Dundee v County Guaranteed draw? Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Spain 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Ross County
Both us and Dundee seem to be drawing all the time lately, is another one on the cards this weekend?

Adams was going to field our strongest available XI tonight, so hopefully he will do the same again on Saturday.

Fraser

Miller Boyd Munro Morrison

Brittain Kettlewell Lawson Vigurs

Gardyne

McMenamin

"I like my women like I like my coffee... covered in bees!"

User is online   Sherrif John Bunnell 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:Spain
I would be very happy with a point on Saturday. Hopefully Queens can get a point in Grangemouth and help us out a bit.
“I ain’t giving you no tree fiddy you goddamn Loch Ness monster! Get your own goddamn money!”

User is offline   The Master 

• My name...is The Master
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Dundee
Colin McMenamin will score <_<

A draw does us no favours. We need to win this or it's definitely, 100% over.

View PostHibeeJibee, on 03 December 2010 - 14:20, said:

We need summer football and a sectional League Cup, no doubt, but we also need an 18-team SPL...

TheMaster@ThePub:~$ sudo apt-get install beer

User is offline   mattydfc 

• Pelecan
Simply cannot wait.

Zeus, on 20 February 2012 - 19:03, said:

Leave me alone you creepy little pervert

User is offline   kerrdee1893 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
I predict an unfair, last minute minute own goal which gives Dundee all 3 points and once again gets our hopes up that we are 'still in this'
All until the week after where we draw 0-0 and accept we're in this shitey division one more year. Until the week after of course, when another dodgy win gives us glimmers of hope Posted Image
Dunno if I'd rather keep this cycle going or just start losing now Posted Image

This post has been edited by kerrdee1893: 21 February 2012 - 23:44

He's got sh**e hair but we don't care - Matty Lockwood

User is offline   Dalkeith Dee 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Will be interesting to see how County approach this, as a draw would be a perfectly decent result for them. You'd have to say a draw is 99.99999999999% certain. We'll only win if Riley plays, and even then it's very unlikely.

Can't wait though.

User is offline   DundeeFC92 

• Third Division Signing Target
I thought if we didn't manage to win tonight that would be the season over, however after a point and County's postponed game I think if we can beat them on Saturday we might still be in with a chance. I don't know why Riley didn't feature in the squad tonight, especially after playing the last 15 of the Queens game, if he plays I'll be confident of a win. It would be good to have Quashie available for this as well even if he starts on the bench. I'd also expect Finnigan to start after his goal tonight.
Dundee FC Squad, 2012/13: Goalkeepers: Rab Douglas. Defenders: Neil McGregor, Kyle Benedictus. Midfielders: Nicky Riley, Stephen O'Donnell, Ryan Conroy, Kevin McBride, Jamie McCluskey, Jamie Reid, Graham Webster. Forwards: John Baird, Steven Milne, Leighton McIntosh.

• Pelecan
Pints before and after this match. Oh yeahhhh

User is offline   forkboy 

• Third Division Sub
  • Gamertag:forkboy84

View PostDalkeith Dee, on 21 February 2012 - 23:56, said:

Will be interesting to see how County approach this, as a draw would be a perfectly decent result for them.

I sort of disagree. I mean if we don't start winning soon we're going to go the rest of the season undefeated & still manage to finish in 2nd place. The games in-hand are rapidly racking up, the lead is dwindling, and I think we need a win to put the wind back in our sails.

That means playing our first XI, even if Adams has thrown a hissy fit because Gardyne is leaving in the summer.

User is offline   Spain 

• First Division Regular

View Postforkboy, on 22 February 2012 - 01:36, said:

I sort of disagree. I mean if we don't start winning soon we're going to go the rest of the season undefeated & still manage to finish in 2nd place. The games in-hand are rapidly racking up, the lead is dwindling, and I think we need a win to put the wind back in our sails.

That means playing our first XI, even if Adams has thrown a hissy fit because Gardyne is leaving in the summer.

That's not exactly what happened though is it?

We could do with a win here, but a draw isn't the end of the world. We do have to play Dundee again up at Dingwall too. Defeat for them would all but put them out of the race for the title.

[statistics hat]

If we win on Saturday, Dundee (provided they win all their remaining games) could only achieve 70 points for the season at best.

I maintain that 70 points would be enough to win the league.

For us to achieve 70 we curently only need to: W9, D1, L5 or W8, D4, L3 or W7, D7, L1 or better.

In other words, we could afford to drop 17 out of our remaining 45 points available, whereas Dundee need the win on Saturday.

[/statistics hat]

Edit: In fact, going by recent form spreads, 70 points would be MORE than enough to win the league.

This post has been edited by Spain: 22 February 2012 - 08:19

"I like my women like I like my coffee... covered in bees!"

User is offline   Bigmouth Strikes Again 

• International Playboy.
Win or bust.8)

View PostSkyline Drifter, on 15 March 2012 - 23:02, said:

If I did take a trombone. And farted through it. The noise it would make would still be preferable to everything you have posted. Ever.

User is offline   dundeebarry 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
Dundee need to win this, and preferably in as violent a fashion as possible. We need to break County's spirit. The ideal situation is that we win all three points and leave the bold Highlanders crawling out of Dens bleeding and crying like the victim of a sexual assault.

The home fans can play their part by hurling bricks at County's team bus before and after the game. I plan on meeting the team bus as soon as it enters the city. Nothing strikes fear into a football team like the sight of a half-naked, sabre-wielding man daubed in neon paint hanging out the sunroof of a modified and quite battle-ready Ford Mondeo. The last time I pulled up alongside a bus in such a fashion Metallica's bass player ended up dead. RIP Cliff Burton.
KEN AYE.

• Golden Shoe Candidate

View PostBigmouth Strikes Again, on 22 February 2012 - 09:28, said:

Win or bust.8)

Good to hear a wee bit of positivity from you, Biggie. I thought you'd abandoned all hope.

Fancy driving a modified and quite battle-ready Ford Mondeo for me at the weekend?
KEN AYE.

User is offline   Loki 

• Mathemagician
  • Gamertag:GCarlos9
This should be a good game, looking forward to it. Where are the best pubs to go pre match, as I always seem to end up in the pub that time forgot - The Troll Inn. A decent boozer if you like your pubs weird.
You will retire me, but Iniesta will retire us both.

• Golden Shoe Candidate

View PostLoki, on 22 February 2012 - 10:07, said:

Where are the best pubs to go pre match

Frews is where it's at, Loki. Top of Dens Road on the corner. Good pints and a friendly atmosphere, plus there's a couple of screens for watching whichever match is on at lunchtime. They even do pies behind the bar. 8)
KEN AYE.

User is offline   Bigmouth Strikes Again 

• International Playboy.

View Postdundeebarry, on 22 February 2012 - 09:34, said:

Good to hear a wee bit of positivity from you, Biggie. I thought you'd abandoned all hope.

Fancy driving a modified and quite battle-ready Ford Mondeo for me at the weekend?

I've got the calf skin driving gloves soaking in formaldehyde ready to go.

View PostSkyline Drifter, on 15 March 2012 - 23:02, said:

If I did take a trombone. And farted through it. The noise it would make would still be preferable to everything you have posted. Ever.

User is offline   staggy4life 

• Highland League Reserve
We normally just have a couple drinks on the train. Hit some place in the city centre and then get a taxi about 2.30pm to the ground. We went to the Centenary Bar on Clepington Road once, before we played Dundee United which is about a 5minute walk away. I'd call it a dodgy pub in any other place than Dundee.
Hello down there!

User is offline   DensDerry80 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
Will be in tears if we dont win this one ;)

also i doubt county fans would be unwelcome in any pubs, but avoid the shakey and the bowbridge these 2 pubs house the extras form the walking dead!!!

Dundee United are Shite.

User is offline   forkboy 

• Third Division Sub
  • Gamertag:forkboy84

View PostSpain, on 22 February 2012 - 08:16, said:

That's not exactly what happened though is it?

I have no idea what happened. I just found it oddly coincidental that Gardyne agrees to move in the summer & suddenly he's out of the team. And considering our manager has shown previous concerns when it comes to his man management skills (punching HIggins comes to mind here), I think it's not entirely unreasonable to jump to conclusions.

• Pelecan
Pubs to avoid are pretty much any on the right side of the Hilltown if you're walking up. All shiteholes. Once you get past the Hilltown clock, The Barrels and any other past that are generally all decent. High Corner is an all right pub, but it's pretty quiet. Lastly, the Centenary is just a depressing pub.

I would say that The Barrels could be a bit dodgy actually because that's where all the pretend casual all go. True story.

This post has been edited by mattydfc: 22 February 2012 - 13:59

User is offline   LiamDFC 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:Germany
This is the match we've been waiting for.

Derek Adams, international man of misery, will have his furiously dreech expression elevated to a mediocre grimace if his side can fashion a draw, but would Barry be as happy?

I doubt it.

• Pelecan
btw any County fans in the mood for a physical fight, mon then?

User is offline   Fifespud 

• International Regular
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands

View Postdundeebarry, on 22 February 2012 - 09:34, said:

What you need is a large bedraggles caravan parked at the side of the A90 looking like its broken down, with a couple of sheep tethered to the back.
The Ross County team, experts in all things mobile home related will be unable to resist stopping to help out.
As they leave the bus you quickly herd the sheep inside the caravan. The thought of a few sheep inside a caravan will be too much for the highlanders, they'll be fighting each other to get a bit of ruminant flange.
Once they're all inside you lock the door but quite frankly that's hardly necessary as a couple of sheep will keep those lads busy for hours.

End result Dundee win by a walkover and a 25 point penalty deduction give to the Staggies for non fulfilment of fixtures.

Easy peasy.

Dundee FC - We've Survived Another Year - Let's Celebrate.

User is offline   yoda 

• Fan Of Long Ball Football
  • Euro 2012:Denmark
I'm looking forward to this one. A win is a must for County IMO. It would hopefully kill off Dundee's title aspirations, and keeps Falkirk at arm's length (a really short arm mind, like a T. Rex). It would be great if County could bring 300+ down to this one and get right behind the team. I imagine Adams will go with the strongest XI available, and that should hopefully mean County can win the midfield battle, because I can't imagine Chisholm is fit to clean Rae's boots.

Things I hope happen:

• Ross County tell Dundee that there will be more than 500 away fans attending the game, thus forcing Dundee to open the stand behind the goal.
  • County humiliate Dundee, crushing the hopes and dreams of all Dundee fans this season.
  • Steven Milne misses several sitters.
  • Rab Douglas cocks up for Ross County's fourth, fifth and sixth goals of the afternoon.
  • Colin McMenamin bags a hat-trick.
  • Michael Gardyne skins half the Dundee team before nutmegging Douglas. He then runs over to the Derry and whips out a Dundee United top in celebration.
  • Paul Lawson bursts the net with a 40 yard screamer.
  • Derek Adams goes to shake Barry Smith's hand at the end of the game with one of those electric shock handshake toys.

View PostBigmouth Strikes Again, on 25 February 2012 - 21:02, said:

Ross County.....clogging their way to victory....2012.

• Golden Shoe Candidate

View PostFifespud, on 22 February 2012 - 14:14, said:

What you need is a large bedraggles caravan parked at the side of the A90 looking like its broken down, with a couple of sheep tethered to the back.
The Ross County team, experts in all things mobile home related will be unable to resist stopping to help out.

I'll consult my driver about the towing capabilities of the modified and quite battle-ready Ford Mondeo we'll be leading the assault from. Solid reasoning though, Spuddie.

View Postyoda, on 22 February 2012 - 15:19, said:

Things I hope happen:
  • County humiliate Dundee, crushing the hopes and dreams of all Dundee fans this season.
  • Derek Adams goes to shake Barry Smith's hand at the end of the game with one of those electric shock handshake toys.

These two might actually happen. If County win the gemme is officially up the poley for another year, and notorious clown school graduate Derek Adams is known for his japery. Mind that time he hired a seal as an assistant, Yoda? The sea mammal c**t was sitting on the dugout balancing a beachball on his nose like a fucking champ. I for one was in tears when Eddie Malone clubbed it to death.
KEN AYE.

• (9 Pages) +
  • Last »