Predictions for super 1st promotion
Rate Topic:

Posted 07 February 2012 - 14:48
As we all know the super first is a very tight league whats your predictions? I am going to say Glenafton winners Shotts 2nd (would rather they werent right enough
) and i think renfrew will get the playoff place. What you think guys? Kilsyth wont be to far away either tough league!
Posted 07 February 2012 - 14:57
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Rutherglen Glencairn
- Euro 2012:Croatia
Ardrossan Winton Rovers have been the best team I've seen in the league so far this season, don't think they'll be too far from the final mix.
Posted 07 February 2012 - 15:00
i think they will defo be safe they beat ekt 3 1 and were probably lucky to win that match i think they have lost there last couple. How are Glens looking now? Its a hard league even teams like hurlfoed and whitletts have done well both physical hard to beat sides!
Posted 07 February 2012 - 15:16
- My Team:Clydebank
Glenafton did well against us ... but would like Ardrossan to come up ... nice wee trip ... ( as long as it isn't at the expense of us in a play-off ) ... Apart from that - some close trips would be good so rooting for Kilsyth, Thorniewood, Renfrew etc ... but can't see Glencairn making it back into the mix.
Posted 07 February 2012 - 15:25
BANKIEBILL, on 07 February 2012 - 15:16, said:
... but can't see Glencairn making it back into the mix.
To be fair, it will be a bit of a tall order. I said at the start of the season that I'd happily settle for mid table this season, I haven't changed that view.
Posted 07 February 2012 - 15:27
when ekt played glens they were decent up top in fact they were decent alll over there goalie just had an off day .but i think they will get out of it hopefully nt at our expense
Posted 07 February 2012 - 15:33
- My Team:Clydebank
Posted 07 February 2012 - 16:23
juniorfanatic, on 07 February 2012 - 15:27, said:
when ekt played glens they were decent up top in fact they were decent alll over there goalie just had an off day .but i think they will get out of it hopefully nt at our expense 
Agreed, Cat had a stinker that day, but it happens. We're playing well enough, but we need to start converting the chances that we're creating. On the balance of play we should have won v East Kilbride, Whitletts, Kilsyth and Girvan, instead we took 1 point out of the 12 on offer. We have nobody to blame but ourselves for that though.
Posted 07 February 2012 - 16:35
glensmad, on 07 February 2012 - 16:23, said:
Agreed, Cat had a stinker that day, but it happens. We're playing well enough, but we need to start converting the chances that we're creating. On the balance of play we should have won v East Kilbride, Whitletts, Kilsyth and Girvan, instead we took 1 point out of the 12 on offer. We have nobody to blame but ourselves for that though.
Girvan are a very poor side and i wouldnt be surprised to see them go down , unless they seriously invest however the boy bradford up front is still a good player! Use done well against us wouldnt have said you should have beat us though haha
Posted 07 February 2012 - 16:52
juniorfanatic, on 07 February 2012 - 16:35, said:
Girvan are a very poor side and i wouldnt be surprised to see them go down , unless they seriously invest however the boy bradford up front is still a good player! Use done well against us wouldnt have said you should have beat us though haha
Well I would expect that.
This post has been edited by glensmad: 07 February 2012 - 16:53
Posted 07 February 2012 - 17:04
glensmad, on 07 February 2012 - 16:52, said:
Well I would expect that.
We absolutely murdered Girvan 0-0, how we never scored in that game defies belief. Also against Whitletts we were 2-0 up, then our goalie went off injured and we had no sub goalie on the bench. We lost 3-2 due to an influential outfield player being in goal. We played really well against Kilsyth, again missed some great chances, and lost 2-1. So far this season only Ardrossan have completely outplayed us in the league. But we need to start putting the ball in the net and taking the pressure off our defence, there are only 3 teams in the league who have conceded less goals than us, but on the same comparison there are only 2 teams in the league who have scored less goals than us.
I heard that i was waiting on glens that day .welshy is never a goalie lol old duffer that he is!
Posted 07 February 2012 - 17:11
Peter maybe yous need some old the old school back? Me, mclaghlan, carr, prunty, fraser, keano. Would be a disaster to be relagated two year in a row. We all have the know how, do the trick before.
Posted 07 February 2012 - 17:45
mcd p, on 07 February 2012 - 17:11, said:
Peter maybe yous need some old the old school back? Me, mclaghlan, carr, prunty, fraser, keano. Would be a disaster to be relagated two year in a row. We all have the know how, do the trick before.
I'd take them all back, except one. ;-)
Posted 07 February 2012 - 19:29
I personally think this league is too difficult to predict, we [Glenafton] took a heavy defeat by Girvan, who i think at the time were bottom , and Cumbernauld came to New Cumnock and got a deserved win, i would like a top three finish to at least give us a chance to progress further.
This post has been edited by GLENAFTON93: 07 February 2012 - 19:31
Posted 07 February 2012 - 20:19
- My Team:Thorniewood United
- Gamertag:jc1gk
nobody needs to worry about us we are just wee diddy team looking to stay up

'THE FLYING FRIDGE'
Posted 07 February 2012 - 20:42
Got to agree with my neighbour 93; any team from 3rd bottom up has a chance if they string some results together.My team has a good chance but need to be more consistent we have been very hot and cold this year with some great results especially against super premeir teams but very poor results against the teams at the lower end of the super first and of course losiing the cup tie v the Buffs.I'll stick my neck out and say Glenafton and Kilsyth to go up with Renfrew to grab the play-off place.I have also got to say the quality of the teams in the super first this year is much improved from previous years with most of the teams concentrating in playing football the way it should be played along with the up and at them attitude has provided some great entertainment and great value for money;all the best for the rest of the season to all concerened
Posted 07 February 2012 - 20:43
- My Team:Ardrossan Winton Rovers
- Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
It's a tough one. On their day anyone can beat anyone. We thrash Cumbernauld 5-1 on their own pitch, then they come to Ardrossan and beat us 1-0. Glenafton and Ardrossan both go to Girvan, Glenafton lose 5-0 and we win 8-0. Glens then beat us at Winton Park. Shotts Bon Accord come to Ardrossan and win 7-0, and we could easily go up there and win. Totally unpredictable!
As for my team, we're still in the hunt and I'll support them to the death but I fear we've dropped too many points recently, we've lost too many games we could easily have won another day. I am genuinely worried about our game at home to Dalry on Saturday. On paper we should win, but we are not in the best of form right now. Dalry could very easily go away with the points
facebook.com/der2004
facebook.com/Winton-Rovers-Unofficial
twitter #der2004
facebook.com/Winton-Rovers-Unofficial
twitter #der2004
Posted 07 February 2012 - 21:18
If you cant beat dalry i think its the other end you will be looking at.IMO awr will be safe and comfortably win on sat. Tight tight league!
Posted 07 February 2012 - 22:01
- My Team:Shotts Bon Accord
I recon we've a reasonable chance of being in the mix at the end of the season. There has been a vast improvement of attitude and discipline at our club since we decided to offload a player whose disciplinary record read like a Dean Koontz novel. Players are now pulling together, and are far more focused on the right things. It'll be tough, but I'm optomistic of success in both cups and league.
Posted 07 February 2012 - 22:33
Flying Shottsman, on 07 February 2012 - 22:01, said:
I recon we've a reasonable chance of being in the mix at the end of the season. There has been a vast improvement of attitude and discipline at our club since we decided to offload a player whose disciplinary record read like a Dean Koontz novel. Players are now pulling together, and are far more focused on the right things. It'll be tough, but I'm optomistic of success in both cups and league.
Shotts have nae chance, man! They huvnae won a league match for nearly three months, huv they?
Thorniewood, despite the FF's protestations, are the form team in our division with three wins and a draw in the last four matches and will have a lot to say in the coming fixtures; Kilsyth have the same record and, away from home especially they're on fire. Unfortunately for Shotts, they've yet to visit Hannah Park so we might have a problem there, which is fair enough as we surprised them at their place in the opening fixture of the season.
Glenafton, a good team, are on the slide - well, their results are at least - although they might be able to stem the tide soon but I think AWR and WV have shot their collective bolt (yeah, yeah, wishful thinking, I know) but wouldn't it be great to see three Lanarkshire clubs challenging for the title (even if Kilsyth will always be in Stirlingshire for my generation)?
Realistically, that leaves Renfrew as feasible 'outsiders'. When we visited them back in the day, they were lethal up front but the Shotts defence was also otherwise engaged watching large jets land in an adjacent field. However, a few decent results for the Frew and the rest of us will have to start worrying.
Can't really see a challenge come from any other source. But I'm always aware that things can go oh so wrong so very quickly.
Posted 07 February 2012 - 22:38
- My Team:Thorniewood United
- Gamertag:jc1gk
adastra, on 07 February 2012 - 22:33, said:
Shotts have nae chance, man! They huvnae won a league match for nearly three months, huv they? 
Thorniewood, despite the FF's protestations, are the form team in our division with three wins and a draw in the last four matches and will have a lot to say in the coming fixtures; Kilsyth have the same record and, away from home especially they're on fire. Unfortunately for Shotts, they've yet to visit Hannah Park so we might have a problem there, which is fair enough as we surprised them at their place in the opening fixture of the season.
Glenafton, a good team, are on the slide - well, their results are at least - although they might be able to stem the tide soon but I think AWR and WV have shot their collective bolt (yeah, yeah, wishful thinking, I know) but wouldn't it be great to see three Lanarkshire clubs challenging for the title (even if Kilsyth will always be in Stirlingshire for my generation)?
Realistically, that leaves Renfrew as feasible 'outsiders'. When we visited them back in the day, they were lethal up front but the Shotts defence was also otherwise engaged watching large jets land in an adjacent field. However, a few decent results for the Frew and the rest of us will have to start worrying.
Can't really see a challenge come from any other source. But I'm always aware that things can go oh so wrong so very quickly.
dont mention us lol let us come along quietly

'THE FLYING FRIDGE'
Posted 07 February 2012 - 22:44
- My Team:Glenafton Athletic
- Gamertag:GLENAFTON_LOYAL ( PS3)
adastra, on 07 February 2012 - 22:33, said:
a scottish cup exit means our results are on the slide ? hmmmmmm cheers fur that need tae remember come back on here fur sum right good fucking laughs noo!!! ohhh dear!!!!!
COME AWA' THE AFTON <3
Posted 07 February 2012 - 22:55
- My Team:Port Glasgow
champions - kilsyth
2nd - glenafton
play off - winton
......shotts and thorniewood not far behind, tightest league in the west imo
2nd - glenafton
play off - winton
......shotts and thorniewood not far behind, tightest league in the west imo
PORT GLASGOW JUNIORS FC