final, yet they will be representing Scotland in the Europa League next season. Hopefully Hibs don't take another pasting from the likes of Dnipro and Maribor.

Out of interest, will a Europa League place be given to Wigan if they finish runners-up in the FA Cup final and Manchester City (as expected) finish in a Champions League spot? Or will it be reallocated to the EPL?

Pretty sure they will. Should Man City only finish in a Europa League place (unlikely) then they wouldn't.

Wigan go into Europe

Interesting. So is that rule down to FIFA or each football association? I think the European place should only be given to a team if they win the cup, otherwise it should be relocated to the league or even the League Cup winners.

I think it's a UEFA Rule. The SFA will have said at the start of the season that one team will qualify via the Scottish Cup, if it happens to be a losing finalist then tough. I'm sure the SFA looked at changing it a few years ago after Gretna got in but were turned down by UEFA.

Hibs 2nd and going for Europe?

Na, thought not.

lolzer

:lol: :lol: :lol:mind when yous were talking about getting into Europe and laughing off suggestions that we would finish above you

I'm confident falkirk will do the business so you can kiss Europe goodbye 8)

n4fda79a2cd7ec.gif

The only thing 'European' jambos will be keeping an eye on is the Central Bank.

19724p.gif

19724p.gif

I think it's a UEFA Rule.

It is indeed a UEFA rule.

http://www.uefa.com/MultimediaFiles/Download/Regulations/competitions/Regulations/01/80/06/31/1800631_DOWNLOAD.pdf

Europa Cup rule 2.04 - runner-up qualifies if the Cup winner qualifies for the Champions League (or is otherwise banned from entry).

Cup Winner always starts at the highest (latest) stage allocated to that country.

Cup Runner-Up always starts at the lowest (earliest) stage allocated to that country, with the consequence that the other Europa entrants via the League each bump up by one.

Scottish starting rounds for the 2013/14 Europa are :

2nd Qualifying Round : SPL runners-up and 3rd.

3rd Qualifying Round : Cup Winners (Hibs if they win).

or

2nd Qualifying Round : Cup Runners-Up (Hibs if they lose) and SPL 3rd

3rd Qualifying Round : SPL runners-up.

Q2L1 matchday is Thursday 18th July

Q2L2 matchday is Thursday 25th July

the draw for Q2 (and Q1) will take place on Monday 24th June.

Q1L2 is Thursday 11th July, so if you get an either/or in the Q2 draw, you get just a week's notice of who your opponents are.

Q3L1 matchday is Thursday 1st August.

Q3L2 matchday is Thursday 8th August

the draw for Q3 is Friday 19th July. That's after Q2L1, but before Q2L2, so again if you get an either/or you get just a week's notice.

The Q4 draw is Friday 9th August, for matches to be played Thursday 22nd & 29th August.

The draw on Friday 30th August is for the Groups Stage.

The six matchdays will be Thursdays 19th Sept, 3rd Oct, 24th Oct, 7th Nov, 28th Nov and 12th Dec.

I don't think there's much point me listing dates beyond that !

Allocating one of a country's Europa places to the winner of the second domestic cup is at the discretion of each country's FA, and only if UEFA has OKed it.

Currently only England and France do this.

That can't drop to the runner-up. If the winner doesn't use it, it reverts to via-the-league.

There are also three additional places via the UEFA Respect Fair Play rankings.

At the most-recent interim calculation of that table, those three would be Norway, Sweden and Finland.

Scotland is unlikely to overtake any of those three when the final table (up to 30th April) is calculated.

anyone got a list of the teams who went into the 2nd round last year, be interested in seeing the calibre of sides. Ideally I'd like a winnable (LoI/LoW etc) tie followed by a trip somewhere like Poland/Germany - this, of course, assuming that we want beat the unwashed in May

Never thought I'd see a Hibs Euro tour thread on this for many a year but fair play to them, they may be one of the poorest teams in the league but they have done well to reach the final!

Hope you's get a good trip! :)

Never thought I'd see a Hibs Euro tour thread on this for many a year but fair play to them, they may be one of the poorest teams in the league but they have done well to reach the final!

Hope you's get a good trip! :)

I love how bitter you are towards Hibs, we're so bad that we've beaten St Johnstone twice. I'd prefer to have our squad than the St Johnstone squad tbh.

anyone got a list of the teams who went into the 2nd round last year, be interested in seeing the calibre of sides. Ideally I'd like a winnable (LoI/LoW etc) tie followed by a trip somewhere like Poland/Germany - this, of course, assuming that we want beat the unwashed in May

HERE

I love how bitter you are towards Hibs, we're so bad that we've beaten St Johnstone twice. I'd prefer to have our squad than the St Johnstone squad tbh.

:lol: :lol:.

Aye that's why they're top 6 and we're bottom 6. What a weird thing to say.

You dinnae half talk some shyte.

:lol: :lol:.

Aye that's why they're top 6 and we're bottom 6. What a weird thing to say.

You dinnae half talk some shyte.

From the person who has only been to two home games this season, I couldn't care less.

Hibs and St Johnstone combined best team

Williams

Mackay

Wright

Anderson

McGivern

Harris

Claros

Thomson

Davidson

Craig

Griffiths

6 Hibs players, 5 St Johnstone players

Would you say Ross County have a better squad than us? They took a player from us who wasn't even making the bench and he's been one of their best players.