Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Your favourite players XI - The Pie Shop

• (3 Pages) +

Your favourite players XI best players you have seen play for your club Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Boghead ranter 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Dumbarton

View Postfineen2, on 05 February 2012 - 22:02, said:

Interesting to see players featuring with more than one club - John Brogan with three by my count: his finest hour surely the cup demolition of our near neighbours over two legs.

Team : Scotland
He played against England? Posted Image

This post has been edited by Boghead ranter: 06 February 2012 - 09:51

User is offline   NELLY 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath
GK - David Hay
RB - Mark Baxter (loved Jimmy boyle for cowden tho)
LB - Kenny Adamson (just sneaked ahead of Laurie ellis)
CB - Innes Ritchie
CB - Joe Mbu (ahead of dougie hill/anton smith/gary smith)
LM - Markus P (What a fucking signing)
RM - Dene Shields
CM - Morgaro Gomis - what a player
CM - Darren Mcgregor
ST - Graeme Brown
ST - Liam Buchanan

User is online   'Steve 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Brechin City
  • Gamertag:stevebcfc
I'm not a fossil unlike some of my City counterparts ( ;) ) so my XI is only from 1998.

Craig Nelson

Jamie Smith - Harry Cairney - David White - Callum Booth

Charlie King - Garry Brady - Darren Smith

Chris Templeman - Roddy Grant - Rory McAllister

Went for a 4-3-3 because I don't think we've been particularly blessed with excellent central midfielders, underlined by the fact I've included a player who has only played about a dozen times for us! We've also had a ridiculous amount of top strikers.

Notable mentions for Derek Soutar, Scott Walker, Kevin Fotheringham, Marc Millar, Scott 'the train' McCulloch, Kevin Byers, Darryl Duffy, Iain Russell, Roddy Black, John Dickson, Gary Twigg, Michael Paton and Steven Hampshire.

This post has been edited by 'Steve: 06 February 2012 - 13:15

Oooooh Garry Brady....

User is offline   fineen2 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Albion Rovers
Boghead Ranter - my team is, and always has been, the Wee Rovers: I must have missed a box when I signed up and as an old fart don't know how to change it. Tell me how and I'll do it.

User is offline   Boghead ranter 

• Third Division Sub

View Postfineen2, on 06 February 2012 - 19:43, said:

Boghead Ranter - my team is, and always has been, the Wee Rovers: I must have missed a box when I signed up and as an old fart don't know how to change it. Tell me how and I'll do it.

sorry dude, was just pulling your leg.

Click on "signed in as fineen2" at top left of page, then 'my profile'
then, click on "Edit my profile" towards the top right of that page.
then, towards the bottom of the page that opens up, there's a section for Team, that should let you take Rovers from the drop-down menu.

This post has been edited by Boghead ranter: 06 February 2012 - 20:24

User is offline   big al 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath

View Postfineen2, on 06 February 2012 - 19:43, said:

your name reminds me of when I ws young and we were driving by crossgates chippy. sign in window said 'we sell finnans'. so I asked 'why do they sell feinans?'

User is offline   Francesc Fabregas 

• Yes he does.
  • My Team:Stenhousemuir
This would be a good time to dust down this old post from my blog : HERE.

User is offline   StewartyMac 

• Stay Alive
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:MacZidane

View PostvikingTON, on 05 February 2012 - 16:59, said:

Care to take Graham and Forsyth back then?

In a heartbeat.

User is offline   Grant228 

• Person.
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Gamertag:PSN: Gparsfan2
Brilliant avatar StewartyMac! :D
Aye, Good luck in life.

User is offline   PWL 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
Going to show my age here but....

GK: Ian Macfarlane - Nutter as has already been said. He was capable of some fantastic saves...but also headbutted Jim McIntyre.

RB: Ray Montgomerie - more known as a Killie leg-end but was a great full back for us a number of years at Boghead.
LB: Craig Brittain - nippy, tenacious and could actually defend. Scored a few goals too. Only issue was height.
CB: Paul Martin - Old school no nonsence big man centre half. Only issue was gingerness.
CB: Martin Melvin - A classic combo with Martin. He was the smaller of the two but more mobile and a better "footballer".

MID: Allan Moore - Played out wide in midfleid he was only there a short while but looked a real class act.
MID: Hugh Ward - Classic old skool wee skinny tanner baw wide man.
MID : Jim Chapman - Again, he didn't play that many games but looked a class act.
MID : Murdo McLeod - Even in his mid/late thirties he looked head and shoulders above the rest.

FW: Paddy Flannery - Goals to games ratio over the last few decades is second to none and that's despite a slow start.
FW: Charlie Gibson - God. End of.

Subs from the likes of Gerry McCoy, John Bourke, Owen Coyle, Tom Coyle, Roland Fabianni, Harry Curran,Neil Collins and Donald McNeill.

This post has been edited by PWL: 07 February 2012 - 08:49

User is offline   Bold Rover 

• Third Division Apprentice

View PostPWL, on 07 February 2012 - 08:43, said:

CB: Paul Martin - Old school no nonsence big man centre half. Only issue was gingerness.

No issue with the pony-tail?! Fortunately that's long-gone, replaced with a sensible, though still ginger, crewcut.

User is offline   PWL 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
Ha ha. It was a sensible short back and sides with us. The Alice band and pony tail period was post Boghead.

User is offline   BRAVELANEY 

• Third Division Signing Target

View Postgordon the gopher, on 05 February 2012 - 22:20, said:

Iain Turner

Andy Paterson
Jonathan Page
Ronnie McQuilter
Paul Deas

Gretar Hjartarson
Craig Taggart
Steven Bell
Atle Nilsen

Jay Rodriguez
Robert Snodgrass

Obviously you have went for loan signings and on Rodriguez on current form, he hardly got a game for the albion that season, scary to think that actually

mind the midfielder, Landre Zhani Oni, cant spell his name, he was decent flash in the pan signing back in the day!

User is offline   Murph 

• Third Division Apprentice

View PostStewartyMac, on 05 February 2012 - 16:47, said:

Excluding any loan players...
Mark McGeown Rab Dawson - Garry Paterson - Andy Graham - Ross Forsyth Davie Thompson - Tommy Tait - Steven Bell- David O'Brien Stevie McCormick - John Brogan Subs - John Colquhoun, Andy Paterson, Craig Taggart, Chris Aitken, Alex Bone

Whit? Nae Erik Paartalu?

User is offline   fineen2 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
Profile now amended thanks to Ranter.

User is offline   RedintheBed 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Craig Nelson

Davie Watt Harry Cairney Bobby Brown Dougie Scott

Scott Thomson Charlie Elvin Barry Smith Darren Smith

Roddy Grant Rory McAllister

Subs:

Derek Neilson

Alex Brash

Charlie King

Ian Paterson

Ken Eadie

Just for fun I thought of picking a midfield of "Charlies". In addition to Charlie King and Charlie Elvin, I could have added Charlie Dunn and Charlie Adam.

User is offline   el Gringo 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd

View PostRedintheBed, on 07 February 2012 - 20:41, said:

Just for fun I thought of picking a midfield of "Charlies". In addition to Charlie King and Charlie Elvin, I could have added Charlie Dunn and Charlie Adam.

Must be a laugh-a-minute round your bit. ;)

User is offline   RedintheBed 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postel Gringo, on 07 February 2012 - 21:35, said:

Must be a laugh-a-minute round your bit. ;)

Hoping to have many more laughs after Saturday's game.

User is offline   Ginger ninja 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Clydebank

View PostRedintheBed, on 07 February 2012 - 20:41, said:

Craig Nelson

Davie Watt Harry Cairney Bobby Brown Dougie Scott

Scott Thomson Charlie Elvin Barry Smith Darren Smith

Roddy Grant Rory McAllister

Subs:

Derek Neilson

Alex Brash

Charlie King

Ian Paterson

Ken Eadie

Very strange seeing eadie as a sub but i suppose we saw the full potential. Should have played at a higher level if his work wasn't more important.
OWNED BY THE FANS. FOR THE FANS.

User is offline   airdrieman 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:o0sean1smith0o

View PostRedintheBed, on 08 February 2012 - 18:34, said:

Hoping to have many more laughs after Saturday's game.

Certainly won't be any for you during the game.

User is offline   theoriginalhedge 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postairdrieman, on 10 February 2012 - 17:33, said:

Certainly won't be any for you during the game.

Oh , the banter !!

User is offline   Angusfifer 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:East Fife
  • Gamertag:Used to have a ZX81
Impressive opponents over the years:

Brechin City: Nelson, Brown, King, Janczyk, Mitchell, Byers, I. Campbell, Templeman
Clydebank: Gallagher, Cooper, Charnley, Coyne
Forfar Athletic: Rae, Kinnear, Clark, Morris
Albion Rovers: Kasule, Slaven, Houston, Hill
Dumbarton: McLeod, Coyle, Clougherty, McQuade, Gallagher, Wilson
Arbroath: Jack, Payne, P. Tosh, Rylance, Penman
Cowdenbeath: Mbo, Ritchie, Marshall, Thomson, Paateleinan, Dickson, Allan
Stenhousemuir: Hancock, Jenkins, Hamilton, Sprott
Stirling Albion: McPhee, Bone, Thomson, McCormack, Colquhoun, Philliben
The score remains 4-1 and counting...

Posted Image

User is offline   Francesc Fabregas 

• Yes he does.
  • My Team:Stenhousemuir
This thread is favourite players, eh? There's a difference between "favourite" and "best".

- Colin Cramb - Scott Dalziel - John Dempster -

- Paul Murphy - Eric Paton - Iain Thomson - Andy Brand -

- Willie Lyle - Ross McMillan - John McKeown

- Scott Bennett -

An unorthodox 3-4-3 formation, but this bunch are the ultimare saucy boys.

• (3 Pages) +