Came across some old black and white silent movie from 1924 highlighting a game with the Vics and Candy. Some crowd at it, and unsure of the ground.
http://ssa.nls.uk/film.cfm?fid=0564
Page 1 of 1
- You cannot start a new topic
- You cannot reply to this topic
Saltcoats v St Roch's circa 1924
Black and white highlights.
Rate Topic:

Posted 07 February 2012 - 17:30
That's brilliant - would have loved to have been alive then and set up a bunnet-making business! It's Saltcoats'home game, so is it not just Campbell Park looking radically different? Obviously the big shed's long gone, but the other side looks a bit like the side across from the railway, although it looks like a wooden fence there rather than the current low brick wall.
Posted 07 February 2012 - 17:40
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Arthurlie
Great stuff, make ye weep looking at those crowds.
Think that was around the time of over 400 clubs in the Scottish. Penalty shoot outs 70 years away, they had never heard of hamstrings or cruciate ligaments, the physios badge of office was a towel over the shoulder plus a wet sponge. The weather must have better.
Today the weans are sat on their jaxcies before a screen most of the time. Aye and some of their grandpaws as well.
Think that was around the time of over 400 clubs in the Scottish. Penalty shoot outs 70 years away, they had never heard of hamstrings or cruciate ligaments, the physios badge of office was a towel over the shoulder plus a wet sponge. The weather must have better.
Today the weans are sat on their jaxcies before a screen most of the time. Aye and some of their grandpaws as well.
Posted 07 February 2012 - 17:40
Love the referee's kit!
Irvine Meadow XI FC "There's always next year"
Posted 07 February 2012 - 17:48
- My Team:Clydebank
- Gamertag:Kingjad86
Can only assume this was one of the rounds on their way to winning the competition as they won it in 1924/25 season - since this is dated 1924, it was the early round? Either that or it's taken from the season Parkhead won it. A brief google drew up no further information on this match in the video though, so one for the history buffs to unearth.
Clydebank Till I Die
My posts do not reflect the views or opinions of Clydebank FC - I am just a Clydebank FC supporter, despite my 'role' as cameraman. If you get upset with what I post, be upset at ME, and not Clydebank FC.
Posted 07 February 2012 - 17:49
fms, on 07 February 2012 - 17:40, said:
Great stuff, make ye weep looking at those crowds.
Aye, and I used to peddle uphill on me bike to deliver Hovis loaves and Sunday Posts, then freewheel all t'way back doon, sucking a Pan Drop.
Posted 07 February 2012 - 17:54
- My Team:Kilbirnie Ladeside
Looks like it was the season they won the cup beating St Ants in the final after beating Shettleston in the semis
Was filmed by Harry Kemp,no doubt to show in the picter hoose later on.
Defo Campbell Park.
Was filmed by Harry Kemp,no doubt to show in the picter hoose later on.
Defo Campbell Park.
Posted 07 February 2012 - 19:09
if it is campbell park then the pitch looks better then than it does now! impossible to say where that is not sure how long saltcoats have played there i was told by some of the older guys that saltcoats used to play on the park between miller road and kerr ave but couldnt find any evidence of this .i know the caley line ran along the back of the park but so did the canal but dont know when the canals closed.
This post has been edited by wow-wee: 07 February 2012 - 19:13
Posted 07 February 2012 - 19:29
Spoke to an old Candy historian and its defo the year Saltcoats won the cup because they put St Roch's out the cup the year they won it. The webpage I put up has a link to the Cup final between the Vics and Ants.
"Soli electi sequentur"
Posted 07 February 2012 - 20:09
- My Team:Kirkintilloch Rob Roy
- Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
- Gamertag:KirkyRR - PS3
Kirkland Green, on 07 February 2012 - 13:47, said:
Came across some old black and white silent movie from 1924 highlighting a game with the Vics and Candy. Some crowd at it, and unsure of the ground.
Goudie will be having a wee accident in his pants seeing that crowd !
Naw wait going by the goudie calculator there was 200 at that game .

I am so clever that sometimes i don't understand a single word of what i am saying,Oh...... RobRoyGuy's Posts DO NOT Reflect the Views, Opinions or Policy of Kirkintilloch Rob Roy F.C
Posted 07 February 2012 - 20:12
- My Team:Kirkintilloch Rob Roy
- Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
- Gamertag:KirkyRR - PS3
Spent a couple of family holidays in the caravan park next to there old ground in the 80's , forgot the name of it .

I am so clever that sometimes i don't understand a single word of what i am saying,Oh...... RobRoyGuy's Posts DO NOT Reflect the Views, Opinions or Policy of Kirkintilloch Rob Roy F.C
Posted 08 February 2012 - 01:08
wow-wee, on 07 February 2012 - 19:09, said:
if it is campbell park then the pitch looks better then than it does now! impossible to say where that is not sure how long saltcoats have played there i was told by some of the older guys that saltcoats used to play on the park between miller road and kerr ave but couldnt find any evidence of this .i know the caley line ran along the back of the park but so did the canal but dont know when the canals closed.
Saltcoats played at Campbell Park when they won the cup.
Ist Rd v Rankinston Mountineers 6-1 (h)
2nd Rd v Shawfield 1-1 (a) 2-1 (h)
3rd Rd v Cumnock 4-1 (h)
4th Rd BYE
5th Rd Dundee Osborne 1-0 (a)
6th Rd St Rochs 2-1 (h)
7th Rd Woodside ( Arbroath ) 2-1 (a)
S/F Shettleston 2-1 (Love Street )
Final St Anthony's 1-1,2-2,2-1 (Firhill)
Final Line Up -- McNairn,McGinn,Bennyman,o'Donnell,Mathieson, W.McLellan,Barr,J.McLellan,McKenzie,Brunton, Mundy.
Saltcoats had to play 10 games in 14 days including 5 in six days.It cost them £121 to sign 33 players that season but they made £208.7s.4d profit on the season.
................Taken from the story of Ayrshire Junior fitba.
Posted 08 February 2012 - 01:13
Page 1 of 1
- You cannot start a new topic
- You cannot reply to this topic
Delete Post
Delete From Topic
The post will be removed from this topic completely