Talbot orange and black is very recognisable

and the bait has been cast Posted ImagePosted Image

yer sum man Posted Image

User is offline   scottie1873 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Ballingry Rovers
Ballingry Rovers wear tangerine tops black shorts and tangerine socks...

User is offline   Druridge_Bay_Dogger 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
[quote name='The Old Northerner' timestamp='1328726873' post='5952424'

Berwick Rangers (even Livvy maybe) may well spring to mind before Talbot for the gold & black stripes.
[/quote]

I remember travelling back from my first Berwick away game after moving to Paisley in 2001 at Stenhousemuir. Jumped on an Ayr bound train with my Berwick shirt on (the old pro-star one with broad black & gold stripes) around about 8pm and almost getting lynched by a group of drunken young arseholes from Cumnock who thought it was Talbot top. Welcome to the West of Scotland I thought. The thing I had to laught at (but I wasn't at that time) was it had in big block capitals our shirt sponsor BERWICK HOLIDAY CENTRE. They were all right in the end when I told them can you drunken c*nts not read. After that experience I've never wore it in the Beith area too :D

Always liked Arthurlie's strip mind.

This post has been edited by Druridge_Bay_Dogger: 10 February 2012 - 10:36

User is offline   ClydebankTillIDie 

• PipPipPip
  • My Team:Clydebank
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
Clydebank's strip will always be my favourite, but i also like talbot's strip & arthurlie's! pollok's one is smart aswell.

User is offline   FOUR-NIL FIR PARK 17/05/98 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Arthurlie
Arthurlie wore this strip (Dundee Utd)When they beat East Kilbride in the league cup final at Kilbowie in 1978.

View Postscottie1873, on 09 February 2012 - 22:14, said:

Ballingry Rovers wear tangerine tops black shorts and tangerine socks...

User is offline   FOUR-NIL FIR PARK 17/05/98 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Arthurlie
The sky blue and white stripes and black and white stripes of Arthurlie and Pollok may or may not be iconic but how referees dont see them as a clash when they play each other has been a topic of conversation on the terraces for years.I have seen a few dodgy decisions where the clash hasnt helped.

User is offline   Snowy Malone 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Dunipace Juniors
  • Gamertag:GITALIFEYASADGIT
Arthurlie are another club like Pollok whose strip design has varied over the years.Sometimes stripes,sometimes plain skyblue,so neither I would say were iconic.

User is offline   Kirkland Green 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Auchinleck Talbot
Talbot's first colours were light blue and white. They then went to dark blue. By 1911 they were in red and white stripes until WW1r. They reverted back to blue and white until 1920, where they changed to the famous gold and black. After the war there was a rumour that they would try red and white again but this was shot down. Talbot played in the stripes until the mid 60's where they went all gold to save on the price of the strips. Nothing had changed during the early 70's playing in gold with black trim, including a gold top with two single stripes in the front (old Coventry style) By the mid 70's the strip was back to stripes and has stayed that way. In the 1987 scottish Cup final v Kilbirnie we played in blue due to losing the toss. Talbot's away strip is blue to honour our original colours. The Gold and Black hails from the family colours of the Boswell family and these colours are also adopted by Auchinleck primary and Auchinleck Academy.

I like the Bankies strip except for the fact the Underlings wore a similar garb when they horsed us 11-0 in the early 70's.
"Soli electi sequentur"

User is offline   clash city rocker 

• PipPipPip
  • My Team:Kilbirnie Ladeside

View PostKirkland Green, on 10 February 2012 - 14:38, said:

In the 1987 scottish Cup final v Kilbirnie we played in blue due to losing the toss. Talbot's away strip is blue to honour our original colours.

Don't believe it was anything to do with toss of coin,both teams changed colours,Kilbirnie played in all white.

User is offline   Gordonnnns 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Other
Saltcoats Vics registered colours for many years were chocolate and gold. Over the years they played in many variations on this theme. In their Scottish Cup final back in the 20's they played in Gold Shirts and Chocolate shorts. By the 1960's I recall them playing in a claret shirt with a single amber band across it, white shorts and amber stockings which had been washed so often with the jerseys that they were pink in patches. Most of their recent kits have been based on claret with amber flashings.
Its good to see clubs sticking with their traditional colours to this day. As a Linlithgow Rose fan our traditional colours for some 90 years have been maroon shirts and white shorts although we occasionally sport maroon shorts much to the displeasure of the old traditionalist brigade at Prestonfield who regard this as sacrilege. Our alternative kit is traditionally composed of black and white which were the clubs original colours. We are also the only club I know to have purchased ana laternative kit (red and white) in the 90's which clashed with our main strip.
As has been indictaed here Whitburn play in Claret & Amber.
Here is a link to some historic pictures of the team on their website.
http://www.whitburnj...ry/teampix.html
In the late forties and ealy fifties it was not uncomon for teams to have to borrow their alternative kit from a neighbouring junior side. In those days of course the home side was obliged to change and for semi finals or finals both sides were made to change so that there was no advantage to either. I remember watching one match at Largs Thistle in the early sixties. In those days Largs played in the then Partick Thistle kit of yellow and red hoops right down to the stockings which were red with black and yellow tops. Meadow of course were wearing their traditional Royal Blue. Fans should note that although the Meadow kit was similar to the Rangers their chosen colour was Royal Blue and not light blue as sported by the Gers.
Anyway back to the story. As was common in that part of the world it rained torrentially throughout the first half of the Largs v Meadow match. The old cotton strips worn by both sides were sodden and a ton weight in this condition. So both sides deceided to change their tops at half time. Meadow played the second half in a washed out red, almost pink jersey borrowed from Largs and Thistle played in Navy. Confusion reigned!
Great game finishing 2-2 I think. Sorry if I have bored you all to death here.

User is offline   Mon The Port 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Port Glasgow
didnt bore me, i like reading wee stories like this ;)
PORT GLASGOW JUNIORS FC

User is offline   Ewaninblack 

• PipPipPip
  • My Team:Ashfield
Been going to the Juniors since a Maryhill -Ashfield game in 1969. My Memories are with the the Black & White Hoops of Ashfield and the `smell of germoline` when the teams came out. I vividly remember the Maroon of the Peasie as I was brought up in Edinburgh & went on to support the Jam Tarts as well as Ashfield. Also remember a dreadul yellow and black hoops that Ashfield wore in the Mid-70`s - Modern days I do like the traditional strips of the likes of Bonnyrigg, Bo`ness and our friend at the Ants !

User is offline   pccabe 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Beith Juniors
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:PCCABE
Beith wore an all blue change colour strip for the Cunninghame District Cup Final against Winton in 1990/91.

The strip was brande new for the final but after losing the game 2-1 the strip was never to be seen again.

We've mostly been black and white stripes in my time of supporting the club but have had a white top with black trim and black and white quarters a la same style as Bristol Rovers as well.

When I was first going our change colour was red, then went to yellow with blue shorts, the 1 game blue number before going to yellow and blue stripes(yes it was as garish as it sounds) before reverting back to our current all red strip.

User is offline   Bul21402 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Cumnock Juniors
As a few on here have said, many clubs play in the same colours,but, i think iconic colours depends on the area. In East/South Ayrshire the Black & Gold (or should that be Yellow...only joking) is obviously the great unwashed, Black & White is Cumnock and Red & White is Glenafton
That will obviously change depending on the area. Go to North Ayrshire a and these will be Iconic to their individual support nd the Black/Gold will be Largs or Kilbirnie and the Black/White will be Beith etc.

If you go over to East region or North region the "iconic" strips will differ.

I agree that Bankies "sash" strip is quite unique as is the Rab's "Dennis the Menace" tops, but, must agree that as T****t have played in the same basic style of strip for many years and given their recent exposure on the telly etc, their strip is very recognisable, particularly the back of their strip.....which is quite often what the opposition see as their players steam in towards the opposition goal !!!!!!

User is offline   cotter 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Other
ants have not changed wearing green n white hoops,,always a full hoop,,

User is online   glensmad 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Rutherglen Glencairn
  • Euro 2012:Croatia

View Postcotter, on 15 March 2012 - 15:45, said:

ants have not changed wearing green n white hoops,,always a full hoop,,

Except when you don't. ;)

User is offline   bigtatties 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Petershill

View PostMon The Port, on 08 February 2012 - 15:23, said:

which junior team do you think has the most notable strip that they have traditionally wore throughout most oftheir history, a strip that even a non junior fan would know?

polloks black and white stripes, linlithgows maroon top white shorts, ants green and white hoops, buffs blue and white hoops? what do you think?

I remember the Peasies wearing maroon socks with white tops in the 6o's. Unusually, the white tops had thick maroon vertical stripes thereon - so they were really maroon and white tops, I suppose...... Haven't seen the same since.......

O' wad some pow'r the Giftie gie us,
Tae see oorsel's as ithers see us,
It wad frae mony a blunder free us,
An' foolish notion........

User is offline   The_Craig 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:PSN: The_Craig_MKII

View PostSimmy87, on 08 February 2012 - 17:51, said:

Whitburn most be 1. I don't know another junior team that plays in claret and amber. The story of how they came to wear those colours was they had sold a player to Motherwell and Motherwell paid them buy giving them a kit. That's what started the colours

That is very interesting. Although I was having a wee nosey at the Whitburn 'ficial site and there's no mention of the origin of C&A, just that the colours were adopted in the 1930's.

User is offline   FlowGently 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
Glenafton formed in 1930 inherited the hamper of the defunct junior side New Cumnock United and played in black and white stripes. The hamper also contained a green strip probably from the defunct senior side Lanemark. In their second season Glens planned to change to royal blue with white cuffs but the dye run at the first wash and a
refund fae the Co-op followed. They the played with white tops and black shorts, a
maroon strip appeared in the late 40s but
other than that they tended to play in black &
white, including hoops. In 1960 when they moved to their new ground at Loch Park they changed to white top with red trim. We played in White with red trim last season to mark 50 years at Loch Park.

This post has been edited by FlowGently: 15 March 2012 - 21:34

• (3 Pages) +