PYRAMID COMPARISONS SFA and SNP right at the bottom Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   scotchanwry 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
Some `pyramid` watchers may be interested in stats from FIFA, particularly, cup competition and how comparable countries organises access (pyramid). It is abundantly clear why SFA is not a genuine organiser of football ... something they didn`t even bother about until Andy Roxburgh (c.1990) said " kids are not playing in the street ". Virtually every other country in Europe was organised, or changed, to cater for modern social trends and lower youth populations .... bar SFA... which is why they are now bottom of the organisational ladder. In this position ... to propose the extremely low standards that Stewart Regan has, merely identifies him as NOT the guy to take SFA forward. .. and SNP as NOT the government ... sorry the site does not cope welll with simple printed stats.

Country Top Div level 2 level 3 level 4 cup all-in
Austria 10 - 10 - 3 x 16 - 9 x 16 - 64
Switzerland 10 - 16 - 3 x 16 - 6 x 14 - 64
Sweden 16 - 16 - 2 x 14 - 6 x 12 - 32
Norway 16 - 16 - 4 x 14 - 12 x 14 - 128
Portugal 16 - 16 - 3 x 16 - 8 x 12 - 64
Denmark 12 - 14 - 2 x 16 - 3 x 14 - 60 (4 bye)
Czech Rep 16 - 16 - 2 x 16 - 5 x 16 - 64
Hungary 16 - 2 x 16 - 6 x 16 - ..... - 60 (4 bye)
Belgium 16 - 18 - 2 x 18 - 9 x 16 - 32 (r6)
Holland 18 - 18 - 6 x 14 - 11 x 14 - 64
Croatia 16 - 15 - 4 x 18 - .... - 32
Slovakia 12 - 12 - 2 x 16 - ..... - 32
Slovenia 10 - 10 - 2 x 14 - .... - 26 (6 bye)
Bulgaria 16 - 2 x 10 - 4 x 18 - .... - 32
----------------------------------------- ------------------------------------------
Scotland 12 - 10 - 10 - 10 - 32

This post has been edited by scotchanwry: 09 February 2012 - 14:30

User is offline   WaffenThinMint 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Other
Yibble, yibble, I'm a teapot, I'm a teapot!
Posted Image

User is online   drs 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Camelon Juniors
  • Gamertag:Dont watch that, watch this!
Kids aint coming through because the SPL clubs dont come into the Scottish Cup a round earlier :lol:

What a pile of shite, you've outdone yourself this time.
P&B Dead Pool Winner 2008,2009&2011. Third Place in 2010 -
Beware the curse of drs in 2012!

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postdrs, on 09 February 2012 - 15:04, said:

Kids aint coming through because the SPL clubs dont come into the Scottish Cup a round earlier :lol:

What a pile of shite, you've outdone yourself this time.

Seems like you aren`t intelligent enough to absorb the impact of the stats .... and I certainly didn`t mention anything about kids and SPL .... but since you brought it up, it is clear that much wider competitions and better club systems do maintain the level of talent production and skills. If you can find your reading glasses ... or even the right forum ... you may notice that the big fall off in support and supply from JUNIOR CLUBS is our biggest problem and one that has to be solved if Scotland is ever to recover productive capacity
in a much wider competitive system. But, we all know Junior clubs don`t give a SHIT about that ... and are only interested in themselves.

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostWaffenThinMint, on 09 February 2012 - 14:49, said:

Yibble, yibble, I'm a teapot, I'm a teapot!

I can see from the number of posts you have made that you are probably an armchair ... and have never actually seen a ball.

User is offline   Hampden Diehard 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Queen's Park
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:Games are for daft wee boys
I can't see how a pyramid would make the slightest difference in developing youth football in Scotland. Clubs have scouts who go out and decent players are picked up; and that's exactly the same that would happen if we had a pyramid system. There are a hunded reasons why we don't produce decent young kids anymore (little or no fitba in schools, the breakdown of organised football in the BB and youth clubs, kids signed with pro teams who are not allowed to play with their schools, no reserve league in the SPL, bloody computer games, kids preferring to get blitzed on Bucky down the park instead of playing the game etc etc etc). This pyramid system which is talked of in such gushing tones here and by some media types won't make any difference, whether it's a good idea or not.

Small clubs don't generally see themselves as being there to produce players for bigger clubs. They want to be successful in their own leagues. And why not; perfectly understandable. If they benefitted financially from producing kids that went on, then they might take more of an interest in moving their guys up fitba's evolutionary ladder.

An example. I worked with a guy who was involved in running a juvenile side in Cambuslang / Rutherglen. He recommended one of his players as he rated QP as a coaching outfit and I said that I'd tell them about the boy. They went to see him and wanted him up at Hampden for a trial. He was up for it, but his club weren't. For weeks afterwards, one of the coaches at the juvenile club would go to the guy's house every training night to give him a lift to whatever dogshit-covered place they trained on just to make sure that he didn't go to Hampden for training. The guy didn't want to fall out with the juvenile club, so that was that.

OK, that's taking things off at a tangent, but this is probably fairly representative (if a bit extreme) of many smaller clubs. How a pyramid will make any difference, I remain to be convinced.

This post has been edited by Hampden Diehard: 10 February 2012 - 12:57

QUEEN'S PARK U.S.M.
Unstoppable Soccer Machine

User is online   drs 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postscotchanwry, on 10 February 2012 - 11:11, said:

Seems like you aren`t intelligent enough to absorb the impact of the stats

I've got an Honours degree in Stats, just so you know. But if you want to get your rocks off by casting some stones then feel free.

User is online   drs 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postscotchanwry, on 09 February 2012 - 14:19, said:

Some `pyramid` watchers may be interested in stats from FIFA, particularly, cup competition and how comparable countries organises access (pyramid). It is abundantly clear why SFA is not a genuine organiser of football ... something they didn`t even bother about until Andy Roxburgh (c.1990) said " kids are not playing in the street ". Virtually every other country in Europe was organised, or changed, to cater for modern social trends and lower youth populations .... bar SFA... which is why they are now bottom of the organisational ladder. In this position ... to propose the extremely low standards that Stewart Regan has, merely identifies him as NOT the guy to take SFA forward. .. and SNP as NOT the government ... sorry the site does not cope welll with simple printed stats.

SNIPPED
----------------------------------------- ------------------------------------------

Seems like you aren`t intelligent enough to absorb the impact of the stats .... 1.and I certainly didn`t mention anything about kids and SPL .... but since you brought it up,2. it is clear that much wider competitions and better club systems do maintain the level of talent production and skills. If you can find your reading glasses ... 3.or even the right forum ... you may notice that the 4.big fall off in support and supply from JUNIOR CLUBS is our biggest problem and one that has to be solved if 5.Scotland is ever to recover productive capacity in a much wider competitive system. But, we all know Junior clubs don`t give a SHIT about that ... 6.and are only interested in themselves.

1 - then why quote Roxburgh?
2 - really, wow Austria and Switzerland must be certainties to be the finalists in Euro 2012
3 - maybe if you stopped creating new IDs for yourself every couple of months and posted something other than your masturbatory fantasies then maybe you could find the right forum.
4. what are you talking about?
5. the world has changed, kids dont want to be footballers anymore - there are lots of other things to do.
6. a bit like you and your constant slavering pish.

And anyreason why your list of Euro countries doesnt contain the rest of Europe - Virtually every other country in Europe was organised, or changed, to cater for modern social trends and lower youth populations you said but then totally ignore the vast majority of the European population.

And as you are quite clearly thick as shit and probably dont understand my original point - how does revamping the Scottish Cup and having a pyramid system suddenly mean that Scotland would produce better players? You are just hot air, a sad strange little man trying to grasp at something but failing miserably.

Poor poor you.

User is offline   LongTimeLurker 

• Third Division Reserve

... you may notice that the big fall off in support and supply from JUNIOR CLUBS is our biggest problem and one that has to be solved if Scotland is ever to recover productive capacity in a much wider competitive system....

Up until the 70s you could go down to any public park and find a football game in progress. Kids learned the basic skills that way then signed for their local juvenile or junior team then for a top senior club if they were good enough. Then childrens' television and certain recreational pharmaceutical products arrived on the scene and that production line largely ceased and senior clubs brought youth development in house to teach the kids with the most promise the basic skills and junior teams were no longer a factor.

The real problem nowadays is that our senior clubs have a prehistoric approach in tactics terms relative to their counterparts in other countries and the increase in people going through tertiary education has decreased the portion of the population that would consider leaving school at 16 to sign a contract to play football when the odds are stacked against ever making the first team to be a good career move.

• First Division Regular

View Postscotchanwry, on 10 February 2012 - 11:14, said:

I can see from the number of posts you have made that you are probably an armchair ... and have never actually seen a ball.

I can see from the number of hare brained posts you make about a pyramid under various alias that you are the Peter Dow of Non-League Football - forever opening your mouth and letting your belly rumble over whatever you last Googled ...and have never actually had yer hole.

View PostLongTimeLurker, on 10 February 2012 - 13:42, said:

Up until the 70s you could go down to any public park and find a football game in progress. Kids learned the basic skills that way then signed for their local juvenile or junior team then for a top senior club if they were good enough. Then childrens' television and certain recreational pharmaceutical products arrived on the scene and that production line largely ceased and senior clubs brought youth development in house to teach the kids with the most promise the basic skills and junior teams were no longer a factor.

The real problem nowadays is that our senior clubs have a prehistoric approach in tactics terms relative to their counterparts in other countries and the increase in people going through tertiary education has decreased the portion of the population that would consider leaving school at 16 to sign a contract to play football when the odds are stacked against ever making the first team to be a good career move.

I would agree, except that the rot set in at the start of the 1990s.

Michael Caine was a voice crying in the wilderness for two decades for the National Playing Fields Association over councils flogging off every bit of spare land for housing and barring ball games everywhere. He was dismissed as being sentimentalist and anti-progress.

Concerns about childhool obesity later, and councils began introducing 5-A-Side provisions - which you had to book and pay for to use, as opposed to the spontaneous match whenever a group were gathered and someone happened to have a ball - and all for free.

Tertiary education is as you say another, as many will waste their youth at the University Of Bums On Seats (formerly some third rate tech college only used to providing Diplomas or resitting Highers) taking Degrees in Feng Shui or other useless "sexy" courses given direct and indirect government funding that will be no use in the job market but keep the Student Loans company on the gravy train, rather than putting the skills they have with a ball into what could prove a very lucrutive and enjoyable career.

This post has been edited by WaffenThinMint: 10 February 2012 - 14:13

Posted Image

User is offline   CityDave 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle

View PostWaffenThinMint, on 10 February 2012 - 13:59, said:

I would agree, except that the rot set in at the start of the 1990s.

Michael Caine was a voice crying in the wilderness for two decades for the National Playing Fields Association over councils flogging off every bit of spare land for housing and barring ball games everywhere. He was dismissed as being sentimentalist and anti-progress.

Concerns about childhool obesity later, and councils began introducing 5-A-Side provisions - which you had to book and pay for to use, as opposed to the spontaneous match whenever a group were gathered and someone happened to have a ball - and all for free.

Tertiary education is as you say another, as many will waste their youth at the University Of Bums On Seats (formerly some third rate tech college only used to providing Diplomas or resitting Highers) taking Degrees in Feng Shui or other useless "sexy" courses given direct and indirect government funding that will be no use in the job market but keep the Student Loans company on the gravy train, rather than putting the skills they have with a ball into what could prove a very lucrutive and enjoyable career.

I think you have summed it up very well, certainly most of these points apply to Inverness.
Inverness City - Juniors North Region - 1st Division Champions 2010/11
Inverness City - Juniors North Region - 1st Division Runners up 2009/10
Inverness City - Juniors North Region - 2nd Division Champions 2008/09
Inverness City - Juniors North Region - Elginshire Cup winners 2008/09

• Third Division Reserve

View PostWaffenThinMint, on 10 February 2012 - 13:59, said:

I can see from the number of hare brained posts you make about a pyramid under various alias that you are the Peter Dow of Non-League Football - forever opening your mouth and letting your belly rumble over whatever you last Googled ...and have never actually had yer hole.

Think you mean Pete Smyth rather than Peter Dow, for what it's worth. Pete Smyth is a long time pyramid league structure enthusiast from the three towns portion of Ayrshire. I think Peter Dow is an extreme nationalist from Aberdeen, who regards himself as being Scotland's national flag bearer or something like that.

User is offline   cmontheloknow 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Pollok

View PostLongTimeLurker, on 11 February 2012 - 10:04, said:

Think you mean Pete Smyth rather than Peter Dow, for what it's worth. Pete Smyth is a long time pyramid league structure enthusiast from the three towns portion of Ayrshire. I think Peter Dow is an extreme nationalist from Aberdeen, who regards himself as being Scotland's national flag bearer or something like that.

I think that was the point - was he not comparing Pete Smyth to Peter Dow (whoever he is, ta for explanation!)?

User is offline   Burnie_man 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Blackburn United

View Postscotchanwry, on 09 February 2012 - 14:19, said:

Switzerland 10 - 16 - 3 x 16 - 6 x 14 - 64
Sweden 16 - 16 - 2 x 14 - 6 x 12 - 32
Norway 16 - 16 - 4 x 14 - 12 x 14 - 128
Portugal 16 - 16 - 3 x 16 - 8 x 12 - 64
Denmark 12 - 14 - 2 x 16 - 3 x 14 - 60 (4 bye)
Czech Rep 16 - 16 - 2 x 16 - 5 x 16 - 64
Hungary 16 - 2 x 16 - 6 x 16 - ..... - 60 (4 bye)
Belgium 16 - 18 - 2 x 18 - 9 x 16 - 32 (r6)
Holland 18 - 18 - 6 x 14 - 11 x 14 - 64
Croatia 16 - 15 - 4 x 18 - .... - 32
Slovakia 12 - 12 - 2 x 16 - ..... - 32
Slovenia 10 - 10 - 2 x 14 - .... - 26 (6 bye)
Bulgaria 16 - 2 x 10 - 4 x 18 - .... - 32
----------------------------------------- ----------------------------------------- -

Wibble Wibble Blah Blah burp....................
"We are the Burnie boys, we make a lot of noise, we wear our trousers to our knees"

User is offline   Burnie_man 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Blackburn United

you may notice that the big fall off in support and supply from JUNIOR CLUBS is our biggest problem and one that has to be solved if Scotland is ever to recover productive capacity
in a much wider competitive system. But, we all know Junior clubs don`t give a SHIT about that ... and are only interested in themselves.

Really? you haven't been paying much attention then have you? FFS Pete, you're losing touch with reality mate.
"We are the Burnie boys, we make a lot of noise, we wear our trousers to our knees"

• First Division Regular

View Postcmontheloknow, on 11 February 2012 - 11:03, said:

I think that was the point - was he not comparing Pete Smyth to Peter Dow (whoever he is, ta for explanation!)?

Thank you Jamie, at least someone got the point (actually I think everyone else did bar LongTimeLurker - clearly too subtle for him!).

Peter Dow's mildly infamous (Sunnybank fans will probably know him best, as he lives near their ground) as the self-styled Scottish Standard Bearer, which involves wearing the sort of outfit not seen since Nicky Fairbairn was buried (probably at the nearest crossroads with a hawthorn stake through his heart) and professing his eternal love for Condoleezza Rice.

Stewart Lee and Richard Herring couldn't have invented this guy if they tried, forever coming out with thinly veiled self-aggrandisement schemes of some lofty "principle" inbetween his search for love from a woman that wasn't either drugged or inflatable. His detractors often referred to him as the Scottish Standard Grader - usually people connected with Siol nan Gaidheal, whom he had a running feud with, I think because they claimed they'd bigger flasks of Weak Lemon Drink than he did, or something like that.

Google himself sometime when the telly is crap and you will be entertained, I guarantee. Truly a one-off. :D
Posted Image

• Third Division Reserve

View Postcmontheloknow, on 11 February 2012 - 11:03, said:

I only ever speed read WaffenThinMint's posts, for what it's worth, so basically just saw Peter Dow's name. Probably should have made the effort this time before hitting reply.

Page 1 of 1