Good league, Bad league ? Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Only coo in the village 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath
I think that the 2nd Division is turning out to be a very interesting division this season and the standard of football has been quite decent.

The title race is between 2 teams who were less fancied than some and it could still go either way. Cowden have flair and play good football but Arbroath are a very good team who nobody fancies taking points from. Samuels signing was very impressive while Cowden lost a key player in Jordan Morton who could beat defenders with ease.

The play- off spots are very much up for grabs with Stenny, Brechin, Airdrie,East Fife and Dumbarton all in there fighting it out. All lack consistency but have pulled of good results against their rivals. Brechin and East Fife should be doing better and Stennys form is up and down like a brides nightie.

At the bottom Stirling are looking to improve, Albion Rovers were doing well but now fading a bit and Forfar are coming on to a bit of form.

Decent league I feel and I have really enjoyed this season so far. Still so much to play for for every team.

User is offline   1320Lichtie 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Arbroath
It's a great league. Best in Scotland for unpredictability by a mile, the league title/play off spots/relegation spots battle all look as if they will last until the very end!

User is offline   thehog 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Brechin City

View Post1320Lichtie, on 01 February 2012 - 23:01, said:

It's a great league. Best in Scotland for unpredictability by a mile, the league title/play off spots/relegation spots battle all look as if they will last until the very end!

says it all

User is offline   itzdrk 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Euro 2012:Germany
2nd division for me is a great league irregardless of how low down the pecking order it is
If the kids are united then we'll never be divided

User is offline   Albino Rover 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Albion Rovers
I grew up going to see SPL teams (thanks to Bobby Williamson's old "kids for a quid" scheme) and only occasionally visiting Cliftonhill, but through adolescence as my loyalty swayed towards Albion Rovers I think I've been educated in what football is really about.

These are the lucky teams, with players who know the meaning and rewards of hard work and long-suffering fans for whom success is sweetest.

Take note world, this is the real football!
The horror, the horror!

User is offline   Aloysius Snuffleupagus 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:Spain
It's a cracking league, and whilst I thought last summer that I wouldn't care if we went back down, I'd now be pretty sick if we fall out of it.

User is offline   diamonds2002 

• Sunday League Sub
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd
I think it is helped by no one really being able to defend. Any team is capable of shipping 3, 4 or 5 goals (maybe with the exception of Cowdenbeath).
We hate Airdrie more than you

User is offline   Bold Rover 

• Third Division Apprentice
Yes, even allowing for our current miserable form, it's been a good season. The slaughter of Airdrie was awesome, but the best match I've seen in years was the 3-3 v Cowden - it had everything, played on a muddy low-league pitch by 26 guys giving their all. What better way to spend a Saturday?

User is offline   Consolidate 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Dumbarton
I suppose the responses so far are unsurprising - Cowden and Arbroath fans are enjoying themselves as they have one eye on promiotion, Airdrie have scored/shipped a crazy amount of goals so they're fairly entertained and the Rovers' fans are revelling in the fact that they're not only surviving but holding their own quite capably.

Interesting though that an Ayr fan has commented on how good this div is - perhaps softening the landing for next season?
East Fife players were said to be "covered in chicken tikka and potatoes" after a fracas in the cafeteria during an Irish Sea crossing.

User is offline   Aberdeen Cowden 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostConsolidate, on 02 February 2012 - 15:30, said:

I suppose the responses so far are unsurprising - Cowden and Arbroath fans are enjoying themselves as they have one eye on promiotion, Airdrie have scored/shipped a crazy amount of goals so they're fairly entertained and the Rovers' fans are revelling in the fact that they're not only surviving but holding their own quite capably.

Interesting though that an Ayr fan has commented on how good this div is - perhaps softening the landing for next season?

Survival was uppermost for most Cowden fans at the start of the season. I thought Brechin would run away with it and ourselves and Arbroath would be nearer the bottom. But it has been a great season so far with many exciting games. Just a pity so many folk waste their time watching the OF instead of their local clubs.

User is offline   diamonds2002 

• Sunday League Sub
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd

View PostConsolidate, on 02 February 2012 - 15:30, said:

I haven't really been entertained more thoroughly disenfranchised.
We hate Airdrie more than you

User is offline   Sweet Pete 

• Always with the best intentions
I didn't enjoy the start of the season and felt we'd be relegated and it'd be a write off from very early on (exactly like the previous two seasons in that respect) but then we pulled it together, made some changes to starting XI amd squad and found some guts and some form (exactly like the previous two seasons) and I'm enjoying it a lot more week to week, even if it can be very nerve wracking to watch a gung ho side score a similar number as they concede.
We will never forget you, Guido.

User is offline   The Moonster 

• International Call Up

View Postdiamonds2002, on 02 February 2012 - 10:30, said:

I think it is helped by no one really being able to defend. Any team is capable of shipping 3, 4 or 5 goals (maybe with the exception of Cowdenbeath).

I'd agree with that. I think every manager in the league thinks they can get 4th spot at least and I think that has shown in the way each team has set up. Most teams I've seen have been pretty good in attack but struggle to deal with going the other way.
Little brown boy, the other side of the world....
He was born on a line many thousand year long, many more thousand to be
They survived on tradition, not wealth and position
Sounds pretty simple to me....

User is offline   Bogs_Dollox 

• Third Division Sub
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Forfar Athletic
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
Whoever gets relegated should feel hard done by IMHO as there is very little between the teams both talent wise and pointswise
booooh The sun has got his hat on, bip-bip-bip-booray!, The sun has got his hat on and he's bumming out today! baaaaaaaah #Briday

User is offline   big al 

• Third Division Sub
would like to correct the statement that said its a 2 horse race for the title. if we lose at dumbarton on sat they are only 7 behind us in fourth and definetely in it so that would make it a 4 horse race. having seen stenny I dont think theyr good enough to win the league personally but theyr still in it. cant comment on dumbarton, was a near hurricane the day I saw them but they are still in it for sure. if we beat them on sat, maybe 13 would be too big a gap

• International Call Up

View Postbig al, on 02 February 2012 - 17:23, said:

would like to correct the statement that said its a 2 horse race for the title. if we lose at dumbarton on sat they are only 7 behind us in fourth and definetely in it so that would make it a 4 horse race. having seen stenny I dont think theyr good enough to win the league personally but theyr still in it. cant comment on dumbarton, was a near hurricane the day I saw them but they are still in it for sure. if we beat them on sat, maybe 13 would be too big a gap

It wisnae the last time :P.

User is offline   big al 

• Third Division Sub

View PostThe Moonster, on 02 February 2012 - 18:02, said:

It wisnae the last time :P.

well if we do make it 13 it will be this time

• International Call Up

View Postbig al, on 02 February 2012 - 18:08, said:

well if we do make it 13 it will be this time

You're probably right.

User is online   Gordon EF 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:East Fife
The 2nd division is a great league. Because of the level of teams who tend to end up in it it's usually very close from top to bottom and quite unpredictable. Teams can surge up the league and drop back down much more frequently than the other leagues.

The last few years have also seen the majority of teams, at least, trying to play attractive, attacking, passing football, often at the expense of their defence. Which makes for a lot of very entertaining games.

Brilliant league actually.
"Soon there will be a referendum on a whole new relationship between England and Scotland. Have a flutter on it if you like. But you don't often make money, betting against Alex Salmond!"

Michael Portillo

User is offline   Sweet Pete 

• Always with the best intentions
Another advantage of this league is that the teams are almost always part-time, so are not under pressure to play ultra defensive football like those in Division 1 in a desperate bid to avoid relegation and the financial problems which that brings for full-time sides.
We will never forget you, Guido.

User is offline   RedintheBed 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Brechin City
So far this season, Brechin have been close to the relegation playoff place, then a few weeks later close to the promotion playoffs. A few results - good or bad - can mean being near the top or bottom of the league. It's also the only league in Scotland where 4 teams can change from season to season.

User is offline   Neilly 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Stenhousemuir
Aye it's not a bad wee division to be honest there are a few teams who like to play football certainly not the worst standard in the world.

Away day wise although there is nothing too far away the away days on the whole are utter shite (and I include Ochilview in that before some wee lassie takes a hissy fit)

I miss Hampden, Berwick, Peterhead, Nanna and Montrose.

Airdrie, Stirling, Dumbo, East Fife are fucking horrendous in terms that there is no decent boozers near the ground and their over priced shitey lego land stadiums are no ma cup eh tea.

Albion Rovers is a shit hole, Owens is not a bad wee boozer right enough. Brechin is dull as dishwater everything is just so grey and boring. Same for Forfar I suppose.

Cowden is actually a decent day out on the train(although not done it for a few years) and Partners is a decent wee boozer so I would probably put it up there with Arbroath in terms of best days out. Missed Arbroath the first game but no doubt will be staying over for the last away game and always enjoy my trips there.
This is my territory be on your way...

User is offline   Bogs_Dollox 

• Third Division Sub
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Forfar Athletic
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands

View PostNeilly, on 02 February 2012 - 19:28, said:

Aye it's not a bad wee division to be honest there are a few teams who like to play football certainly not the worst standard in the world.

Away day wise although there is nothing too far away the away days on the whole are utter shite (and I include Ochilview in that before some wee lassie takes a hissy fit)

Airdrie, Stirling, Dumbo, East Fife are fucking horrendous in terms that there is no decent boozers near the ground and their over priced shitey lego land stadiums are no ma cup eh tea.

Albion Rovers is a shit hole, Owens is not a bad wee boozer right enough. Brechin is dull as dishwater everything is just so grey and boring. Same for Forfar I suppose.

Cowden is actually a decent day out on the train(although not done it for a few years) and Partners is a decent wee boozer so I would probably put it up there with Arbroath in terms of best days out. Missed Arbroath the first game but no doubt will be staying over for the last away game and always enjoy my trips there.

booooh The sun has got his hat on, bip-bip-bip-booray!, The sun has got his hat on and he's bumming out today! baaaaaaaah #Briday

User is offline   Cowden til i die 

• Undefined
  • Euro 2012:England
Best league in Europe IMO.

Partners?!? That's 3rd behind the New Goth and Wee Jimmies.

User is online   Nowhereman 

• Third Division Apprentice

I am sure you are just at the wind up as most of your posts are but, serious question, how is sitting in the stand at Ochilview any better than at Stirling or Dumbarton ? Oh and our admission prices are the same as yours
Doesn't have a point of view,
Knows not where he's going to,
Isn't he a bit like you and me ?

• (2 Pages) +