Utopia

DA Baracus

Anyone catch this on C4 last night? It's a six part series with some strange storyline about a conspiracy that involves an old comic called Utopia. Some fans of it were part of an internet chat room dedicated to it and arranged to meet another member who had a sequel to it, which no one knew about and supposedly has some secrets hidden within that a shady organisation are after.

There's a government guy caught up in it too (Jamie from The Thick Of It) who was blackmailed to make the his department (of health) buy loads of vaccines that were different from the ones they were going to originally buy. You'll have to watch the thing to see why this is relevant.

First episode was really good. Good cast as well. I'm sure you'll recognise a lot of them. There was a graphic torture scene where a guy had chilis, then sand, then bleach rubbed into his eyes, before one of his eyes was taken out with a spoon. Stingy.

• Replies 85

Thought it was pretty good, will be watching next week.

The eye torture bit was a bit mental so was the bit when he put the ice pick/screwdriver in the police kiddies (tyres from spaced) throat.

Guessing it will only be hour long episodes from now on?

Aye he's the one who had the different 'voices' for buying bleach from the same shop and who disguised his beard by putting his hands over his face

:lol: Class.

Love Neil Maskell as well. Was amazing in Kill List. As was the policeman who he plugged in the throat in Utopia!

Just finished watching it. Fucking brilliant stuff. Some big revelations and some good developments.

Is Becky part of The Network then? Or is she working for a party that we dont yet know about?

I fucking hate Grant. He's a tinky wee ned who needs an absolute kicking. I disliked him from the start, but really loathed him when he started crying out to the killer from the toilet.

The sound when the politician guy (I forget his name) cut the finger was both glorious and hideous.

Also I'm rarely shocked by TV, but the way the other guy told the politician that his wife would be raped was definitely a shocking moment. I think it was just the cold, casual way he said it, and the utter certainty behind it.

As an aside, I saw an advert for a new series of Black Mirror. Good stuff.