Skiving At Work Money for nothing and chicks for free. Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   TheScarf 

• Sowing the seeds of love.
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Gamertag:PSN : whoorsir
I'm on here quite a bit during the day at work. I hate the job so I try and spend as much time on here as possible whilst doing the least amount of work. The company is a fucking joke anyway.
And what?

User is offline   11thHour 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Celtic

View PostJimmy85, on 01 February 2012 - 23:44, said:

I'm outstanding at skiving. Probably the thing I'm best at in the world.

I could relate to this.

I have a lot of downtime at work so I spend a lot of my week looking like im busy and it can be good when I cant really be bothered and want a relaxed day but the days when I wouldn't mind having something to do are fucking terrible. There's nothing worse than clock watching from 8:30 in the morning till 5 at night.

Sometimes looking like I'm busy is actually just as taxing as regular work.

User is online   FC_1919 

• Hug It Out...
  • My Team:Queen of the South

View PostTryfield, on 02 February 2012 - 00:33, said:

I love my work/job. I thoroughly enjoy doing a shift then having some relaxation time and a cupla pints.

I was working out the other day there that between day 1 of this financial tax year and day 365(or is it 366[leap year]) that I'll have had 137 days off without taking a day off sick.

Smashing amount of time off. :D

I wouldn't like to work Mon - Fri 8 - 4 or Mon - Fri 9 - 5.

Is that not the norm, 104 weekends, 25 days holiday and about 10 stat days
Woooooooof

User is offline   dave258 

• ( o )( o )
  • My Team:Rangers
  • Gamertag:sexpest3000

View PostFC_1919, on 02 February 2012 - 16:25, said:

I thought that as well tbf, although my holiday entitlement is only 20 days at the moment. More than make up for that with whoreloads of flexi time though.
Gambling Diary Profit/Loss 2010: -£85.98
Gambling Diary Profit/Loss 2011: +£44.54

User is offline   wunfellaff 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:set phasers to malky
Back in the early 90's (dear God), I worked in a big electrical retailer in Edinburgh, the stock room was loaded and the tv's were huge!
1 of the boys discovered if you stacked the tv's with a hole in the middle and you had a nice wee nest :D

After a week of us all being on the piss after work we finally sold a tv that uncovered his hidey-hole. The whole week we had been sweating booze and selling stuff. he had been asleep the coont!

Within 6 months,,,,,,,,,,,,,assistant manager! Figures!
And what rough beast, its hour come round at last,
Slouches towards Bethlehem to be born?
Posted Image Winner of P+B's 1st Paddypower Last Man Standing April 2012

User is offline   lau03143 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Rangers
Sometimes I just cannae be arsed and spend my time on here, the TAMB and Bayernforum.

But other times I get right into my work.

Also depends who my boss is and if they are a w****r or not.
Mia San Mia

User is offline   Rock Legend SMFC 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:St.Mirren
When i first joined P&B in 2010, i was working in Spar doing nightshifts (10-5am) before my (current) job started.

Because it was just me & a 16 year old lad there, we used to stick the laptop under the counter & use the Wi-Fi from the RBS next door.

Safe to say, you're usually inactive at 3am on a Thursday morning, so my time was spent between here, Facebook, Twitter & Youtube.

The only time the manager ever popped in during that spell, was when he actually phoned us beforehand.

I loved that job Posted Image

Strathspey Thistle- 11/02/12

no he has done nothing wrong today

In reference to Suarez at Old Trafford.

User is offline   Tryfield 

• Happy Happy fuckwit
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:EH?

View PostFC_1919, on 02 February 2012 - 16:25, said:

137 days off is very good for anyone in the logistics/transport/distribution industry.

User is offline   ThatBoyRonaldo 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Linlithgow Rose
  • Euro 2012:Russia
  • Gamertag:colonel_sanders1 (PS3)
I wish I had a job you could properly skive in.
'well let me quote the late, great colonel sanders, who said, 'im too drunk to taste this chicken'

User is offline   Pink Freud 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Mirren

View PostSEETHING, on 01 February 2012 - 15:51, said:

I can never decide whether I enjoy doing nothing at work or not. On the one hand, getting paid a decent day's wage for browsing P&B and playing Words With Friends is pretty sweet. On the other, time definitely drags more when you're effectively just waiting until you can reasonably justify heading home.

I have literally gone and hidden in a cupboard on a couple of occasions in order to avoid being asked to do stuff - it was pretty shameful, but I'd like to think that the ends justified the means. Posted Image

Do you enjoy actually doing work while at work, or are you a fan of strategic, hour-long retreats to the toilet?

View PostSEETHING, on 02 February 2012 - 12:34, said:

Middle-management are fucking arseholes, always.

FOr the life of me, I can't fathom out why you don't get on with them...:whistle
ECR leader Jan Zahradil has attacked the decision to go ahead with the House of History project. Speaking in Strasbourg, the Czech member said, "We do not need this. As Europe is losing competitiveness and geopolitical weight, it is becoming a museum anyway."

User is online   10 CC ICT 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Gamertag:FTOF

View PostTryfield, on 02 February 2012 - 00:33, said:

I love my work/job. I thoroughly enjoy doing a shift then having some relaxation time and a cupla pints.

I was working out the other day there that between day 1 of this financial tax year and day 365(or is it 366[leap year]) that I'll have had 137 days off without taking a day off sick.

Smashing amount of time off. :D

I wouldn't like to work Mon - Fri 8 - 4 or Mon - Fri 9 - 5.

View PostTryfield, on 06 February 2012 - 01:12, said:

137 days off is very good for anyone in the logistics/transport/distribution industry.

I'll see your 137 and raise you to 209 days. I work in logistics too. ;)

12 hour shifts though.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Dream no small dreams for they have no power to move the hearts of men.

User is offline   Stewbo 

• Third Division Sub
  • Euro 2012:Greece
  • Gamertag:Xbox Live: CFC Stew
TBH if the pay was better my job would be amazing. Float about the shop floor chatting up all the pretty girls, having a blether about the football with the lads and nabbing junkies/criminals/wee spooky b*****ds when they nick stuff, day long skive sprinkled with a dash of fun work :)
If you give me an Emmy winning performance I will have Kobe Bryant sing at your birthday party!!!

User is offline   young_bairn 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Falkirk
Where I work you are either busy as f**k or sat on your arse. I have had shifts where we have been shut down and I have not left the control room apart for my dinner break :lol: . Unfortunately there is no hiding place when you have a radio with you.

Falkirk are chasing 6th in the SPL, which I believe would be their best ever finish

Falkirk FC breaking the rules once more........According to Bloobell-End

User is offline   The_Craig 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Gamertag:PSN: The_Craig_MKII

View Post10 CC ICT, on 06 February 2012 - 12:08, said:

I'll see your 137 and raise you to 209 days. I work in logistics too. ;)

12 hour shifts though.

You've got me thinking.

Including time off and Annual leave, I have 217 days off every year. I do a 12 hour shift as well.

Sadly not many opportunities to skive though :(

User is offline   mattydfc 

• Pelecan
  • My Team:Dundee
If my job was better paid I'd never leave.

Long live McDonalds.

Zeus, on 20 February 2012 - 19:03, said:

Leave me alone you creepy little pervert

User is offline   SweeperDee 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Dundee
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
  • Gamertag:Borussian Myth
I work in a hotel as a waiter, never get a sit down, longest break is about 15 minutes, and the staff room is shitty. i LOVE my job.
It's hip to be square.

User is offline   Kejan 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Scotland
I'm dole scum but my last two jobs I could reguarly have good skiving time.

One was nightshift in a sheltered living facility for 4 people with mild physical disabilities who all had jobs/uni to go to and would rarely callm if at all. I never had it so good - basically paid to sit about all night doing f**k all. An ok wage due to the unsociable hours and very, very often I would have no work to do as by the time I'd arrive they would be in their scratcher. Free internet, food in the kitchen and TV in the office.

The other one was with the NHS and most internet sites were blocked by the 'admin team', although Pie and Bovril would get through the system. Used to spend hours on here just reading through threads to break up the day.

Great ways to avoid work

-Get tons of paper and just look at and shuffle it about. Semi-important documents and just keeping ruffling them over and out even do the puzzled/hard at work face when doing this.

-Take your time on the toilet. Start by slow-pacing into the room. If you are a male, sit down to pee (the time all adds up). Play some games on your phone whilst taking a shit like tetris, snake or some other fancy app. game.

-If you work in a huge building like a hospital, office blocks. Just waste time by wandering around at a very slow pace. I used to do this reguarly just to kill 5-10mins of boredom.

-Make the most of telephone conversations. Great especially if you got the over 60s on the line, many of them can blether and blether and well, just keep them talking. I used to reguarly edge them on, ''Is that an Irish accent? Lovely part of the world'' etc and they would open up and sometimes telll you their life story.

User is offline   JamboMikey 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
When I worked in a shop I basically spent most of my working hours avoiding work.

Playing cauliflower football out the back, building a bed out of packets of bog roll in the disabled bog and falling asleep on it, watching the CCTV to try and see imaginary shoplifters that you invented, just getting a brush and sweeping the floor somewhere for no reason. All of these are great ways to kill time.

Used to regularly take massively long lunch breaks at home and come up with outrageous excuses like, 'I had to go and look for my gran's dog' or 'I feel asleep'.

This post has been edited by JamboMikey: 07 February 2012 - 09:13

5 - 1

User is offline   RayBees 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Caledonian FC
  • Gamertag:RayBees1
There's something deliciously naughty about checking out the 'Skiving At Work' thread on P&B whilst actually being at work.

Personally I've always been an advocate of the George Costanza from Seinfeld motto that, if you look annoyed, people think you're busy. Never ever fails.

What would also help is having a computer screen facing away from the rest of the office. There's a seat I've had my eye on for years. It will be mine one day.

User is offline   Mozzamozza 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Aberdeen
  • Euro 2012:Poland
  • Gamertag:I love technology.

View Postlau03143, on 02 February 2012 - 21:08, said:

Sometimes I just cannae be arsed and spend my time on here, the TAMB and Bayernforum.

But other times I get right into my work.

Also depends who my boss is and if they are a w****r or not.

Ally McCoist, is that you?
Moray Cup: May have an adverse effect on activity and attention in children.
Vote Moray Cup, 2016

• (2 Pages) +