Your clubs biggest transfer fees ? Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   cowdenbeath 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath

View PostDruridge_Bay_Dogger, on 05 February 2012 - 21:17, said:

If I remember correctly speaking to Sandy about it, I think Brechin paid Cowdenbeath what was outstanding on the transfer fee. £16k sounds about right.

From what I can remember I think we could have got the player back but the club wanted the money and he was sold to Brechin. Sandy was a good player for us but £28k was a mental fee for two 2nd division sides - both sides were going for promotion at the time and despite selling him to Berwick we actually finished 3rd behind Stirling Albion and Montrose. A crazy gamble by Berwick at the time and less than a year later they were almost tits up and locked out of Shielfield.
The Blue Mbu

User is offline   Radford 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • My Team:St.Johnstone

View PostKilbowie, on 05 February 2012 - 10:40, said:

St Johnstone paid about £100,000 for John Davies in 1990.

Fee was £165,000, which was a record for Saints at the time, although it was broken six months later when we signed Paul Wright from Hibs for £285,000.
Fascists against Beatson.

User is offline   Grant228 

• Person.
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Gamertag:PSN: Gparsfan2

View PostCowden Cowboy, on 04 February 2012 - 10:37, said:

Sandy Ross - didn't Berwick pay £28k for him? Wardlaw was £10k to St Mirren. Jimmy Liddle £15k to Forfar. There's been quite a lot of £15k/£10k deals over and above these.

We had a record fee paid of just £1500 until we were in the 1st Division in 1970. Firstly, Airdrie's big, bustling centre-forward Davie Marshall was signed in a £3,000 deal and then a few days later Cowden paid over £5,000 to Forfar Athletic to sign ex-Rangers full-back Davie Cairns.

After this spending spree, a couple of decades elapsed before there was serious cheque book usage again. In November 1990, £8,500 was paid to Meadowbank to sign Neil Irvine. Then in August 1992, the current record was established via a rather back door method. Roddy Grant was transferred by St Johnstone to Dunfermline. As a consequence St Johnstone owed Cowden a further £12,000 as a clause in the original transfer agreement provided that Cowden would receive a percentage of any future fees paid for Roddy. Unfortunately, Cowden accepted the transfer of midfielder Iain Lee in lieu of the cash and this didn’t prove to be a successful buy.

Record Transfer Fees

Received
£800 John Cumming (Portsmouth) - 1920
£3,000 Willie Paterson (Derby County) – 1921
£4,200 Willie Devlin (Huddersfield) – 1926
£5,000 Bobby Wilson (Dundee) – 1966
£6,000 Henry Mowbray (Blackpool) – 1967
£10,000 Andy Rolland (Dundee United – 1967
£15,000 Jimmy Liddle (Forfar) – 1983
£40,000 Craig Levein (Hearts) – 1983

Paid
£700 Willie Devlin (Clyde) – 1921
£1,000 Willie Rankin (Motherwell) – 1924
£1,500 Albert Craig (Forfar) – 1957
£3,000 Davie Marshall (Airdrie) – 1970
£5,000 Davie Cairns (Forfar) – 1970
£8,500 Neil Irvine (Meadowbank Thistle) – 1990
£12,000 Iain Lee (St Johnstone) – 1992

Considering all the good players Cowdenbeath have had all the years I'm surprised at how small the fee's you have recieved.

View PostKilbowie, on 05 February 2012 - 10:40, said:

We received some big fees over the years:

Newcastle paid us £100,000 for Mike Larnach circa 1978?
Rangers paid £100,000 for Davie Cooper in 1977
St Mirren paid £150,000 for Frank McDougall in 1979?
St Mirren paid £80,000 for Mike Conroy December 1987
Dunfermline paid about £70,000 for David Irons in 1988
Airdrie paid £175,000 for Owen Coyle in 1990
Airdrie paid us about £100,000 for Graham Hay and Paul Harvey in 1993/4?
Kilmarnock paid about £150,000 for John Henry in 1994?
Airdrie again paid about £80,000 for Sean Sweeney in 1994?
St Johnstone paid about £100,000 for John Davies in 1990

I think a survey a few years back identified ourselves and Morton as the only two Scottish clubs outwith the big two to make a trading profit over a certain period of time

In contrast the Steedmans didn't enjoy shelling out too much !!

Record fees pad were £50,000 to Clyde for Gerry McCabe in 1979? and £35,000 to Falkirk for Ken Eadie in Jan 88 - both went on to be fantastic players for The Bankies- well worth the outlay!!!!:D :D

Most clubs make a trading profit nowadays, I think the only team in the SPL who isn't is Rangers.

Dunfermline have even managed to make over £200,000 in transfers over the past five years.

View Postgordon the gopher, on 05 February 2012 - 11:30, said:

We received about £100k for Iain Turner to Everton I think, about £80k I think from Motherwell for Stevie Nicholas.

Then there was the whole Eddie Forrest saga with Airdrie, can't even remember how that one turned out

Edit - just googled it and we got £30k from Airdrie for Forrest

100k for Iain Turner? oaft :unsure:

View Postrockson, on 05 February 2012 - 17:32, said:

It won't happen now because most guys at our level are on one year contracts. Before Bosman teams cloud keep a player's registration unless they got a fee.

Being a relative youngster I'm sure the Bosman ruling came into effect before I was interested in football, but I think it's absolute lunacy that a club could keep a players registration even when the contract ran out, surprised it took as long as it did for that rule to get scrapped.

Aye, Good luck in life.

User is online   Nowhereman 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Dumbarton

View PostKilbowie, on 05 February 2012 - 16:00, said:

Forgot to add to my earlier post that Rangers also paid us £100,000 for Bobby Williamson and Dundee United paid us about £60,000 for Tommy Coyne back in 1983 and think that Hibernian paid us a fair whack for Paul Lovering in 1999? and Ayr paid about £85,000 for Gary Teale

as for the Blair Millar to Airdrie story didn't think we got anything like the £200,000 someone quoted on this thread earlier- guy was a smashing player for Bankies but know it didn't really work out for him at Broomfield

The Steedmans were really good at picking guys up for very little cash and selling them on at considerable profit - Owen Coyle perhapsbeing the best example of this - we paid Dumbarton £25,000 for his services and sold him less than 18 months later to Airdrie for £175,000 - cracking bit of business ( although I don't remember thinking that at the time!!:( )

For all that they buggered us and left us in the S**t like someone said earlier The Steedmans recognised that once Bosman came in their chances of making money on players was greatly reduced- Its quite scary now when you look back and see the fees that some first and second division sided paid for players in the late 80s and early 90s!!!!

That was a weird one. Can remember being surprised that we let him go for as little because he was a fairly decent player. Nothing compared to the surprise at Airdrie paying £175000 though. How the Steedmans pulled that one off I'll never know
Doesn't have a point of view,
Knows not where he's going to,
Isn't he a bit like you and me ?

User is offline   Boghead ranter 

• Third Division Sub

View PostNowhereman, on 06 February 2012 - 11:34, said:

That was a weird one. Can remember being surprised that we let him go for as little because he was a fairly decent player. Nothing compared to the surprise at Airdrie paying £175000 though. How the Steedmans pulled that one off I'll never know

yet because his surname was Coyle, he was never going to be accepted by a section of our boo-boys. Anyone with half a brain and knuckles that didn't quite scrape the panoramic Boghead terraces could see that he was a player.

I can't be arsed doing the research, but when you add up all the transfer fees paid for him over the years, his total must be one of the highest aggregated from a player who started off at a diddy club.

Maybe there's another topic in their, but I'm too much of a lazy-arse today to start that either.

This post has been edited by Boghead ranter: 06 February 2012 - 11:56

User is offline   Angusfifer 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:East Fife
  • Gamertag:Used to have a ZX81

View PostCowden Cowboy, on 04 February 2012 - 10:37, said:

Sandy Ross - didn't Berwick pay £28k for him? Wardlaw was £10k to St Mirren. Jimmy Liddle £15k to Forfar. There's been quite a lot of £15k/£10k deals over and above these.

We had a record fee paid of just £1500 until we were in the 1st Division in 1970. Firstly, Airdrie's big, bustling centre-forward Davie Marshall was signed in a £3,000 deal and then a few days later Cowden paid over £5,000 to Forfar Athletic to sign ex-Rangers full-back Davie Cairns.

After this spending spree, a couple of decades elapsed before there was serious cheque book usage again. In November 1990, £8,500 was paid to Meadowbank to sign Neil Irvine. Then in August 1992, the current record was established via a rather back door method. Roddy Grant was transferred by St Johnstone to Dunfermline. As a consequence St Johnstone owed Cowden a further £12,000 as a clause in the original transfer agreement provided that Cowden would receive a percentage of any future fees paid for Roddy. Unfortunately, Cowden accepted the transfer of midfielder Iain Lee in lieu of the cash and this didn’t prove to be a successful buy.

Record Transfer Fees

Received
£800 John Cumming (Portsmouth) - 1920
£3,000 Willie Paterson (Derby County) – 1921
£4,200 Willie Devlin (Huddersfield) – 1926
£5,000 Bobby Wilson (Dundee) – 1966
£6,000 Henry Mowbray (Blackpool) – 1967
£10,000 Andy Rolland (Dundee United – 1967
£15,000 Jimmy Liddle (Forfar) – 1983
£40,000 Craig Levein (Hearts) – 1983

Paid
£700 Willie Devlin (Clyde) – 1921
£1,000 Willie Rankin (Motherwell) – 1924
£1,500 Albert Craig (Forfar) – 1957
£3,000 Davie Marshall (Airdrie) – 1970
£5,000 Davie Cairns (Forfar) – 1970
£8,500 Neil Irvine (Meadowbank Thistle) – 1990
£12,000 Iain Lee (St Johnstone) – 1992

Did St Mirren pay a fee for John Dickson?

Edit. Just noticed question answered earlier...

This post has been edited by Angusfifer: 06 February 2012 - 15:55

The score remains 4-1 and counting...

Posted Image

User is offline   aftershocker 

• Third Division Signing Target

View PostConsolidate, on 04 February 2012 - 14:29, said:

Did we not spend a few quid bringing in Craig Winter?

from memory....was it not £4K?

and if i recall correctly.....was that not funded by the supporters trust?

User is online   Nowhereman 

• Third Division Apprentice

View PostBoghead ranter, on 06 February 2012 - 11:55, said:

yet because his surname was Coyle, he was never going to be accepted by a section of our boo-boys. Anyone with half a brain and knuckles that didn't quite scrape the panoramic Boghead terraces could see that he was a player.

I can't be arsed doing the research, but when you add up all the transfer fees paid for him over the years, his total must be one of the highest aggregated from a player who started off at a diddy club.

Maybe there's another topic in their, but I'm too much of a lazy-arse today to start that either.

Think Ian Wallace's £1,000,000 would probably beat Owen's combined fees in one go
Doesn't have a point of view,
Knows not where he's going to,
Isn't he a bit like you and me ?

User is offline   Boghead ranter 

• Third Division Sub

View PostNowhereman, on 06 February 2012 - 13:26, said:

Think Ian Wallace's £1,000,000 would probably beat Owen's combined fees in one go

aye, probably right. I just had it in my head that he's been transferred for a few 6-figure sums, likely not enough for a Million though.

• (3 Pages) +