Scottish Junior Cup Winners 1917. St.Mirren Juniors. Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   KennyP 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:St.Mirren
'HSS' posted this on blackandwhitearmy.com Div's St.Mirren website.
Thought it would make interesting reading on here...

I noticed a question in the Daily Record Query column about St Mirren Juniors and wanted to know more.I found that.........
St Mirren Juniors were attatched to St Mirren Football Club
Played their games at Love Street
Won the Junior Cup in their first season
St Mirren are the only Senior Club to have their name on the Junior Cup
and much more...............

St.Mirren Juniors

This post has been edited by KennyP: 25 January 2012 - 16:30

Groundaholic.

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
I think there are a few Senior clubs who had 'nursery' or 3rd XIs in the Juniors back in the decades around WWI. I remember reading somewhere that Morton also had such an XI, there may have been some others too.

User is offline   KennyP 

View PostHibeeJibee, on 25 January 2012 - 16:30, said:

I think there are a few Senior clubs who had 'nursery' or 3rd XIs in the Juniors back in the decades around WWI. I remember reading somewhere that Morton also had such an XI, there may have been some others too.

In over 40 years of supporting Saints, I had never heard anything about St.Mirren Juniors until today!!

This post has been edited by KennyP: 25 January 2012 - 16:34

Groundaholic.

User is offline   Buddie Holly 

• Third Division Reserve
thats some achievement winnig the cup in your first season in the league.has any other club done this?
GMFC?
WEE DIDDY TEAM

User is online   Larky55 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Larkhall Thistle
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
It's on page 233 of the wee red book Kenny. Have a Guiness tonight.
Peasy won it the following year without playing the fina. Anybody got any info on why?
Edit
Saints needed a replay Kenny, just have 1/2 pint.

This post has been edited by Larky55: 25 January 2012 - 17:11

User is offline   gogsy 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Other

View PostBuddie Holly, on 25 January 2012 - 16:51, said:

thats some achievement winnig the cup in your first season in the league.has any other club done this?

Inverkeithing United won the Scottish Junior cup in their first season in the juniors (1913). Probably some of the other winners in the early years as well.

User is offline   KennyP 

View PostLarky55, on 25 January 2012 - 17:08, said:

It's on page 233 of the wee red book Kenny. Have a Guiness tonight.
Peasy won it the following year without playing the fina. Anybody got any info on why?
Edit
Saints needed a replay Kenny, just have 1/2 pint.

I'll just have a pint at 19.17 tonight. :guinness
Groundaholic.

User is offline   Buddie Holly 

• Third Division Reserve

View PostLarky55, on 25 January 2012 - 17:08, said:

from the same web site-

Scottish Junior Cup

29/09/1917 1st Rnd Greenock Love Street 3-1 Barr2. Lauder
20/10/1917 2nd Rnd Vale of Leven Love Street 1-0 Howie
02/01/1918 3rd Rnd Burnfoothill Primrose Love Street 5-0 ?
02/03/1918 4th Rnd Stevenston Thistle Love Street 2-0 Rodger, Barr
23/04/1918 ¼ Final Croy Celtic Love Street 0-3*1 -
27/04/1918 ¼ Final Croy Celtic Love Street 2-1 Barr, Howie
14/05/1918 Semi Final Petershill Ibrox 0-0 -
16/05/1918 Replay Petershill Ibrox 1-1 Howie
27/05/1918 Replay Petershill Ibrox 1-3 Barr
Petershill were awarded the trophy without a final match due to Renfrew and Parkhead refusing to play their semi final replay.

*1 - Saints protested that Croy keeper McTavish was ineligible due to having played professional.
This was upheld and the match was ordered to be replayed.
McTavish was subsequently banned from all football, junior and senior, for life.

the juniors like a protest. :lol:
GMFC?
WEE DIDDY TEAM

User is online   Larky55 

Thanks Buddy,football history can be fascinating.
You have no idea how big a fan I am of yours.

User is offline   WaffenThinMint 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Other
Yes, but the Midden were beaten twice by Pollok in the year they won it, but did a Spartans in playing the 'inelligible player' card twice to get reinstated, whereas four complaints against them by Pollok and Bellshill Athletic for fielding inelligible players were dismissed. To say their passage to the final was unmerited is putting it mildly.

There used to be very strong links between the Junior and Senior game, including Senior clubs having "separate" Junior clubs that "just happened" to share the same ground and - one reason for this was as a bolthole should the senior club go under and to ensure they didn't lose their ground in the first place.
Posted Image

User is online   Jobby 

• Thommohawk
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Euro 2012:Portugal

View PostWaffenThinMint, on 25 January 2012 - 17:50, said:

the Midden

Gud1
Ooh it's good to be a Buddie!

User is online   Larky55 

Who's the Midden?

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers

View PostBuddie Holly, on 25 January 2012 - 17:33, said:

Petershill were awarded the trophy without a final match due to Renfrew and Parkhead refusing to play their semi final replay.

According to the SJFA Centenary history, it was since: "Renfrew met Parkhead in the Semi-Final at Love Street, and the sides drew. Both sides wanted the replay to take place at Ibrox but it went ahead at Love Street, resulting in another draw. The SJFA decided on Ibrox for the second replay, 2 days before the Final was scheduled. The teams refused to play. Both sets of officials were suspended sine die. At the end of the season both suspensions were lifted and Petershill were awarded the cup".

User is online   Larky55 

Unbelievable !

Page 1 of 1