Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Falkland islands tension - The Pie Shop

• (13 Pages) +
  • Last »

Falkland islands tension Sending a destroyer to the south atlantic Rate Topic: -----

User is online   Enrico Annoni 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
From the BBC

HMS Dauntless is to be deployed to the South Atlantic in the next few months, Royal Navy confirms

If the argentinians do make a play for the islands, do you really believe we are in any position to defend them?

Rangers owe every man, woman and child in Scotland around £20
Posted Image

User is offline   The Old Northerner 

• Now bets on his own team. Fool!
  • My Team:Haddington Athletic

View PostEnrico Annoni, on 31 January 2012 - 11:13, said:

From the BBC

If the argentinians do make a play for the islands, do you really believe we are in any position to defend them?

Same question was asked 30 years ago

User is offline   WILLIEA 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Queen of the South
Type 45 destroyer is one fearsome ship. Don't think they would be too keen to tangle with it.

User is offline   bullywee 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Euro 2012:France
As Paul McCartney famously sang: 'Give the Falkland Islands back to the Argentines'

Van Persie is always injured, Carroll is more reliable

User is offline   stonedsailor 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands

View Postbullywee, on 31 January 2012 - 11:28, said:

As Paul McCartney famously sang: 'Give the Falkland Islands back to the Argentines'

Could we not give the Argies the Shetlands instead? now that would be a fair trade.
Saying you don't believe in magic but believe in God is like saying you don't have sex with dogs, except labradors.
WHEN INTEGRITY AND FAIR PLAY ARE SACRIFICED FOR FINANCIAL GAIN THEN YOU NO LONGER HAVE A SPORT
SPL PROUD TO BRING YOU SUB STANDARD SPORTS ENTERTAINMENT SINCE 2012

User is offline   bullywee 

View Poststonedsailor, on 31 January 2012 - 11:33, said:

Could we not give the Argies the Shetlands instead? now that would be a fair trade.

Only if you can find an appropriate lyric to back-up this proposal.

User is offline   stonedsailor 

• Third Division Regular

View Postbullywee, on 31 January 2012 - 11:35, said:

Only if you can find an appropriate lyric to back-up this proposal.

I do not accept your terms, we need to get shot of the Shelties. The heathens are burning boats up there tonight in some sort of weird inbreeding ritual.
Saying you don't believe in magic but believe in God is like saying you don't have sex with dogs, except labradors.
WHEN INTEGRITY AND FAIR PLAY ARE SACRIFICED FOR FINANCIAL GAIN THEN YOU NO LONGER HAVE A SPORT
SPL PROUD TO BRING YOU SUB STANDARD SPORTS ENTERTAINMENT SINCE 2012

User is offline   ajwffc 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Sweden

View PostWILLIEA, on 31 January 2012 - 11:22, said:

Type 45 destroyer is one fearsome ship. Don't think they would be too keen to tangle with it.

That and the sub filled with cruise missiles.

There is always a frigate of destroyer in the area along with a River class patrol vessel plus at least one sub.
The RAF have Eurofighters bassed there.
If the blind lead the blind, then both shall fall into the ditch

User is offline   Wee Bully 

• Third Division Sub

View PostEnrico Annoni, on 31 January 2012 - 11:13, said:

From the BBC

All part of the Unionist plan to whip up British nationalistic fervour
I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

User is offline   Jeek 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath
Destroyers / Frigates go there all the time, they have to parctice in cold weather, its cold down there and we have a base, totally logical. Complete non story.

And for the recond, the falklands have never been Argentinian and the Islanders have absolutely no wish to be.

Oh and the the 45 would probably take on the argie fleet and win
It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.

User is offline   deky 

• FREEDOM!!!
  • My Team:Motherwell
Is there oil in them there Falklands?
BORN WELL, LIVE WELL, DIE WELL

#ChampionsLeagueWhenRangersDie

User is offline   Sweet Pete 

• Always with the best intentions
  • My Team:Dumbarton

View Postdeky, on 31 January 2012 - 12:32, said:

There's believed to be a rich oil field in the waters surrounding the Falklands, yes. It's not been accurately mapped yet because of the controversies surrounding it, but it's believed to be substantial.

Edit to add: apparently 700 million barrels is the figure being talked about.

This post has been edited by Sweet Pete: 31 January 2012 - 12:39

We will never forget you, Guido.

User is offline   TheScarf 

• Sowing the seeds of love.
  • Gamertag:PSN : whoorsir

View Postdeky, on 31 January 2012 - 12:32, said:

There most certainly is.

Edit - beaten to the punch by Sweet Pedro.

This post has been edited by TheScarf: 31 January 2012 - 12:40

And what?

User is online   BigMartyn86 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Alloa Athletic
Rockhopper are the company who have been drilling in the waters around the FOCZ and the FICZ (Falklands inner/outer control zone). Now that they have made progress down there the yanks are now looking to get a piece of the action as well.

Don't see why the BBC are getting there knickers in a twist over this. The type 45s were brought in to replace the 22s and 42s and now that the defence review has seen them be decommissioned sooner rather than later. Then it's hardly a shock that she's heading down there this year.

Argentina have a miserable fleet and would struggle to mount any serious threat.
"As with most things in this life, Terry, it is in the eye of the beholder. One man's firewood is another man's porcupine wotsisname."

User is offline   Northsea80 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic
Think there was six of the type 45s being completed on the clyde as recently as 2010. They didn't seem all that impressive with regards to the scale of the ships, then again i've never seen any other warships of that type so have no comparison. Have been on a sub, or at least a section of one prior to completion.

User is offline   Broccoli Dog 

• Bitches aint shit.
  • My Team:St.Mirren
It isn't just about oil, there is also this.

Oh aye, and the weirdo sheep farmers.

User is offline   Günther 

• Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:Xbox's are for spotty teens and c***s who cannae get their hole!
Up to the islanders what they want to do, if they want to be Las Melvinas then let them, if they want to be Falklands (UK), then protect them, if they want to be indepedent, wish them the best. Simples...
The Shagger is back and pumping for Scotland!!

User is offline   fanny paddery 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Dumbarton
  • Gamertag:mccaughey87

View Postajwffc, on 31 January 2012 - 11:55, said:

There is always a frigate of destroyer in the area along with a River class patrol vessel plus at least one sub.

I find it hard to believe there is permenantly a sub down there when the trident missles have a range of around 7000 miles. It is well documented there are certain zones in the atlantic where the subs from usa, france and america sit so that the missles from there can reach most of the world.
And somewhere in the distance, the gambler he broke even !!

User is offline   Reynard 

• wholesome and lovely
  • My Team:St.Mirren

View Postajwffc, on 31 January 2012 - 11:55, said:

That's the cruncher normally. There's a working airbase there and there wasn't last time. It was all done from aircraft carriers in 82. It's well protected if Argentina decided to try something daft.
Peace will come to earth when the people have more to do with each other and governments less.

User is offline   Ivo den Bieman 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Montrose
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
  • Gamertag:WHIT
Doubt another military action will happen, it's all been diplomatic sabre rattling thus far and can't see that changing.

User is offline   DEMON 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View PostWee Bully, on 31 January 2012 - 12:08, said:

All part of the Unionist plan to whip up British nationalistic fervour

correct much ado about nothing
go f*ck yourself

User is offline   SodjesSixteenIncher 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Hibernian
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
Them Falklanders are always saying how much they prefer egg and chips to milanesas and red wine.

That's worth defending imo. If there's large quantities of valuable oil, then that aint so bad too, but it's mainly about the chips.

User is offline   LinkinFighter 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Gamertag:LinkinFighter
700 million barrels of oil? Not bad.

User is offline   Lerwick Lad 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Ross County

View Poststonedsailor, on 31 January 2012 - 11:33, said:

Hey!

View Poststonedsailor, on 31 January 2012 - 11:43, said:

I do not accept your terms, we need to get shot of the Shelties. The heathens are burning boats up there tonight in some sort of weird inbreeding ritual.

Up Helly Aa. Load of bollocks really butr get a day off tomorrow and it is quite a sight when the galley goes up (longboat).

User is offline   Hedgecutter 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Brechin City
I did find it entertaining when I was in Argentina that every single map I saw had them down as:

Islas Malvinas (Arg.)

This post has been edited by Hedgecutter: 31 January 2012 - 14:51

Posted Image "Reekin' in Brechin, oh I was f***in' steamin'..."

• (13 Pages) +
  • Last »