Weather watch Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   froob87 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Irvine Meadow
hows campbell park looking for the weekend? checked the forecast and its not to drop below 0 tonight so i've got my fingers crossed :)

User is online   Flying Shottsman 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Shotts Bon Accord

View PostFlying Shottsman, on 02 February 2012 - 13:00, said:

Can't see our game being on, as frost won't be burned off early morning, and a decision must be made early, to save folk travelling from Dalry for nothing.

Our match with Dalry has been moved to the home of the Ayrshire club, as Hannah Park is presently not fit for purpose, according to our club.

User is offline   LeedsPhil 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Other

View Postpeasy23, on 03 February 2012 - 08:38, said:

Didn't go below zero at all last night, fairly hopeful for tomorrow now. We do have a back up plan of a friendly against Shotts at Petershill Park at 12 noon if both our games are off.

Regardless of how frosty it still is on Saturday, there should be at least one fixture going ahead : Rossvale v Lesmahagow on the Petershill plastic.
The SJFA West's site now shows that as a 3pm KO.
That sounds like a big clue that there's every expectation of the Petershill-Shotts 12 noon friendly needing the park, rather than the Ashfield-Petershill & Dalry-Shotts games being able to go ahead - the 3pm KO meaning the Rossvale & Lesmahagow players' arrival has been put back an hour until the dressing rooms are vacated ?

With all likely to be off up here in Aberdeenshire, I think I'll plan to be using a Sainsbury's voucher to Springburn station on Saturday !

User is offline   pollokfan1987 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Pollok

View PostFlying Shottsman, on 03 February 2012 - 11:03, said:

Our match with Dalry has been moved to the home of the Ayrshire club, as Hannah Park is presently not fit for purpose, according to our club.

Any reason on this.

User is online   andy25 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Auchinleck Talbot
  • Euro 2012:England

View Postpollokfan1987, on 03 February 2012 - 11:42, said:

Any reason on this.

Eh might be something to do with the weather :huh:

User is offline   neilybhoy7 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Thorniewood United

View Postglensmad, on 02 February 2012 - 19:44, said:

The rain isn't to come till late Friday night after another hard frost tonight and temperatures barely above freezing tomorrow. The rain is to be heavy and it's to be very windy as well, hardly ideal conditions for football. I reckon most games will be off.

Any updates Peter, can you and the team no go on the park with hairdryers and oil heaters? :lol:

User is offline   glensmad 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Rutherglen Glencairn
  • Euro 2012:Croatia

View Postneilybhoy7, on 03 February 2012 - 12:31, said:

Any updates Peter, can you and the team no go on the park with hairdryers and oil heaters? :lol:

No update, the rain hasn't started yet. :D

User is offline   pollokfan1987 

• My Team:Pollok
And it's blue sky aswell

User is offline   vinnie-7 

• My Team:Aberdeen

View PostNJS, on 02 February 2012 - 20:33, said:

I know you're up in Nairn but what do you reckon the chances of the Forres Thistle v Stonehaven game being on? Hoping it's on as the bus trip is a good laugh but it's clashing with mine and the wife's birthday night out so don't fancy being late for that!

In all seriousness i would fully expect it to be off, Forres being right next to Nairn and Nairn being completely white with frost it will be off. Cue the game being on and me looking like a fud now!
Come on the Dons!!

User is offline   boheesian 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Bo'ness United

View PostHTG, on 02 February 2012 - 22:25, said:

There's not a hint of frost on my car just now. I'm currently optimistic ...

Take it out of the garage, let it frost up, then you can get some exercise scraping the windscreen. SimplesPosted Image

Seriously HTG your optimism is commendable but currently the Royal Car Park is Baltic and I would say nae chance.

However, after my prediction last week you might be ok.

User is online   RobRoyGuy 

• Every Saint has a Past , Every Sinner has a Future
  • My Team:Kirkintilloch Rob Roy
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
  • Gamertag:KirkyRR - PS3
Got the shorts looked out for this afternoon its balmy weather in Glasgow !
Posted Image
I am so clever that sometimes i don't understand a single word of what i am saying,Oh...... RobRoyGuy's Posts DO NOT Reflect the Views, Opinions or Policy of Kirkintilloch Rob Roy F.C

User is offline   HTG 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Linlithgow Rose

View Postboheesian, on 03 February 2012 - 12:40, said:

Take it out of the garage, let it frost up, then you can get some exercise scraping the windscreen. SimplesPosted Image

Seriously HTG your optimism is commendable but currently the Royal Car Park is Baltic and I would say nae chance.

However, after my prediction last week you might be ok.

No scraping required this morning at 7:30 and my temp gauge showed +1 leaving Bo'ness and +2 by the time I reached the big city. Not sure if the toxic bubble was helping - you know Bo'ness has a BP/INEOS driven micro-climate!!

This post has been edited by HTG: 03 February 2012 - 12:45

User is offline   FuzzyBear 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
Was -3 when I got in my car in Lithgae this morning and it is not much warmer now. I will eat my hat if the game is on tomorrow. :P

View PostFuzzyBear, on 03 February 2012 - 12:47, said:

Was -3 when I got in my car in Lithgae this morning and it is not much warmer now. I will eat my hat if the game is on tomorrow. :P

With a touch of Broon Sauce.Posted Image

Won't be an early inspection at the home of the Championees, just to give it every chance.

User is offline   lithgierose 

• International Call Up

a couldnae finish that hat ffs :rolleyes:

User is offline   F_T_Y 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • My Team:Clydebank
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
Cant see the lochee game being on,was -3 in dundee this morning.

User is offline   HTG 

• Golden Shoe Winner

The hat equivalent of a chinese buffet!!!

User is offline   ladywell bear 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Maybole
Will forth be frost and snow free the mora.

User is online   ga1972 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostHTG, on 02 February 2012 - 22:25, said:

There's not a hint of frost on my car just now. I'm currently optimistic ...

Cant class a push bike as a car thou can we :P

User is offline   Funkasaurus 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Saltcoats Victoria
Quite mild in Ayrshire at 4°C and supposed to stay dry so games in that area should have a chance of being on. As for Campbell park i'm hoping it's on but it's took a battering the past few weeks and has been cut up quite bad and with this being the 4th home game in a row for Saltcoats i've no idea how the ref will call it. Derby game against Ardeer so hoping it's not called off for the 2nd time (first time was a disgrace of a decision)

User is offline   HTG 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postga1972, on 03 February 2012 - 15:10, said:

Cant class a push bike as a car thou can we :P

Back to your kitchen you!

View Postladywell bear, on 03 February 2012 - 14:42, said:

Will forth be frost and snow free the mora.

Try for MidsummerPosted Image

User is online   ga1972 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostHTG, on 03 February 2012 - 15:40, said:

Back to your kitchen you!

had to get my own back ;)

User is offline   NJS 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Aberdeen

View Postvinnie-7, on 03 February 2012 - 12:39, said:

In all seriousness i would fully expect it to be off, Forres being right next to Nairn and Nairn being completely white with frost it will be off. Cue the game being on and me looking like a fud now!

Always had you down as one anyway mate,haha! Cue you trying to suss who I am now ;)

User is offline   peasy23 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Petershill

View PostLeedsPhil, on 03 February 2012 - 11:04, said:

Regardless of how frosty it still is on Saturday, there should be at least one fixture going ahead : Rossvale v Lesmahagow on the Petershill plastic.
The SJFA West's site now shows that as a 3pm KO.
That sounds like a big clue that there's every expectation of the Petershill-Shotts 12 noon friendly needing the park, rather than the Ashfield-Petershill & Dalry-Shotts games being able to go ahead - the 3pm KO meaning the Rossvale & Lesmahagow players' arrival has been put back an hour until the dressing rooms are vacated ?

With all likely to be off up here in Aberdeenshire, I think I'll plan to be using a Sainsbury's voucher to Springburn station on Saturday !

It's nothing to do with the dressing rooms, there are more than 2 at Petershill Park, it's just to allow the two teams for Rossvale's match adequate time ( a clear hour) to do a proper warm up.

In regards to Hannah Park, I'd heard that there is a disease in the pitch which had caused massive drainage problems, maybe Adastra or Flying Shottsman can enlighten us? Shame, as Hannah Park has been one of the consistently best pitches over the years.

This post has been edited by peasy23: 03 February 2012 - 18:25

• (5 Pages) +