Falkland islands tension
Sending a destroyer to the south atlantic
Rate Topic:

Posted 31 January 2012 - 22:12
Posted 31 January 2012 - 22:13
Sweet Pete, on 31 January 2012 - 12:36, said:
Edit to add: apparently 700 million barrels is the figure being talked about.
I'd have spent a bit more time on the old Google - the North Falklands basin is estimated to have 60 Bn barrels of oil alone.
To put that in context according to the article the North Sea Fields are estimated to have held 60\70 Bn barrels of which 75% has already been extracted.
Posted 31 January 2012 - 22:13
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Spartans
- Euro 2012:Germany
T_S_A_R, on 31 January 2012 - 22:06, said:
seems pretty open and shut imo.
The biggest clue is the islanders wishes.
2005/2006 Scottish Football League Champions & League Challenge Cup Winners.
2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 & 2011 Renfrewshire FA Cup Winners
Posted 31 January 2012 - 22:56
chico, on 31 January 2012 - 22:13, said:
squatters rights i suppose.
it's pretty understandable why they see themselves as british. they get a massive subsidy from the british taxpayer and they are on the whole 2nd or 3rd generation british people. the uk government's differing attitudes to the berties and beryl's of goose green compared to the indignenous peoples of diego garcia is extremely telling.
how much of their islands will be scottish when we're independent? we can set a good example by giving our share back to the argies and get in with the south americans.
This post has been edited by T_S_A_R: 31 January 2012 - 22:57
Posted 31 January 2012 - 23:30
- My Team:Brechin City
- Euro 2012:Netherlands
T_S_A_R, on 31 January 2012 - 22:06, said:
seems pretty open and shut imo.
We'll take the Faroes from Denmark then. They've got some offshore oil resources too.
"Reekin' in Brechin, oh I was f***in' steamin'..."
Posted 31 January 2012 - 23:45
T_S_A_R, on 31 January 2012 - 22:56, said:
Self determination triumphs over lines on a map.
how much of their islands will be scottish when we're independent? we can set a good example by giving our share back to the argies and get in with the south americans.
Empire. Not easy and inevitably some folk get fucked over. As for Diego Garcia, I'd blame the Americans, proven that their post WWII policy if forcing European nations to decolonise was a poorly judged step with it's knock on effects still felt across Africa in particular.
The falklands and many other small islands or island groups saw more good from the British Empire than bad and itsxsimplistic in the extreme to shout oppression.
As for being daft enough to think such islands could belong to the likes of the Argentinians with their regular military governments and disappearing citizens..
Scotland's share of the overseas island territories would be about 12%, maybe some swapsies might get a fucking sunny one!
Posted 31 January 2012 - 23:48
Hedgecutter, on 31 January 2012 - 23:30, said:
The faroese have nothing in common with us, language, culture are far disparate from ours.
Mind you there's not many so we could just boot them out to steal their fish and oil.
Posted 31 January 2012 - 23:54
- My Team:Raith Rovers
chico, on 31 January 2012 - 23:48, said:
Mind you there's not many so we could just boot them out to steal their fish and oil.
The British virtually colonized the Faroes during WWll, (see Coast).
And certainly left our seed as it were.
Posted 31 January 2012 - 23:54
chico, on 31 January 2012 - 23:48, said:
Exactly the same can be said about the Falklands in comparison to Argentina.
I.e. Argentina claiming the Falklands from the UK is like the UK claiming the Faroes from Danish sovereignity under that classic 'we're closer than you' rule.
Eta: on a slight tangent, you should Google the issue over Denmark and Iceland claiming potential oil rights around Rockall using this same rule. Funny how oil makes a useless wee bit of rock in the middle of nowhere an important issue.
This post has been edited by Hedgecutter: 01 February 2012 - 00:12
Posted 01 February 2012 - 08:49
- My Team:Motherwell
- Euro 2012:France
Frosty, on 31 January 2012 - 22:13, said:
To put that in context according to the article the North Sea Fields are estimated to have held 60\70 Bn barrels of which 75% has already been extracted.
Excellent.
The rest of the UK can fight Aregentina over the oil down there, we'll slink off into independence with our oil, and everyone is a winner, no more need for the rubbishing of Scotland and her people by Westminster.
#ChampionsLeagueWhenRangersDie
Posted 01 February 2012 - 09:10
Zen Archer, on 31 January 2012 - 23:54, said:
Iceland Gap - very important to keep convoys coming in.
I'm sure that the Faroese were apologised to, after their wummin had been shagged.
Posted 01 February 2012 - 09:13
Hedgecutter, on 31 January 2012 - 23:54, said:
Hasnt some English bawbag been on rockall recently claiming it for 'arry and st George to try and get it up the scots.
Posted 01 February 2012 - 09:40
- My Team:Dumbarton
- Gamertag:mccaughey87
WILLIEA, on 31 January 2012 - 21:02, said:
Do you think they ran out of exciting names beginning with D when they went for Duncan?
Posted 01 February 2012 - 10:04
Zen Archer, on 31 January 2012 - 23:54, said:
chico, on 01 February 2012 - 09:10, said:
I'm sure that the Faroese were apologised to, after their wummin had been shagged.
We also invaded and occupied Iceland during WW2 for the same reason, supposed to be the only time we've invaded an independent democratic country..
Posted 01 February 2012 - 10:22
- My Team:Queen of the South
fanny paddery, on 01 February 2012 - 09:40, said:
I've thought that myself. Thing is each succeeding ship is a bit more advanced than the previous one as they learn things, tweak things and put new things in.
Duncan will be the last so will be the meanest motherfucker of them all!
Posted 01 February 2012 - 10:26
- My Team:Dumbarton
Frosty, on 31 January 2012 - 22:13, said:
I was using Alta Vista, for the retro chic
Posted 01 February 2012 - 12:35
Posted 01 February 2012 - 12:41
- My Team:St.Johnstone
- Euro 2012:Portugal
This post has been edited by Bonksy+HisChristianParade: 01 February 2012 - 12:42
Posted 01 February 2012 - 13:23
- My Team:Motherwell
- Euro 2012:France
#ChampionsLeagueWhenRangersDie
Posted 01 February 2012 - 13:25
Whit! Fucking Argie gits.
Posted 01 February 2012 - 13:26
- My Team:Celtic
- Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
THE KING, on 01 February 2012 - 12:35, said:
I seen that aswell, we're no longer the naval force we once were.
I'm not sure the nation has the appetite for another war.
Posted 01 February 2012 - 13:37
- My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
Frosty, on 31 January 2012 - 21:59, said:
Up Helly Aa is the perfect example of why Shetland and Scotland are just different. Get yourself a nice shiny euro lookalike currency and Lars is your uncle.
A distinct shortage of fresh genes in the gene pool on desolate rocks is why Shitland and Scotland are so different, nothing to do with Vikings. Why do you think they celebrate their Viking heritage? It's because before the oil boom that was the last time the gene pool was freshened up.
WHEN INTEGRITY AND FAIR PLAY ARE SACRIFICED FOR FINANCIAL GAIN THEN YOU NO LONGER HAVE A SPORT
SPL PROUD TO BRING YOU SUB STANDARD SPORTS ENTERTAINMENT SINCE 2012
Posted 01 February 2012 - 14:09
- My Team:Celtic
- Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
chico, on 01 February 2012 - 13:25, said:
Whit! Fucking Argie gits.
Story from SKY about it, seems like they want to remain british
http://news.sky.com/...rticle/16160636