List the grounds you've been to Just for fun Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   der73 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Ardrossan Winton Rovers
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
Hey all. I'm bored, so just wondering what grounds everyone has everyone been to in the past. What's been your favourite, and what's been your least favourite? I know it's probably been done to death before and I'm expecting a backlash, but hey-ho

As an Ardrossan Winton Rovers fan, I've been to...

Ardrossan (obviously)
Largs Thistle
Kilbirnie Ladeside
Dalry Thistle
Saltcoats Victoria
Ardeer Thistle
Kilwinning Rangers
Irvine Meadow
Irvine Victoria
Troon
Whitletts Victoria (both Voluntary Park and Dam Park)
Maybole
Girvan
Craigmark Burntonians
Hurlford United
Darvel

I've never been to Beith (believe it or not), Auchinleck Talbot, Cumnock, Lugar Boswell Thistle, Annbank United, Glenafton Athletic, Muirkirk or Kello Rovers. However I fully intend to make it to Glenafton for our league fixture there this season, that should be a good one. The only Central ground I've been to so far is Yoker Athletic. Hoped to make it to a few more this season with us being in the Super League now but it just hasn't happened so far.

As for my favourite, I'm not sure. Call me weird, but there's something really nice about Darvel. I like nice quiet towns that are out of the way. But I'm going to plump for Girvan, nice simple wee ground, nice locals, good bar, plus the scenery around the ground is stunning. And also we won 8-0 there a few months back :D

My least favourite, not sure. A big shout is Maybole, purely because we nearly got into a fight with the locals after our league game there last season. Although having said that, if we face them again in the league next season (they may very easily be promoted), I'll happily go back there. But for me it's got to be Whitletts. No offence but Dam Park has no atmosphere, the action is several miles away whilst you sit in a Soviet style stand. Not for me, I like the players and referee to be within abuse hearing distance.

Lets hear all your shouts ;)
facebook.com/der2004
facebook.com/Winton-Rovers-Unofficial
twitter #der2004

User is offline   Monybot 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Auchinleck Talbot
Jesus suffering u r bored!! Al list thr 1s i havent been to.. St ants and clydebanks.

User is offline   Monybot 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Auchinleck Talbot
O aye favorite.. Hard 1 that. Out wae talbot al go for newlandfield. Great set up..
Leadt favorite.. Maybe.. Kilsyth. I just hate the trip their lol.

User is offline   peasy23 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Petershill
Quicker listing the ones in the West I've not been to.

Been to all the current Super Premier and Central First grounds.

Not been to Whitletts or Dalry of the Super First, Troon, Kilwinning, Kello, Ardeer, Craigmark or Darvel from the Ayrshire district and Carluke's new ground and Wishaw from the Central 2nd. Will have a think later about East and North.

This post has been edited by peasy23: 01 February 2012 - 20:14

User is offline   Kingjad 

• My Team:Clydebank
  • Gamertag:Kingjad86
It would be easier for me to list the grounds I have not yet attended, or list unique grounds:

The following 2 are ones I've attended but I feel are unique to mention:

Clydebank (Glenhead Park)
Petershill (Petershill Park, both old and new)

In Super First, I've never been to Ardrossan. Side note: Rutherglen's old Southcroft Park was another I visited before it was demolished.

In Ayrshire District, never been to Ardeer, Darvel, Irvine Victoria, Lugar Boswell, Muirkirk or Saltcoats.

In Central First, I have not been to Battery Park, which is currently home for Greenock and Port Glasgow.

In Central Second, I've not been to Carluke's new ground (but was a fan of their old ground, my first Junior match attended between them and Bankies). Newmains, Rossvale and Wishaw are the other teams I've not attended yet.

Have attended a lot of places, and enjoyed most of them!

This post has been edited by Kingjad: 01 February 2012 - 06:33

Clydebank Till I Die
My posts do not reflect the views or opinions of Clydebank FC - I am just a Clydebank FC supporter, despite my 'role' as cameraman. If you get upset with what I post, be upset at ME, and not Clydebank FC.

User is offline   pccabe 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Beith Juniors
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:PCCABE
I have been to every ground in Ayrshire.

Of the old Central sides I have never been at Ashfield (will rectify that on 11/2/12), St Anthonys, St Rochs, Blantyre, Newmains, Bellshill (although I have been at 2 of their previous grounds and Carluke (again have been at their previous ground).

I have also never seen us play away to Rossvale or Clydebank but have been at bot the parks they share.

Have also been at the old grounds of Rutherglen, Whitletts and Petershill as well as the now defunct Baillieston.

Think the last time a similar survey was carried out I worked out I had been at 83 current Scottish Junior grounds plus 6 iold grounds or grounds of teams who no longer exsist.

My favourite has to be Petershill's old ground which had so much character and my least favourite was Whitletts old ground as you were too far from the park.

This post has been edited by pccabe: 01 February 2012 - 07:18

User is offline   RoryFice 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Scotland
Been to all current A & D grounds apart from Annbank, which I should be at later in the season. Also been to Ardrossan, Dalry, Hurlford, Cumnock, Whitletts and Meadow. I havent been to Kilbirnie in years but sure I was there a few times as a boy.

Outwith Ayrshire, I've been to Rutherglen, Wishaw (sports centre), Pollok, Lochee Harp, Crossgates & Fauldhouse.

Think that's all so far!

User is offline   peasy23 

• My Team:Petershill
Just thinking that I have seen Bellshill host Petershill in 4 different "home" grounds, at both the old and new Brandon Parks, the Matt Busby centre and in two different spells of sharing with Vale of Clyde.

User is offline   glensmad 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Rutherglen Glencairn
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
The only grounds in the West Region I haven't been to are Ardrossan Winton Rovers, Whitletts Victoria (although I did play at their old ground), Girvan, Troon, Irvine Victoria, Kello Rovers, Muirkirk Juniors, Saltcoats Victoria, Lugar Boswell Thistle, Ardeer Thistle, Darvel Juniors, Carluke Rovers (again I have been to their old ground), Wishaw Juniors and Newmains United.

The first three of those above (Ardrossan, Whitletts and Girvan) I'm hoping to tick off this season at some point, and the others are from the Ayrshire District League and the Central Division Two, neither of which my team is likely to be playing in in the short term (hopefully).

Outside of the West Region, I can remember having been to matches at Oakley United, Cruden Bay, Lochee United, Lochore Welfare, Dundonald Bluebell, Sauchie Juniors, Scone Thistle and West Calder United. There may be others.

This post has been edited by glensmad: 01 February 2012 - 14:20

User is offline   groundhopper 

• Third Division Signing Target
In the juniors, I've done about a dozen North region grounds plus all of the current East & West region ones, except Campbell Park in Saltcoats (sore point !).

User is offline   gingerblastie 

• My Team:Kilbirnie Ladeside
apart from these 5.. forth.. carluke.. rossvale..dunipace..wishaw..ave been all other west.. the east and north could take me all week to remember which ave been to... forth is a place i am wary whether i went or not.. ave been told i went there as a wean but have no memory of this...

not exactly a great ambition but would love to go every junior ground
when yi meet a blastie he.ll shake yi by the haun

User is offline   HTG 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Linlithgow Rose
I've been to 66 grounds (44 within the current east set up)

I can't tell a lie and say that any of them are better than being at Prestonfield but if I were to pick a favourite away ground it would be Central Park Whitburn, The pitch is usually a bit of a midden but until recently the rivalry has always been excellent with good crowds and some passionate banter that generally stays on the right side of acceptable. Also, it has cover on one side and a social club within 10 yards of the entrance gate. If they could sort the drainage issues it would be even better.

I can't name a "worst" ground. Clubs do what they can. That said, I don't like grounds where you are miles from the play and therefore divorced from the action. So on that basis I have a particular dislike of Glenrothes and "Falkirk" as both play in stadia more suited to athletics. I'm not keen on Edinburgh Utd because it is so open and the sheltered bit is too far away from the pitch. Broxburn now suffers from the same issues even though it's a decent set up overall.

User is offline   TheBeither 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Beith Juniors
Been to most of the west region grounds.

West Premier

Been to all.

West 1st

All except Whitletts.

Ayrshire District

Don't think I've been to Darvel. Or if I have I was very young and can't remember.

Central 1st

Not been to Glasgow Perthshire or Greenock/Port Glasgow (if they still groundshare)

Central 2nd

Not been to Forth, Rossvale or Wishaw

East (not been to many so I'll list the ones I've been to)

Oakley
Tayport
Glenrothes
Newtongrange
Broxburn
Arniston
Hill o' Beath
Linlithgow
Bonnyrigg
Bathgate
Camelon
Musselburgh
Lochee United
Carnoustie
Dundonald Bluebell
Newburgh
Thornton Hibs (public park iirc)
Montrose Roselea
Dalkeith
Fauldhouse :mellow:
Blackburn United
Whitburn
Haddington
Harthill

More than I thought

Favourites are Pollok, Linlithgow, Camelon and Arthurlie

Fauldhouse was a bit scary. Also dislike going to Talbot, but that's not the club/grounds fault. More the area itself

Total: 78 (I think)

This post has been edited by TheBeither: 02 February 2012 - 08:49

User is online   F_T_Y 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Clydebank
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
Talbot
Holm Park
Petershill (old and new)
Largs
Cumnock
Pollok
Robroy
Never been to Arthurlie meadow or ashfield.

Ardrossan
Cumbernauld
East Kilbride
Glenafton
Kilsyth
Lanark
Shotts
Thorniewood
Whittlets
All of the west region divison one apart from neilston and larkhall
All of the west region division two apart from rossvale,and carluke must of been the old ground.

Annbank ,Craigmark,Troon and maybole

In the east,Tayport,Boness,Linlithgow,Ballingry, Blairgowrie,Lochee United,Fauldhouse,Broxburn,Bathgate,Bonnyrigg, Carnoustie,St Andrews

You see some sights following a junior team.

Other Grounds Dens,Tannadice,junior cup final,Rugby Park.St andrews and villa park in Birmingham. Remember watching the bankies at raith rovers when i was young.

User is offline   JackD1908 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Pollok
  • Gamertag:PS3 = JackD9214
West Premier
All of them

West 1st
Glenafton
Kilsyth
Shotts
Thorniewood
Renfrew
Lanark
Glencairn

Ayrshire
Irvine Vics
Kilwinning
Troon
Maybole

Central 1st
Greenock/Port (Ravenscraig and Battery park)
St Anthonys
Yoker
Larkhall
Vale of Leven
Benburb
Neilston
Bellshill (Sir Matt Busby and New Brandon)
Vale of Clyde

Central 2nd
Carluke's old
Maryhill
Johnstone Burgh
Rossvale

East Grounds
Linlithgow
Blairgowrie
Camelon
Newtongrange Star
Fauldhouse
(Lochee as of Saturday)

North Grounds
Burghead Thistle

Favourite is Newlandsfield. Also like Burghead, Blairgowrie, Benburb and RobRoy.

User is offline   The REAL Rookie Cookie 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Penicuik Athletic
All East Super (11) - except Hill 'o' Beath
All East Premier (11) - except Downfield (will do this season)
All East South Division (13) - except Falkirk & new West Calder
East Central (8 ) - been to Dundonald, Lochgelly, Lochore, Kinnoul, Newburgh, Rosyth, Thornton, Steelend
East North (5) - been to Montrose, Dundee NE, East Craigie, Lochee Harp, Blairgowrie
West (5) - Auchinleck, Lanark, Kilwinning, Shotts, Glasgow Perthshire,
Others (5) - Old Newtongrange, Bonnybridge, Forfar WE, old West Calder, Bargeddie (we played St Ants there) oops our own Eastfield Park!!

Makes a total of 59!!

This post has been edited by The REAL Rookie Cookie: 05 February 2012 - 18:10

User is offline   FuzzyBear 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
I think I have been to 77 junior grounds some of which are sadly no longer with us.

Favourites - apart from Prestonfield - for no apparent reasons are

Troon, Maryhill, Culter, Hill o Beath and Dundee North End.

Don't really dislike any ground. Any place I have been and not liked was due to the locals not the ground.

User is offline   TTAYRSHIRE21 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Favourites:- Newlandsfield + Beith in West.
Enjoyed trips to Hill o Beith(friendly) and Bonnyrigg in Scottish Junior cup couple o seasons ago. Not too fussed about going to Valefield would probs be better if they bulldozed the hill,even wi the numpties on it

User is offline   GlenrothesFC 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Other
Glenrothes obviously, Thornton Hibs, Kirkcaldy YM, Hill of beath, kelty hearts, lochore, ballingry, forfar west end, tayport, broxburn, rob roy, I`m only just turning 16 so much more to come certainly!
MON THE GLENS!

User is offline   kilbirniefan 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Kilbirnie Ladeside
Ardrossan
Arthurlie
Ashfield
Auchinleck Talbot
Beith
Bellshill (Sir Matt Busby one)
Cumbernauld United
Cumnock
Dalry
Glasgow Perthshire
Irvine Meadow
Ladeside (obviously)
Rob Roy
Lanark
Largs
Petershill (current ground)
Pollok
Renfrew (first away game I went to)
Rutherglen
Vale of Clyde
Whitletts (went to the last game played at Voluntary Park, was against Ladeside in the Scottish)

Musselburgh is the only ground I've been to in the East.

Been to Hampden for 3 Scotland games I think, and Rubgy Park and St Mirren Park for Scotland U21 games.

Still got a bit of catching up to do as I'm only 17, but after only going to away games for about 3 years, thats no bad.

This post has been edited by kilbirniefan: 01 February 2012 - 16:11

Wherever we go, we fear no foe, for we are Kilbirnie Ladeside!

User is offline   WithoutFear 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Bo'ness United

View Postder73, on 01 February 2012 - 02:03, said:

Hey all. I'm bored, so just wondering what grounds everyone has everyone been to in the past. What's been your favourite, and what's been your least favourite? I know it's probably been done to death before and I'm expecting a backlash, but hey-ho

As an Ardrossan Winton Rovers fan, I've been to...

Ardrossan (obviously)
Largs Thistle
Kilbirnie Ladeside
Dalry Thistle
Saltcoats Victoria
Ardeer Thistle
Kilwinning Rangers
Irvine Meadow
Irvine Victoria
Troon
Whitletts Victoria (both Voluntary Park and Dam Park)
Maybole
Girvan
Craigmark Burntonians
Hurlford United
Darvel

I've never been to Beith (believe it or not), Auchinleck Talbot, Cumnock, Lugar Boswell Thistle, Annbank United, Glenafton Athletic, Muirkirk or Kello Rovers. However I fully intend to make it to Glenafton for our league fixture there this season, that should be a good one. The only Central ground I've been to so far is Yoker Athletic. Hoped to make it to a few more this season with us being in the Super League now but it just hasn't happened so far.

As for my favourite, I'm not sure. Call me weird, but there's something really nice about Darvel. I like nice quiet towns that are out of the way. But I'm going to plump for Girvan, nice simple wee ground, nice locals, good bar, plus the scenery around the ground is stunning. And also we won 8-0 there a few months back :D

My least favourite, not sure. A big shout is Maybole, purely because we nearly got into a fight with the locals after our league game there last season. Although having said that, if we face them again in the league next season (they may very easily be promoted), I'll happily go back there. But for me it's got to be Whitletts. No offence but Dam Park has no atmosphere, the action is several miles away whilst you sit in a Soviet style stand. Not for me, I like the players and referee to be within abuse hearing distance.

Lets hear all your shouts ;)

Armadale,
Arthurlie,
Auchinleck,
Broxburn,
Bathgate,
Bellshill,
Bonnyrigg Rose,
Bo'ness Utd ( The home of junior football)
Blantyre Victoria,
Camelon,
Kelty Hearts,
Lochore Welfare,
Musselburgh,
Hill of Beath,
Newtongrange Star,
Petershill (old and new)
Sauchie
Yoker,
Linlithgow,
Glenrothes,
Whitburn,
Pumpherston,
Oakley,
Dunipace,
Falkirk,

Best away ground memory possibly Arthurlie, a few years ago in the Scottish cup

Worst away ground memory, a rainy November day in Glenrothes watching a 4-0 defeat
SINE METU

User is offline   wow-wee 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Rangers
every ayrshire ground central the ones i remember are pollok.rutherglen (old one) ,petershill (old and new) ,rob roy,arthurlie,clydbank (yoker and duntocher),ashfield,kilsyth,shotts,east kilbride,lanark,renfrew,thorniewood,cumbernauld, shettleson,greenock,st ants,larkhall,port glasgow, neilson,cambuslang,vale of clyde,benburn,bellshill (old and matt stadium),carluke(old),maryhill,lesmhagow, blantyre vics and blantyre celtic,wishaw johnstone,ballinston,broxburn,camalon,whitburn, oakley,newtongrange,penicuik,armadale,downfield, linlthgow,bonnyrigg,boness,st andrews,mussleburgh,lochee,dundee st josephs,carnoustie,dundonald bluebell,jeanfield,kirkaldy ym,bankfoot,newburgh,kirriemuir,arbroath vics,couper angus,fauldhouse,tranent,banksodee,sunnybank, new elgin maybe more but cant remember them all as i have watch the game for over 35 years. best i would say linlithgow worst kirkaldy ym its a public park with a rope round it .

This post has been edited by wow-wee: 01 February 2012 - 16:26

User is offline   Kilwinning Ranger 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Kilwinning Rangers
  • Euro 2012:Spain
West Premier Been to All Grounds

West First Been to almost them all apart from Thorniewood

ADL Been to all Grounds

CD1 AND CD2 Never been to Glasgow Perthshire, Forth,Blantyre,Carluke,St Rochs

North and East Region

Whitburn,Bathgate,Camelon,,Crossgates,,Ballingry, Lochore albiet just to a race night ,Newburgh,Peniculk,Bankfoot,Dundee North End,Forfar Albion,Formantine,Aberdeen Sunnybank,Carnoustie,Dundee East Cragie,New Elgin,Pumphertson,Blairgowrie

Best away day memory the time we went to Talbot they were unbeaten at home for 4 years and we ended that run.

maybe you can remember that game too wow-wee

This post has been edited by Kilwinning Ranger: 01 February 2012 - 23:48

User is offline   pollokfan1987 

• My Team:Pollok
These teams I have entered I have visited there ground to watch a game at the ground and in brackets if it involved other teams or if it's old stadium.

Arthurlie
Auchinleck Talbot
Benburb
St.Anthony's
Ashfield
Maryhill
Neilston
Irvine Meadow
Irvine Vics
Ellon
Linlithgow Rose
Bo'ness United
Tayport
Rutherglen Glencairn (new south croft park
Cambuslang Rangers
Troon
Petershill Old/New
Greenock (Ravenscraig Stadium)
Renfrew
Largs Thistle
Kirkintilloch Rob Roy
Kirbirnie Ladeside
Beith
Cumnock
Glenafton
Clydebank (at Duntocher Hibs and Yoker)
East Kilbride Thistle
Girvan
Kilsyth Rangers
Lanark United
Shotts Bon Accord
Thorniewood United
Kilwinning Rangers
Bellshill Athletic (New Brandon Park)
Larkhall Thistle
Shettleston
Vale of Clyde
Vale of Leven (Clydebank vs Pollok Scottish Junior Cup Semi Final)
Pollok
Yoker Athletic
Forth Wanderers
Johnstone Burgh
Lochore Welfare
So many i even lost count and now my hand is sore Posted Image

This post has been edited by pollokfan1987: 01 February 2012 - 17:16

User is offline   wow-wee 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Rangers

View PostKilwinning Ranger, on 01 February 2012 - 16:26, said:

West Premier Been to All Grounds

West First Been to almost them all apart from Thorniewood

ADL Been to all Grounds

CD1 AND CD2 Never been to Glasgow Perthshire, Forth,Blantyre,Carluke,St Rochs

North and East Region

Whitburn,Bathgate,Camelon,,Crossgates,,Ballingry, Lochore albiet just to a race night ,Newburgh,Peniculk,Bankfoot,Dundee North End,Forfar Albion,Formantine,Aberdeen Sunnybank,Carnoustie,Dundee East Cragie,New Elgin,Pumphertson

Best away day memory the time we went to Talbot they were unbeaten at home for 4 years and we ended that run.

maybe you can remember that game too wow-wee

was it the scottish or the league?

• (4 Pages) +
  • Last »