Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Junior clubs near Paisley - The Pie Shop

• (2 Pages) +

Junior clubs near Paisley Rate Topic: -----

User is online   GordieBoy80 

• -177 for one post ? I'm box office !!!
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
  • Gamertag:GordieBoy80(PS3)
Having recently moved to Paisley it's not always practical to get to a Pars game whenever we play as I don't drive, ridiculous kick-off days and times, public transport costs etc. so I'm asking supporters of junior clubs near here to sell their club to me as I seem to have a choice of a good few and if time and finances permit I will attend their games while I stay in Paisley(at least 3 years as I'm at the Uni). I will not be swayed by the league a club is and league position so over to you, why should I watch your club ?

User is offline   drs 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Camelon Juniors
  • Gamertag:Dont watch that, watch this!
Head along to Cardonald and watch the Ants or a bit further along and watch the Bens.
P&B Dead Pool Winner 2008,2009&2011. Third Place in 2010 -
Beware the curse of drs in 2012!

User is offline   gingerblastie 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Kilbirnie Ladeside

View PostGordieBoy80, on 08 February 2012 - 15:31, said:

Having recently moved to Paisley it's not always practical to get to a Pars game whenever we play as I don't drive, ridiculous kick-off days and times, public transport costs etc. so I'm asking supporters of junior clubs near here to sell their club to me as I seem to have a choice of a good few and if time and finances permit I will attend their games while I stay in Paisley(at least 3 years as I'm at the Uni). I will not be swayed by the league a club is and league position so over to you, why should I watch your club ?

if its banter your looking for get on train to kilbirnie 20 mins away!!!
when yi meet a blastie he.ll shake yi by the haun

User is online   chico 

• Dry.
  • My Team:Spartans
  • Euro 2012:Germany
Renfrewshire Junior clubs as far as I knew were:-

Renfrew Juniors.
Arthurlie in Barrhead.
Johnstone Burgh.
St Mirren FC
2005/2006 Scottish Football League Champions & League Challenge Cup Winners.
2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 & 2011 Renfrewshire FA Cup Winners

User is online   Jobby 

• Thommohawk
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Portugal
Arthurlie 8)
Ooh it's good to be a Buddie!

User is offline   McKee 

• Settle for the draw
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
Didn't you say you were going to go to Cappielow?

dont see the guy saying renfrewshire clubs he.s simply asking for clubs near paisley.. to narrow that down the guy could travel to about 30 clubs within half hour train journey!!!

User is offline   monthelie' 

• My Team:Arthurlie

View Postchico, on 08 February 2012 - 15:55, said:

Renfrewshire Junior clubs as far as I knew were:-

Renfrew Juniors.
Arthurlie in Barrhead.
Johnstone Burgh.

Surely grub must be a decider ?

Renfrew don't have a pie stall, the Burgh don't get any home games on, and our pies are pretty decent.

User is offline   shielsy007 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Other
Get yerself doon to Arthurlie Mate Borrheid, great club and fans. Arthurlie/Pollok extra special

This post has been edited by shielsy007: 08 February 2012 - 16:30

If your not making money, your not making sense.........................

User is offline   fms 

• Third Division Signing Target

You have six within six miles from Paisley Cross. St Ants and Benburb along Ibrox way. Johnstone Burgh, Renfrew, Neilston Juniors, and Arthurlie.

Johnstone are abysmal right now. Neilston are battling back, Renfrew are fair but a run down set up, Ants & Bens in Glasgow Arthurlie 12 minutes away at Barrhead Rail Station are in my humble opinion your best bet.

Week come Saturday if this bliddy weather eases up the Scottish Cup tie of the round is Arthurlie v Bo'ness. Expect a crowd in four figures. Club ten minutes from ground with decent meal available. Pieandbovril lot cheaper than East end Park.

Apart from that come the better weather Beith is is a 25minute run away, worth a visit, But be warned 'you will catch the Arthurlie bug'.

This post has been edited by fms: 08 February 2012 - 16:33

User is offline   monthelie' 

View PostMcKee, on 08 February 2012 - 16:19, said:

Didn't you say you were going to go to Cappielow?

He said junior, not amateur !

View Postfms, on 08 February 2012 - 16:30, said:

You have six within six miles from Paisley Cross. St Ants and Benburb along Ibrox way. Johnstone Burgh, Renfrew, Neilston Juniors, and Arthurlie.

Johnstone are abysmal right now. Neilston are battling back, Renfrew are fair but a run down set up, Ants & Bens in Glasgow Arthurlie 12 minutes away at Barrhead Rail Station are in my humble opinion your best bet.

Week come Saturday if this bliddy weather eases up the Scottish Cup tie of the round is Arthurlie v Bo'ness. Expect a crowd in four figures. Club ten minutes from ground with decent meal available. Pieandbovril lot cheaper than East end Park.

Apart from that come the better weather Beith is is a 25minute run away, worth a visit, But be warned 'you will catch the Arthurlie bug'.
beith 25 mins run away??? the guy says he cant drive?? hence why i said kilbirnie haha... fighting for a fan.. yous can have him!! we dont need outsiders :D

User is offline   cmontheloknow 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Pollok
Pollok are always on the lookout for new supporters, a return train ticket is 3 quid or thereabouts (Paisley Gilmour to Pollokshaws East, changing in town), I used to get the train over if I wanted a wee drink before or after when I lived there.

It's a great day out to watch the Lok if on public transport!

With most games on saturdays attended by over 500 folk, albeit not the noisiest fans, there's usually a bit of banter flying about.

Give the Meadow cup tie a go if we get through against Lochee!

User is offline   Mon The Port 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Port Glasgow
johnstone burgh and renfrew both pretty near
PORT GLASGOW JUNIORS FC

User is offline   lokforever 

• Third Division Reserve
Come and join a fellow pars fan at Newlandsfield, you won't even need to buy a new scarf.

User is offline   combineharvester 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Scotland
moved tae paisley maself last aug and go watch neilston home and away not to far at all... some quality banter up the brig

User is offline   NE63 exile 

• Third Division Reserve
When I moved to Paisley 11 odd years ago or so I flitted around locally just picking my games.
One of the most enjoyable seasons I had. Even popping down On the train to the likes of Kilbirnie (get off at Glengarnock), Largs, Kilwinning, Dalry or the likes of Ardrossan were pleasant experiences and all reasonably accessible from Gilmour Street.

This post has been edited by NE63 exile: 09 February 2012 - 10:29

User is offline   JackD1908 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:PS3 = JackD9214
Pollok's a good shout, just stay clear of Barrhead ;)

User is offline   CappielowTon 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Defoe Johnstone Burgh There going to be playing loads of Home Games in the next 3 or 4 months so many happy memories of going up to Keanie Park to see the Burgh!! 5 Mins on The train from Paisley Gilmour street You wont need to pay hardly on the train because it is only one stop walk up through the Houses when You get off up Fraser Ave croos the main Road up the Hill & there You @ You shall hear the big crowds shouting Mon The Burgh!! A Great Wee Club!!

User is online   RobRoyGuy 

• Every Saint has a Past , Every Sinner has a Future
  • My Team:Kirkintilloch Rob Roy
  • Gamertag:KirkyRR - PS3
Great shout back the burgh rather than one of the bigger junior clubs .
Posted Image
I am so clever that sometimes i don't understand a single word of what i am saying,Oh...... RobRoyGuy's Posts DO NOT Reflect the Views, Opinions or Policy of Kirkintilloch Rob Roy F.C

User is offline   11TH MAY 1991 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Clydebank
Or nip over the Renfrew Ferry and watch Clydebank or Yoker....

User is offline   McKee 

• Settle for the draw

View Postmonthelie, on 08 February 2012 - 16:32, said:

He said junior, not amateur !

Did you come up with that one on your own, petal? Bless.

Anyway Gordieboy80, Greenock's a bit far to travel. Understandable if that's the reason. And if you don't ever want to set foot in Midden Park, I get that as well. But paying to associate with webbed-feet, mouthbreathers in social and cultural backwaters like Clydebank and Yoker? Why? Posted Image

This post has been edited by McKee: 08 February 2012 - 22:46

User is offline   Sunrise 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Largs Thistle
  • Gamertag:RedStarDon (XBox360)
Largs is just 50 mins away on the train - you'll be at the seaside too. We are off to Midlothian this Satirday in the Junior Cup however... weather permitting.

User is offline   taxisaint 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:St.Mirren
Myself and quite a few Paisley buddies all support Arthurlie and out of the local teams in the immediate area are the biggest and have the best ground and facilities and the highest league football played. But going to support Frew or Burgh is good for the junior game. Dont go and follow teams like Pollok or Clydebank. They will suck the life blood out of you! :P
St.Mirren and Arthurlie. Nothing can be better!

User is offline   WaffenThinMint 

• First Division Regular

The rundown

Eliminate.

St Anthony's and Neilston for a start. Bloody freezing all year round, let alone right now. Neilston's also a bit of a bus journey to an area not know for its hospitality to strangers.

Benburb. No fans, no anything, dilapidated ground in depressing urban environment, bad chance of running into the Orc hordes heading to nearby Ibrox.

That leaves.

Arthurlie, Johnstone Burgh, Renfrew.

(Links are to Jamie Wire's excellent Non-League Scotland website)

Arthurlie - it's a bus to Barrhead or if you take a trip to Glasgow earlier in the day you can get the train to Barrhead with the ground right next to the station. Plenty of pubs and shops for grub nearby, a pretty good hot food stall in the ground, and a good quality of game by some of the most civilised supporters in the Junior game. Worth visiting even the once to say you've been to the ground of a former Scottish league member other than Gretna!

Johnstone Burgh is close to the railway station and about 10/15 minutes walk in what is a residential area. By Junior standards, well maintained and there's some hot food in the ground. Last time I was there the people running the place were about as friendly as a scrap dealer's dog, but then again it's never been known for its hospitality or fan loyalty - they are lucky to get 20 fans these days now they're doing poorly. Games are frequently called off due to "drainage problems".

Renfrew's team and ground has seen better days, but right on the bus routes and close on the centre of town for food and drink. Have a well maintained website to forewarn of call offs, etc. Used to boast Scotland's worst poet, the late Walter McCorrisken amongst their fans.

View PostMcKee, on 08 February 2012 - 22:45, said:

Did you come up with that one on your own, petal? Bless.

Anyway Gordieboy80, Greenock's a bit far to travel. Understandable if that's the reason. And if you don't ever want to set foot in Midden Park, I get that as well. But paying to associate with webbed-feet, mouthbreathers in social and cultural backwaters like Clydebank and Yoker? Why? ../../../public/style_emoticons/ default/huh.gif

First Division forum for this pish (the poster I mean!) <_<

This post has been edited by WaffenThinMint: 09 February 2012 - 01:09

Posted Image

• (2 Pages) +