If Rangers went t*ts up Would it affect your team? Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   el Gringo 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd
Most towns in Scotland (especially in the Central Belt) will see more people leave to watch the Old Firm every week than stay and watch their own team.

If Rangers were to go under, do you think it would boost your team's crowds eventually? Everyone takes great delight in calling us "h*ns without the bus fare", so I wonder if a few of those who DO have the bus fare would start coming to watch the Diamonds.

User is online   magee84 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
Depends, as long as a home game didnt clash with an orange walk
Then you might see the first ever zero crowd at a scottish game !!!!
Boom boom !
DARCY 12 march 2003
LUCAS 23 January 2004
RAMSAY 1 june 2005

Daddy loves you all......... and The Celtic as well obviously

User is offline   Ardiles 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Clydebank
Personally, I would like to see what happened if one or either did go to the wall or disappear off the Scottish scene.
The other senior clubs would find their level, and it would end the days of overhyped players getting overpaid.

User is online   smpar 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
I'd laugh, immensely. Then wait, for the other cheek to go titties up too.

View PostGordieBoy80, on 20 January 2012 - 18:20, said:

The Pars is like crack cocaine, you know it's not good but you still want a hit.

@seanmacgregorr

User is offline   The Moonster 

• International Call Up
  • My Team:Dumbarton
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View Postel Gringo, on 02 February 2012 - 17:21, said:

Most towns in Scotland (especially in the Central Belt) will see more people leave to watch the Old Firm every week than stay and watch their own team.

If Rangers were to go under, do you think it would boost your team's crowds eventually? Everyone takes great delight in calling us "h*ns without the bus fare", so I wonder if a few of those who DO have the bus fare would start coming to watch the Diamonds.

I can't see Rangers going out the game completely, they'd still exist in some way but hypothetically speaking ours would probably increase slightly. Can't see it making a big difference though as I still get the "why do you go and watch that pish?" in the pub after the game and these fans will probably just sit in the pub watching Chelsea rather than come to support their local team.
Little brown boy, the other side of the world....
He was born on a line many thousand year long, many more thousand to be
They survived on tradition, not wealth and position
Sounds pretty simple to me....

User is offline   PWL 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
The funniest thing would be making them start in Div 3 but I doubt that would happen. Dundee only lost points when they went into Administration.

User is offline   Angusfifer 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:East Fife
  • Gamertag:Used to have a ZX81
It would be the best thing ever if Rangers went to the wall. For the sake of our game Celtic would really have to move to England though as a monopoly would be even worse than a duopoly. Not sure it would have a big difference on our crowds as I doubt that the 100-200 folk from Levenmouth who actually watch the Govan lot would suddenly decide to follow their local team. Having seen some of the bigots at close range when we played them at East End in 2007 I'm not sure I'd want them at Bayview either...
The score remains 4-1 and counting...

Posted Image

User is offline   Sweet Pete 

• Always with the best intentions
A certain Sons "supporter" would need to start wearing a different shirt to Dumbarton games every week.
We will never forget you, Guido.

User is offline   big al 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath

View PostThe Moonster, on 02 February 2012 - 17:57, said:

I can't see Rangers going out the game completely, they'd still exist in some way but hypothetically speaking ours would probably increase slightly. Can't see it making a big difference though as I still get the "why do you go and watch that pish?" in the pub after the game and these fans will probably just sit in the pub watching Chelsea rather than come to support their local team.

you just hit the nail on the head. premiership and champions league on,sky are responsible for the smaller crowds at our
level. the old firm have always had much bigger crowds.
money that would have been spent going to football is now paid monthly to sky and then you are spoiled watching europes best so not going to pay to watch part time crap.

View Postbig al, on 02 February 2012 - 18:05, said:

you just hit the nail on the head. premiership and champions league on,sky are responsible for the smaller crowds at our
level. the old firm have always had much bigger crowds.
money that would have been spent going to football is now paid monthly to sky and then you are spoiled watching europes best so not going to pay to watch part time crap.

Speak for yourselves. The sexy samba soccer on display by the black and gold Barca every week is a joy to behold.

User is offline   big al 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath

View PostSweet Pete, on 02 February 2012 - 18:09, said:

Speak for yourselves. The sexy samba soccer on display by the black and gold Barca every week is a joy to behold.

was speaking about peoples perceptions. I think we play excellent soccer when its not gale force winds

User is offline   theoriginalhedge 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Brechin City
The OF fans are mostly glory hunters , so the lower leagues wouldn't be an option for them . 99% of these "fans" don't realise that there is football below SPL level !!!

User is offline   Gordon EF 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:East Fife

View Posttheoriginalhedge, on 02 February 2012 - 18:18, said:

The OF fans are mostly glory hunters , so the lower leagues wouldn't be an option for them . 99% of these "fans" don't realise that there is football below SPL level !!!

East Fife would be down at least one fan. I'd probably rupture a kidney laughing.
"Soon there will be a referendum on a whole new relationship between England and Scotland. Have a flutter on it if you like. But you don't often make money, betting against Alex Salmond!"

Michael Portillo

User is offline   Ardiles 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Clydebank

View PostPWL, on 02 February 2012 - 18:01, said:

The funniest thing would be making them start in Div 3 but I doubt that would happen. Dundee only lost points when they went into Administration.

Why should they be allowed to start in the 3rd Division mate?
When my club got kicked out the League, we had to start at the bottom of the Junior ranks!

User is offline   PWL 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostArdiles, on 02 February 2012 - 18:32, said:

Why should they be allowed to start in the 3rd Division mate?
When my club got kicked out the League, we had to start at the bottom of the Junior ranks!

I'd agree with you but I doubt the SFA have the balls to take on Rangers. If the club went into administration am I right in saying the penalty is a set 10 point loss? That's what Dundee got first time around wasn't it? That will be the precedent used.

User is offline   Clarko_son 

• International Call Up
  • Group: Platinum Members

View PostPWL, on 02 February 2012 - 18:40, said:

I'd agree with you but I doubt the SFA have the balls to take on Rangers. If the club went into administration am I right in saying the penalty is a set 10 point loss? That's what Dundee got first time around wasn't it? That will be the precedent used.

Rangers could easily go in liquidation never mind administration with the debts they (supposedly, depends on what you read/hear etc) have

User is offline   Loondave1 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Forfar Athletic
I doubt Station Park would be bursting at the seams.Apart from going to the football we have nothing in common with these "fans" they are used to success and two or three games without romping to victory would see them abandon ship (hypothetical as they aint gonna be there to start with).Its your emotional attachment at the "diddy" teams that keeps you turning out, if it was success we would nearly all be sitting in the house at 3 oclock by about the start of October.
Stonehenge where the demons dwell .....where the banshees live and they do live well......Stonehenge where a man is a man and the children dance to the pipes of pan.

User is offline   Sergeant Wilson 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Other

View PostPWL, on 02 February 2012 - 18:40, said:

SPL rules state a 10 point deduction for administration, further deductions could be made for not exiting admin. SFL haven't got a set penalty hence the Dundee/Livi penalties.

I think if it came to it a reformed club would get straight in to the SPL. SKY would insist. Only problem I can see with that is most of the rest of the SPL would put themselves in liquidation and demand to be reinstated. I doubt they'd ever get much bank sponsorship again though.

User is offline   Old Diamond 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd
Given Jim Ballantynes true allegence, he would probably buy Ibrox, move Airdrie United there and change the strip to (let me think), blue and white and change the name to Rangers United.

(the current Rangers 2nd Strip already has a red "V" of sorts)

Given the apathy af most Airdrie Supporters just now the reaction would be....meh!!

This post has been edited by Old Diamond: 03 February 2012 - 07:49

We Must Perform a Quirkafleeg!!!

User is offline   Hedgecutter 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
Unless your wee team wins 90% of their games, why would gloryhunters want to follow our lot? As said previously on here, the OF primarilly exist for no-hopers to follow their success while thinking that somehow reflects on them personally. That's a rule of thumb of course.

This post has been edited by Hedgecutter: 03 February 2012 - 08:59

Posted Image "Reekin' in Brechin, oh I was f***in' steamin'..."

• SPL Signing Target

View PostOld Diamond, on 03 February 2012 - 07:35, said:

, he would probably buy Ibrox, move Airdrie United there and change the name to Rangers United.

Now where have we heard that before ??? :rolleyes:

View Posttheoriginalhedge, on 03 February 2012 - 08:55, said:

Now where have we heard that before ??? :rolleyes:

You don't really do subtlety, do you?

It's almost as if Old Diamond knew the story of Airdrie United's formation...

User is offline   TheBeither 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Beith Juniors
Larkhall Thistle's attendances would go through the roof :lol:

This post has been edited by TheBeither: 03 February 2012 - 10:16

• SPL Signing Target

View PostSweet Pete, on 03 February 2012 - 10:02, said:

You don't really do subtlety, do you?

It's almost as if Old Diamond knew the story of Airdrie United's formation...

8)

User is offline   untitled00 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postel Gringo, on 02 February 2012 - 17:21, said:

Its unlikely that Rangers will actually go under. however if they did they would either form a new team and be accepted into the Sctotish Leagues (I actually think they'd be allowed straight back into the SPL, proabaly after SKY/ESPN throw a strop demanding Of games etc), or buy another team and move them to Ibrox. Likely a club with minimal assets ala East stirling.

Therefore the difference to our crowds would be pretty much f**k all.

The one thing thats pissing me off about the whole Rangers 'crisis' is that for years I've worked with Gloryhunting c***s and now they're up shit creek, the place I work now has Rangers fans that actually go to the games and are pretty balanced in their views. I mean I still rip into them but I feel a little guilty about taking the piss out of what are effectively 'real' fans. Posted Image

This post has been edited by untitled00: 03 February 2012 - 12:46

If at first you don't succeed
Destroy all evidence that you've ever tried

• (3 Pages) +