Queen's Park & The Commonwealth Games Quick question Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Enrico Annoni 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
Just a quick question for Queen's Park fans, with the Hampden being used for the Commonwealth Games in 2014, has it been decided where QP will play their home games during that period?

This post has been edited by Enrico Annoni: 07 February 2012 - 14:39

Rangers owe every man, woman and child in Scotland around £20
Posted Image

User is offline   qpsnapper 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Queen's Park
Nothing's been announced so far.

I originally suspected we would probably be going to Airdrie, but since the Warriors are quitting Firhill I think we will end up there, and I see in today's papers Thistle are talking about installing a plastic pitch which would make it more likely.

User is offline   Enrico Annoni 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland

View Postqpsnapper, on 07 February 2012 - 15:26, said:

Nothing's been announced so far.

I originally suspected we would probably be going to Airdrie, but since the Warriors are quitting Firhill I think we will end up there, and I see in today's papers Thistle are talking about installing a plastic pitch which would make it more likely.

Fair enough.

i'm assuming where ever you end you'll be getting some £££ from the games organisers, even if you do go to Maryhill it's still going to be a pain for your fans having to travel that extra distance.

Rangers owe every man, woman and child in Scotland around £20
Posted Image

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
I'm sure I've asked this before, if so apologies... but is the 4-lane warm-up track going around Lesser Hampden a permanent fixture or also temporary, like the stadium track? Is the clubhouse/seating etc. up-for-the-chop?

User is offline   WaffenThinMint 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Other
Pity Glasgow City Council never got their finger out a while back and allowed the takeover of Cathkin Park to occur, they could have bunked in with the Hi Hi back at their old ground a stone's throw away (or probably not, but it's nice to have a dream! :bairn)
Posted Image

User is offline   coldojag 

• SPL Regular
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
Thistle have already publicly stated that they would welcome Queens Park to groundshare at Firhill and an approach was made a few months ago.

shawfield shed boy, on 27 January 2010 - 20:19, said:

Seems partick are doing their best to relegate us again or were just doing it for them

man on a mission, on 12 March 2012 - 11:09, said:

Clyde fans care about nothing but Clyde, except maybe enjoying hearing of a severe pumping for the "mankies" up Maryhill way.I despise everything about them, including the fact that they "pretend" that they don't care, Although I must admit that I do miss playing against them. I only wish that they'd change their colours, as, Although I do like Frosties, I refuse to eat them as a matter of principle.

User is online   Snake Plissken 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Clyde
Broadwood? Since Clyde want out asap !

User is offline   King Kong Bundy 

• Third Division Superstar
A season at Airdrie would be a nightmare but one at Firhill would be good fun. Personally, it's not local and the same for some other folk I know but I'm sure there are a fair few Spiders who live closer to Firhill than Hampden. It's also a ground where we've enjoyed some success relatively recently.

This post has been edited by King Kong Bundy: 07 February 2012 - 16:51

User is offline   an86 

• Third Division Reserve
I'm not sure that being within walking distance of the Woodlands Road every second Saturday would do my liver much good.

User is offline   Hampden Diehard 

• Third Division Sub
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:Games are for daft wee boys

View PostSnake Plissken, on 07 February 2012 - 16:16, said:

Broadwood? Since Clyde want out asap !

If it's not good enough for the likes of Clyde, it's certainly not good enough for us!

This post has been edited by Hampden Diehard: 07 February 2012 - 19:34

QUEEN'S PARK U.S.M.
Unstoppable Soccer Machine

User is offline   Hampden Diehard 

• Third Division Sub
  • Gamertag:Games are for daft wee boys

View PostHibeeJibee, on 07 February 2012 - 15:54, said:

I'm sure I've asked this before, if so apologies... but is the 4-lane warm-up track going around Lesser Hampden a permanent fixture or also temporary, like the stadium track? Is the clubhouse/seating etc. up-for-the-chop?

The warm-up track is only for the games. The current portacabins complex will be replaced with a smaller, permanent structure beside the old clubhouse and seating area.
QUEEN'S PARK U.S.M.
Unstoppable Soccer Machine

User is online   Snake Plissken 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Clyde

View PostHampden Diehard, on 07 February 2012 - 19:28, said:

If it's not good enough for the likes of Clyde, it's certainly not good enough for us!

It is good enough,simply too expensive.

User is offline   Sergeant Wilson 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Other

View Postcoldojag, on 07 February 2012 - 16:09, said:

Thistle have already publicly stated that they would welcome Queens Park to groundshare at Firhill and an approach was made a few months ago.

Thistle would welcome Auld Nick just now.

User is offline   coldojag 

• SPL Regular
  • My Team:Partick Thistle

View PostSergeant Wilson, on 07 February 2012 - 20:57, said:

Thistle would welcome Auld Nick just now.

If you say so.

shawfield shed boy, on 27 January 2010 - 20:19, said:

Seems partick are doing their best to relegate us again or were just doing it for them

man on a mission, on 12 March 2012 - 11:09, said:

Clyde fans care about nothing but Clyde, except maybe enjoying hearing of a severe pumping for the "mankies" up Maryhill way.I despise everything about them, including the fact that they "pretend" that they don't care, Although I must admit that I do miss playing against them. I only wish that they'd change their colours, as, Although I do like Frosties, I refuse to eat them as a matter of principle.

User is offline   Convenor 

• First Division Sub

View Postan86, on 07 February 2012 - 18:01, said:

I'm not sure that being within walking distance of the Woodlands Road every second Saturday would do my liver much good.

Aye, the sesh that year would be utterly ridiculous but bring it on. Firhill would do me, can get the 44 or 66 bus straight over to the West End from virtually outside my close door

User is offline   jhill_spider 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Due to my circumstances I'd ideally like a ground share with Watford FC for that period but realistically Firhill is the best option surely
Ludere Causa Ludendi

Page 1 of 1