Posted 03 February 2012 - 14:53
- Group: Platinum Members
- My Team:Heart of Midlothian
Twitter @capyb1
Posted 03 February 2012 - 14:58
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Rangers
- Euro 2012:Netherlands
But this case is worse if what you say is true as the BBC are just making their own license payers suffer. You expect this sort of thing from Sky but not the Beeb.
Posted 03 February 2012 - 15:05
- My Team:Rangers
- Euro 2012:Netherlands
capybara, on 03 February 2012 - 14:53, said:
Correct. Most of Sky/ESPN subscribers money these days is probably going into the wage packets of the top earning Premiership stars like Tevez, Rooney & co. The premiership get, I believe, around £800m annually from TV deals. If wages have got out of hand in football and its the armchair punter and season ticket holder who are paying it.
Posted 03 February 2012 - 15:08
- My Team:Motherwell
- Euro 2012:Germany
- Gamertag:PSN - BabyFratelli
This post has been edited by Mr. Brightside: 03 February 2012 - 15:08
Die, die, die....I can't
Posted 04 February 2012 - 14:57
- My Team:Falkirk
I mean what sad acts sit and watch that?
Merge & regionalise Senior/Junior divisions below, with access to SFL.
& NAE RESERVE SIDES, PHOENIX TEAMS, INCUBATOR's or NEWCO's!
Posted 04 February 2012 - 15:00
- My Team:Cowdenbeath
- Euro 2012:England
Posted 04 February 2012 - 15:01
- My Team:Dunfermline
Son of Fergie, on 03 February 2012 - 14:37, said:
Somewhat of an over-reaction surely?
Sport is a business. Sky are paying the most or offering the best package. Sadly there's nothing anyone can do about it.
Posted 04 February 2012 - 15:02
- My Team:Stirling Albion
- Gamertag:MacZidane
Posted 04 February 2012 - 15:03
- My Team:Arbroath
Cowden til i die, on 04 February 2012 - 15:00, said:
It's got so fuckin boring
I stopped watching the year Coulthard moved over and let Hakkinen win in Australia. Seemed pointless if it wasn't a contest
P&B NFL Prediction League Runner Up - 2011/12
Posted 04 February 2012 - 18:20
It has been the worst thing to ever happen to football though.
Posted 04 February 2012 - 18:49
I was reading an old Albion yearbook the other night, and looking at the crowds in the 50's and 60s, all up around the 8-10000 mark, with games against the OF attracting in excess of 20,000. At that time, if you wanted to watch a game of football, you had to get out the house and actually attend the match. It was also affordable, and there was no internet forums for the spineless goons to be swayed away from the game. Other attractions were at a premium too.
It's 2012 now, I can watch football on the telly almost 365 days a year, there's a multitude of other things to do, and the football is fucking expensive. And brutal for the most part too.
The casual supporter in this country can now indulge all their Old Firm fantasies from the comfort of their own home. There's no need to nip along to watch the local team to get a fix of football, as it's all there for them in their front room.
Barcelona v Real Madrid in a warm hoose, or in the pub with pals, or Stirling Albion v Forfar for £14 in the freezing cauld in a stadium with hardly anyone there, and ropey as fúck football? Oor clubs don't stand a chance in this day and age.
Posted 04 February 2012 - 18:58
- My Team:Arbroath
Lower the admission prices? Cut the amount of Football on the telly?
P&B NFL Prediction League Runner Up - 2011/12
Posted 04 February 2012 - 19:12
lichtie23, on 04 February 2012 - 18:58, said:
Lower the admission prices? Cut the amount of Football on the telly?
Cutting the amount of football on telly isnae happening, let's face it. And clubs will never take that leap of faith by lowering standard admission prices to attractive levels.
Basically, we're fucked. Football now is all about the 'big' teams and their marketable value. The wee teams are pishing against the wind.
Posted 05 February 2012 - 20:22
StewartyMac, on 04 February 2012 - 19:12, said:
The wee teams have no-one to blame but themselves. It's all too easy for diddy clubs to complain about Sky's domination and the Old Firm, but small clubs need to start living in the real world. Airdrie charge £15 to watch a terrible standard of football in an empty stadium and then the chairman complains that crowds are decreasing year by year. There will always be a market for local teams if they are priced correctly. Those who take the short term hit of drastically cutting the wage bill and cutting entrance fees will be fine. Those who continue to charge £15-£20 to watch SFL football will steadily decline losing fans year on year.
Posted 05 February 2012 - 20:44
Diamonds are Forever, on 05 February 2012 - 20:22, said:
You say that, but Albion cut the wage bill right down, and have still been forced to charge £14 for home games to just break even (which kinda shows how scary the accounts must have been pre-takeover). The alternative would be Shire-esque wages, but with the team likely to be bottom of Division 3, would people turn up to watch even bigger dross at a cheaper price?
I do agree that football is massively overpriced, but clubs are hamstrung with rising costs, player wages, and other expenses.
There's so much exposure to top class football these days, that our own product looks horrendous by comparison. The casual supporter simply won't turn up at lower league football during a season, other than the glory hunters who come out the woodwork for 'big games'.
Posted 05 February 2012 - 21:21
- My Team:Ayr United
This post has been edited by grazza: 05 February 2012 - 21:31
Posted 05 February 2012 - 21:34
Posted 05 February 2012 - 21:43
- My Team:Partick Thistle
- Euro 2012:Croatia
StewartyMac, on 04 February 2012 - 19:12, said:
Basically, we're fucked. Football now is all about the 'big' teams and their marketable value. The wee teams are pishing against the wind.
I agree with this. Its at the point for me now I don't really watch much football on tv because its so predictable that the same big teams win everything.
Posted 05 February 2012 - 21:53
StewartyMac, on 05 February 2012 - 20:44, said:
I do agree that football is massively overpriced, but clubs are hamstrung with rising costs, player wages, and other expenses.
There's so much exposure to top class football these days, that our own product looks horrendous by comparison. The casual supporter simply won't turn up at lower league football during a season, other than the glory hunters who come out the woodwork for 'big games'.
That is the main problem, no-one wants to blink first and be the first to drop wages hugely, but it's going to have to happen eventually. If everyone cut their wages and cut their prices then the leagues would still be just as competitive as the relative differences between clubs would still be the same. Of course, any good players would go elsewhere, but no matter what SFL clubs pay they are never going to be able to compete with TV games in terms of quality, so it has to look for other areas where it can bring back fans - competitiveness and pricing. Football on TV isn't going to decrease or go away, therefore I just think there's no point in clubs complaining about it, you either adapt to how it is, or you fold.
Posted 05 February 2012 - 22:03
- My Team:Ayr United
StewartyMac, on 05 February 2012 - 21:34, said:
Well i agree they have less access to it than we do perhaps but not hard to find a game somewhere if someone really wants to see it. The likes of Australia though football is competing with both codes of Rugby, Aussie Rules and Cricket. Here we get too obsessed with professional football and have too many full time pro clubs and probably too many semi pro clubs. I don't mean that in a way that clubs should cease to exist but look at places like the Netherlands and even some of the Nordic nations there have been some cracking players come out of amateur football. We have too many pro clubs spending resources on full time wages on guys who 1st division level is their peak. Some of these guys would stay and just play amateur and some would play abroad in a working holiday. Lets spend less money on these types of players, Sadly though we need broad agreement throughout Scottish football so no likely resolution soon.
Posted 06 February 2012 - 15:32
- My Team:Motherwell
- Euro 2012:France
Not before time has the BBC given up on this so called sport.
It's nothing but a procession of dullness.
The BBC would be better trying to bid for NASCAR, now there's a real motorsport.
#ChampionsLeagueWhenRangersDie
Posted 06 February 2012 - 15:51
- My Team:Greenock Morton
- Gamertag:iains82 (xbox live)
Sky Sports will be showing all the races, with the BBC showing half the races
- You cannot start a new topic
- You cannot reply to this topic