User is offline   lashjd 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Celtic

View PostWaffenThinMint, on 09 February 2012 - 01:05, said:

The rundown

Eliminate.

St Anthony's and Neilston for a start. Bloody freezing all year round, let alone right now. Neilston's also a bit of a bus journey to an area not know for its hospitality to strangers.

Benburb. No fans, no anything, dilapidated ground in depressing urban environment, bad chance of running into the Orc hordes heading to nearby Ibrox.

That leaves.

Arthurlie, Johnstone Burgh, Renfrew.

(Links are to Jamie Wire's excellent Non-League Scotland website)

Arthurlie - it's a bus to Barrhead or if you take a trip to Glasgow earlier in the day you can get the train to Barrhead with the ground right next to the station. Plenty of pubs and shops for grub nearby, a pretty good hot food stall in the ground, and a good quality of game by some of the most civilised supporters in the Junior game. Worth visiting even the once to say you've been to the ground of a former Scottish league member other than Gretna!

Johnstone Burgh is close to the railway station and about 10/15 minutes walk in what is a residential area. By Junior standards, well maintained and there's some hot food in the ground. Last time I was there the people running the place were about as friendly as a scrap dealer's dog, but then again it's never been known for its hospitality or fan loyalty - they are lucky to get 20 fans these days now they're doing poorly. Games are frequently called off due to "drainage problems".

Renfrew's team and ground has seen better days, but right on the bus routes and close on the centre of town for food and drink. Have a well maintained website to forewarn of call offs, etc. Used to boast Scotland's worst poet, the late Walter McCorrisken amongst their fans.

First Division forum for this pish (the poster I mean!) Posted Image

Waffen..

its bawbags like you that give the juniors a bad name !!!

User is offline   cotter 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Other
waffen,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,it mite be a wee bit cold,,,at ants in winter,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,but u always get a good warm welcome,,,when u come to the ANTS park,,,,,hospitality,is 2nd to none,,,,,,,,,,,,,,cheers,,yer old ffreind cotter :D

User is offline   wintonfan 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Ardrossan Winton Rovers
train to ardrossan only 45 minutes away, play in black and white stripes like the pars, friendly social club and pleasant welcoming fans. For me being involved at knockhill race track I regard dunfermline as a 3rd home and Steelend vics being the closest ground to the track they are my 3rd team after the winton and killie
opinions are my own and not those of any organisation i many be involved with

User is offline   monthelie' 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Arthurlie

View PostMcKee, on 08 February 2012 - 22:45, said:

Did you come up with that one on your own, petal? Bless.

Anyway Gordieboy80, Greenock's a bit far to travel. Understandable if that's the reason. And if you don't ever want to set foot in Midden Park, I get that as well. But paying to associate with webbed-feet, mouthbreathers in social and cultural backwaters like Clydebank and Yoker? Why? Posted Image

Why don't you run along to the second division forum, in preparation for next season.

User is offline   weejasperdonnelly 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
or you could just skip the football and get a bottle on wine way me and wee can do a few lines then head oot in the toon to the dancing

User is offline   combineharvester 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Scotland
neilston is 5 mins from barrhead? and the bus stop is right out side the ground?

User is online   GordieBoy80 

• -177 for one post ? I'm box office !!!
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
  • Gamertag:GordieBoy80(PS3)
Having looked at this weekend's fixtures I've decided to take in the Arthurlie v Clydebank fixture if it's on, any decent pubs nearby to watch The Pars game beforehand ?

Thanks

User is offline   TheBeither 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Beith Juniors
  • Euro 2012:Germany
If you want to see real football, get the number 18 bus to Beith from Paisley cross 8)

But in all seriousness, Arthurlie v Bo'ness should be an absolute cracker. (for atmosphere/size of crowd/standard of football)

I would start off with that one. :)

User is offline   monthelie' 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Arthurlie

View PostGordieBoy80, on 10 February 2012 - 14:31, said:

Having looked at this weekend's fixtures I've decided to take in the Arthurlie v Clydebank fixture if it's on, any decent pubs nearby to watch The Pars game beforehand ?

Thanks

The Brig Inn should have the pars game on, and it's only a minute from the ground.

If you get off the bus at the train station, you can't miss it. Probably be a few bankies fans in there too.

User is online   GordieBoy80 

• -177 for one post ? I'm box office !!!
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
  • Gamertag:GordieBoy80(PS3)

View Postmonthelie, on 10 February 2012 - 16:25, said:

The Brig Inn should have the pars game on, and it's only a minute from the ground.

If you get off the bus at the train station, you can't miss it. Probably be a few bankies fans in there too.

Cheers, although I'll be getting the bus rather than the train.

User is online   Jobby 

• Thommohawk
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Portugal
Good choice, Gordie 8)
Ooh it's good to be a Buddie!

• (2 Pages) +