This post has been edited by billyg: 02 February 2012 - 08:35
Cowden' Fans
John Robertson
Rate Topic:

Posted 02 February 2012 - 07:46
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:St.Mirren
Is joining us and has signed a PCA , 2 year deal . Any info ? Heard there was interest from other clubs during the window?
Hasselbaink , what a wee dick
Posted 02 February 2012 - 08:34
- Group: Platinum Members
- My Team:Cowdenbeath
Clicky - can't say am surprised if it is true. The guy is a class above this league and deserves a shot at a higher level. Just pray we get some decent compensation and that he leaves with a Championship medal too.
Blue Brazil Scorers 2011/12 - Marc McKenzie - 18 Lewis Coult - 15 Mark Ramsay - 8 Jon Robertson - 7 Greg Stewart - 7 Jordan Morton - 6 Scott Linton - 5 Joe Mbu - 2 Kal Naismith - 2 Kenny Adamson - 1 John Armstrong - 1 Colin Cameron - 1 Derek Lyle - 1 Thomas O'Brien - 1 Own Goal - 1
Cowdenbeath FC Twitter Cowdenbeath FC Facebook
Posted 02 February 2012 - 08:38
Says "Striker " in the Sun , but is listed as defender , midfielder everywhere else. What postion does he play ?
Posted 02 February 2012 - 09:09
cwbluebrazil, on 02 February 2012 - 08:52, said:
midfielder ,dont know if this is true but he could defo play in bigger leagues
There was talk on the official site yesterday that we had signed a "young Scottish midfielder" on a pca , then this story appeared in the press this morning !
Posted 02 February 2012 - 09:18
The Minertaur, on 02 February 2012 - 08:34, said:
Clicky - can't say am surprised if it is true. The guy is a class above this league and deserves a shot at a higher level. Just pray we get some decent compensation and that he leaves with a Championship medal too.
No compensation as out of contract in the summer and turns 23 in April. Too good for the 2nd div and deserves return to ft football and crack at SPL or championship. Winning the title would be a fitting way to sign off. Top man.
Posted 02 February 2012 - 09:21
Aberdeen Cowden, on 02 February 2012 - 09:13, said:
Aye, and for a much bigger team too. I really hope he doesn't go there.
Too late ! You're talking uninformed mince anyway. If it wasn't for injury Darren McGregor would be getting a big move this summer thanks 100% to St Mirren FC taking him on a coaching him into a better player. What planet are you on ?
Posted 02 February 2012 - 09:38
billyg, on 02 February 2012 - 09:21, said:
Too late ! You're talking uninformed mince anyway. If it wasn't for injury Darren McGregor would be getting a big move this summer thanks 100% to St Mirren FC taking him on a coaching him into a better player. What planet are you on ?
Yes, agree about Darren, but he already was a good player when he left Cowden and getting rave reviews as soon as he pulled on a Saints shirt, not because of any "coaching" . And who would have pocketed all the cash?
It wasn't one player Saints took the last time either and I don't blame any of the guys who went but Cowden lost their best players and really were up against it. Now it looks like we will be losing or captain and probably best player again while we are still fighting to win the league. No-one will begrudge Robbo a move, he really deserves it, but it won't do Cowden's chances of winning the league any good.
Posted 02 February 2012 - 09:43
- Euro 2012:England
No compensation? f**k sake. Well that's just great.
I love how the blue scum from Glasgow can moan about losing a player for £5m but we lose all our good player every year for f**k all and have to rebuild a team every season. Even if we go up we will lose our best players, bring in poor replacements and struggle.
It's JON Roberston as well btw.
I love how the blue scum from Glasgow can moan about losing a player for £5m but we lose all our good player every year for f**k all and have to rebuild a team every season. Even if we go up we will lose our best players, bring in poor replacements and struggle.
It's JON Roberston as well btw.
Posted 02 February 2012 - 10:28
St Mirren are really pissing me off now, as well as Lennon. Yes, Robbo is entitled to go to a bigger club and earn more money but getting him for f**k ALL? Give us a break.
Posted 02 February 2012 - 10:47
- Group: Platinum Members
- Euro 2012:Portugal
Just playing within the rules. We lose good players on free's quite often too. Not that they turn out to be very good, see Andy Dorman.
Ooh it's good to be a Buddie!
Posted 02 February 2012 - 12:28
Any time Cowden sign a promising youngster, we tell him that if a bigger club comes in for him, CFC will not stand in his way. Jon Robertson is a class act, and our captain at 22. It's not at all surprising that a manager who has worked with a young player would want to sign him. If Colin Cameron moves on to higher things at the end of the season, he'll do the same. Robbo's out of contract in the summer and no compensation is due - these are the rules. Tough, but that's football. I'm glad we'll still have him for the promotion run-in. Robbo will give his all for the rest of the season - he will want to hold up a championship trophy.
I had a blether with Jon at the social club after we beat Brechin City in the play-offs to win promo to the first division. I told him I thought he could play for Scotland. He just laughed. He's a modest, likeable guy who is always learning. He deserves his move to the SPL, as did Darren McGregor. Every Cowden fan I'm sure will wish him well, and we'll watch his career with interest.
The Blue Brazil for ever
Posted 02 February 2012 - 12:45
Kierkegaard, on 02 February 2012 - 12:28, said:
Any time Cowden sign a promising youngster, we tell him that if a bigger club comes in for him, CFC will not stand in his way. Jon Robertson is a class act, and our captain at 22. It's not at all surprising that a manager who has worked with a young player would want to sign him. If Colin Cameron moves on to higher things at the end of the season, he'll do the same. Robbo's out of contract in the summer and no compensation is due - these are the rules. Tough, but that's football. I'm glad we'll still have him for the promotion run-in. Robbo will give his all for the rest of the season - he will want to hold up a championship trophy.
Good post Ron
Posted 02 February 2012 - 12:52
I appreciate Cowdenbeath fans must be pretty annoyed that we nicked your manager, then his assistant, then four players (the signing of Wardlaw in particular was handled rather badly) and now look like we're going to sign a fifth. However, it would seem from what I've heard about Robertson there's a fair chance he'll be going to someone else in the summer anyway, probably in the SPL, so what does it matter if it's us? Would it be OK if it was Dunfermline or Inverness Caley Thistle who were getting him on a pre-contract agreement? I'm sure the guy will still give his all to ensure he leaves with a championship medal.
Sadly losing players that you've developed and turned into a star for nothing is a part of football these days. When lennon came to us we lost Billy Mehmet and Andy Dorman for nothing - two big losses. Last summer it was Paul Gallacher and Michael Higdon and I'd imagine we'll lose Paul McGowan for diddly squat when his contract expires at the end of next season. It's annoying, we should get some sort of financial reward for our efforts (and I'm surprise there won't be any for Robertson as I thought the cut off was 24, not 23), but sadly that's not the case. Instead we need to look around for next guys to bring on - guys like Jon Robertson.
Posted 02 February 2012 - 13:02
Kierkegaard, on 02 February 2012 - 12:28, said:
Good post mate, If he turns out to be another gem like Darren McGregor then we'll be delighted.
Posted 02 February 2012 - 13:03
CowdenLoyal, on 02 February 2012 - 10:28, said:
St Mirren are really pissing me off now, as well as Lennon. Yes, Robbo is entitled to go to a bigger club and earn more money but getting him for f**k ALL? Give us a break.
He is out of contract? Thats just the way football is these days.StMirren arent going to go oh heres 30k even though we dont have to pay anything.
Every club loses players for fck all , blame Mr Bosman .
Scored a peach against Hibs.
THE BUDDIES COME ROARING BACK POOR DUNFERMLINE THEY GET THE SACK
NOW WE KNOW WHO'S GOING DOWN LETS HAVE A PARTY IN PAISLEY TOWN
Posted 02 February 2012 - 13:39
Stu, on 02 February 2012 - 12:52, said:
I appreciate Cowdenbeath fans must be pretty annoyed that we nicked your manager, then his assistant, then four players (the signing of Wardlaw in particular was handled rather badly) and now look like we're going to sign a fifth. However, it would seem from what I've heard about Robertson there's a fair chance he'll be going to someone else in the summer anyway, probably in the SPL, so what does it matter if it's us? Would it be OK if it was Dunfermline or Inverness Caley Thistle who were getting him on a pre-contract agreement? I'm sure the guy will still give his all to ensure he leaves with a championship medal.
You won't be disappointed, but couldn't have come at a worse time. We are pushing for promotion and really need Robbo to be at his best. I hope this doesn't affect his performances. If we do win the championship all will be forgiven.
Posted 02 February 2012 - 13:44
Robbo hasnt signed anything. It is all speculation. Also, we would be entitled to compensation as he is under 24.
Posted 02 February 2012 - 13:54
- Euro 2012:England
I wouldn't be annoyed at the Midden if he left, that's football. If he left to a rival I'd be annoyed.
Posted 02 February 2012 - 15:04
- Euro 2012:Germany
- Gamertag:Metalface Mark
As was stated its under 24 for compensation so Cowden would get a decent fee for him.
"ST MIRREN have adopted a new image. The Paisley side resemble the kid at school who returned from the summer holidays with a new school bag and a sun tan that refused to subside."
Posted 02 February 2012 - 15:12
MarreZ, on 02 February 2012 - 15:04, said:
As was stated its under 24 for compensation so Cowden would get a decent fee for him.
Yeah , although the amount would be reduced if some of his development was elsewhere. He was at Hearts previously , wasn't he?
Posted 02 February 2012 - 15:56
billyg, on 02 February 2012 - 15:12, said:
Yeah , although the amount would be reduced if some of his development was elsewhere. He was at Hearts previously , wasn't he?
He was at Hearts for 3 years from age 13-16. Has been with Cowden for 5 years.
The Blue Mbu
Delete Post
Delete From Topic
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats
- Time Now: May 26 2012 23:01
Skin by IPBForumSkins
Community Forum Software by IP.Board