iconic junior strip Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Mon The Port 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Port Glasgow
which junior team do you think has the most notable strip that they have traditionally wore throughout most oftheir history, a strip that even a non junior fan would know?

polloks black and white stripes, linlithgows maroon top white shorts, ants green and white hoops, buffs blue and white hoops? what do you think?
PORT GLASGOW JUNIORS FC

User is offline   cotter 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Other
got to be ants,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,as its always a full hoop,,,,,

User is offline   Troon Fc 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Ayr United
Has to be Auchinleck Talbot, most football fans will recognise it immediately.

User is offline   wow-wee 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Rangers
talbots strip could be mistaken for a few teams mainly kilbirnie .like polloks their is same as many teams also winton rovers i would say the ants and the buffs not many junior teams play in those that i remember?

User is offline   groundhopper 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Scotland

View Postcotter, on 08 February 2012 - 15:25, said:

got to be ants,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,as its always a full hoop,,,,,

The original Glasgow team in green & white hoops.

User is online   Isabel Goudie 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Auchinleck Talbot

View PostMon The Port, on 08 February 2012 - 15:23, said:

which junior team do you think has the most notable strip that they have traditionally wore throughout most oftheir history, a strip that even a non junior fan would know?

polloks black and white stripes, linlithgows maroon top white shorts, ants green and white hoops, buffs blue and white hoops? what do you think?

Talbot! :D

User is offline   drs 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Camelon Juniors
  • Gamertag:Dont watch that, watch this!
Whitburn
P&B Dead Pool Winner 2008,2009&2011. Third Place in 2010 -
Beware the curse of drs in 2012!

User is offline   Snowy Malone 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Dunipace Juniors
  • Gamertag:GITALIFEYASADGIT
Whitburns a good shout.Ive seen Pollok play in both hoops and stripes,maroon shirts I always think of Petershill but thats a west thing.Will probaly plump for the Rabs and their Dennis the menace hoops.

User is offline   Snowy Malone 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Dunipace Juniors
  • Gamertag:GITALIFEYASADGIT
Forgot about Ashfeild

User is offline   The Old Northerner 

• Now bets on his own team. Fool!
  • My Team:Haddington Athletic
Maroon is far too common to be a distinctively Lithgae thing, surely. Must be at least half a dozen or so clubs in the East alone using it. The most distinctive that I've seen (or heard about) is Rob Roy's

What would the 'traditional' (or most historically common) Whitburn shirt have looked like?

This post has been edited by The Old Northerner: 08 February 2012 - 16:54

User is offline   Larky55 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Larkhall Thistle
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
Larkhall Thistle, red & white stripes, with black shorts,& red socks, pure class.
Also like Pollok's white shirt, black shorts& white socks. It looks the business.

User is offline   shielsy007 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Other
Talbot's
If your not making money, your not making sense.........................

aye rob roys dennis the menace strips are nice, also like the sky blue n white of arthurlie, cant forget the good old undertakers with the black n white stripes, pretty common strip that, ek thistle, dunipace, beith, perthshire etc
PORT GLASGOW JUNIORS FC

User is offline   ClydebankTillIDie 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Clydebank
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
bankies red sash :D pure originality!

Attached File(s)

cambuslang and irvine meadow strips are quite noticeable since they are pretty much rangers strips
PORT GLASGOW JUNIORS FC

View PostClydebankTillIDie, on 08 February 2012 - 17:33, said:

bankies red sash :D pure originality!

Suffers from having been seen in the Seniors as well. But it's certainly a decent shout

bankies is like river plate
PORT GLASGOW JUNIORS FC

User is online   RobRoyGuy 

• Every Saint has a Past , Every Sinner has a Future
  • My Team:Kirkintilloch Rob Roy
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
  • Gamertag:KirkyRR - PS3
Talbot orange and black is very recognisable
Posted Image
I am so clever that sometimes i don't understand a single word of what i am saying,Oh...... RobRoyGuy's Posts DO NOT Reflect the Views, Opinions or Policy of Kirkintilloch Rob Roy F.C

^^^^^waiting for "its naw fuckin orange its gold" by any chance lol :P
PORT GLASGOW JUNIORS FC

User is offline   Simmy87 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Whitburn Juniors
Whitburn most be 1. I don't know another junior team that plays in claret and amber. The story of how they came to wear those colours was they had sold a player to Motherwell and Motherwell paid them buy giving them a kit. That's what started the colours

User is offline   BANKIEBILL 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Clydebank

View PostThe Old Northerner, on 08 February 2012 - 17:44, said:

Suffers from having been seen in the Seniors as well. But it's certainly a decent shout

Can only think of 5 teams that wear similar kit TON ... River Plate, Real Vallecano, ourselves and Peru and recently Southampton had a variation on it ... so unlike most Junior kits it is fairly recognisably ours ... The Ants obviously have a similarlly recognisable kit

aye the ants is like yeovil town or sporting lisbon aint it :P

*also have to point out that its rayo vallecano and not real vallecano, sorry had to do it ;)

This post has been edited by Mon The Port: 08 February 2012 - 17:58

PORT GLASGOW JUNIORS FC

User is online   Teofilio 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Troon
I think there's a difference between iconic and recognisable? As a relative newbie to the juniors I would still have recognised Talbots kit had I been shown a pic of them from yesteryear but even to this day have no idea what Whitburns looks like?

User is offline   happy 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Auchinleck Talbot

View PostRobRoyGuy, on 08 February 2012 - 17:46, said:

Talbot orange and black is very recognisable

rob roy win this contest hands down.here`s a question rrg.what is the most recognisable strip to hold up the scottish cup?and its awe yin a fcuk whither is black,yella,orange or gold.Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image Posted Image

View PostTeofilio, on 08 February 2012 - 18:06, said:

I think there's a difference between iconic and recognisable? As a relative newbie to the juniors I would still have recognised Talbots kit had I been shown a pic of them from yesteryear but even to this day have no idea what Whitburns looks like?

If we're using the OPs original criteria

View PostMon The Port, on 08 February 2012 - 15:23, said:

a strip that even a non junior fan would know?

then we're on more difficult ground. Non-Junior fans would probably see maroon and and think Hearts, Arbroath, Stenny before guessing a Junior club and East Fife or Berwick Rangers (even Livvy maybe) may well spring to mind before Talbot for the gold & black stripes. Clydebank would be the most distinctive but for 'iconic' Junior kits then the getting the answer 'I dunno' is probably your best bet. :D

• (3 Pages) +